We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you see is not what you get”
Review of Hotel Sonar Bangla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Kolkata
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What you see is not what you get”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 night for my parents. Right from the word go they had a difficult time here. Firstly the room was shabby. There was nothing in the room that worked. They had to get the TV changed thrice before it even started working. The furniture was old. The geyser did not work even one of the 2 days they were there. The food was below average and the staff extremely un co-operative and unfriendly. My mother even hurt her finger badly while trying to close the balcony door. Unfortunately the hotel staff sent only cotton to stop the bleeding after repeated reminders.
Extremely bad experience. Will not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AritraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    37
    22
    22
See reviews for
138
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bathinda, India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is located right opposite the beach, and that too in the cleaner and the quieter portion.One can hear the waves lashing forth all time round. Waking up to the legendary Puri sunrise right in front of you is a treat to the eyes. The rooms are spacious,clean and well equipped,including tea kettle and refrigerator. Room service is prompt and the meals are delicious,though the variety in breakfast buffet is fairly limited. The minus point is the dark,dank and tiny bathrooms. Also there is no lift. Proximity to beach and so many other establishments has contributed to the growth of flies, and there are many of them,even in the dining hall.A little effort on the upkeep can make this hotel a real delight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Powderpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Most of the hotels offer sea view rooms with a view from a corner but the most excellent feature about the rooms of this hotel is the sea is just in front once you stand in the balcony. Value for Money . No Lift . The rooms of the upper floors may be a little problem for the aged travellers.

Room Tip: Right on the Sea Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nirmallya01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

this hotel is located just opp sea beach. away from bussy beach. beach is good and clean, room facing beach are good. food here are good. complimentary tea and office is given. minus points ; 7 am checkout is very very bad, and little away from Jaganath Mandir to and fro by auto cost Rs 200/-. Bathroom space is toooooo small, hotel should provide auto at its cost to visit mandir. chekcout time is very very bad 7 am, how can you do so

Room Tip: sea facing room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anujksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabalpur, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was here with my family on 31st of Dec 2012 & I enjoy staying here, Location of Property is good just on the beach & far from crowded beach place, rooms need to be more tidy & bathrooms size is toooooo small no place for shower, resturant is dirty & stinks almost whole day, taste of food is not good, hotel needs to be more tidy, overall its an average stay. Will try to stay some other hotel next time.

Room Tip: try to stay in beach facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samarsingh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

After lots of research from Trip Advisor, we finally booked Sonar Bangla, Puri. We were quite afraid after reading the last few negatively rated reviews. This time I was travelling with my wife, parents & in-laws. So I went to Sonar Bangla’s Kolkata office and booked it directly from there. The lady at the reception was a bit rude...seemed she doesn’t know how to talk to clients. But another lady (Krishna Chatterjee) helped me to book 3 AC rooms in the hotel. I requested her for 1st floor rooms and she promised to reserve the best rooms for me. I preferred to book a car from the hotel to pick us up from the station. There was a Tavera waiting for us at the station. The hotel charged us Rs.550 for the car. It took us only 20 mins to reach the hotel.

The hotel is located almost next to the beach exactly what I was looking for. The rooms are small with very small washrooms. The furniture looks worn out. But the view from the rooms is awesome. You can simply gaze at the ocean waves while lying on the bed. We were given rooms 202, 203 and 204. The AC in room 202 was giving problems. So they shifted us to a different room. But as we preferred room 202, they brought a mechanic to get the AC repaired and thereafter shifted us back to room 202. The service of the hotel staff is excellent. They helped us a lot whenever required. Rooms were cleaned everyday and even bed sheets were changed every day (though some of the bed sheets were torn). The restaurant serves moderately good food though they tend to make the dishes quite spicy. The complimentary breakfast is average with few options. This hotel is for people who love solitude and want to be far from the madding crowd of Swargdwar. Autos are always available from the hotel and they charge Rs. 50 for Swargdwar, Rs.100 for temple and Rs.150 for station. Overall we had a pleasant stay there.

Some of the pros are –

Excellent service
Location of the hotel
Cleanliness of rooms
View from AC rooms

Some of the cons are –

Small rooms and tiny washrooms
No lift
Average breakfast
Condition of furniture not up to the mark

Room Tip: 1st floor AC rooms.. specially room no 202.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tamanash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is great and it is located far from the madding crowd. Extremely nice people and great hospitality provided you can adjust to some deficiencies which are there in this hotel. They are trying to correct. However management needs to also understand and support. We had a great time. I still recommend you should stay without any frill expectations. Food is good. Room tariffs are not cheap but. If you see the location it is better than any star hotels. Staffs are extremely nice and they are really serious to improve the amenities. But I am not sure whether the owners are equally interested to run this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moukunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pushpa (Berries Group of Hotels)
2.6 mi away
Hotel Holiday Resort
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#7 of 81 in Puri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Chariot Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Chanakya BNR Hotel
Chanakya BNR Hotel
#9 of 81 in Puri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Dust
Hotel Golden Dust
#49 of 81 in Puri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla
Address: New Marine Drive | Balipanda, Puri, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Puri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing