We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent”
Review of Hotel Sonar Bangla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonar Bangla
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very nice hotel.room service r very fast.food menus ar nice.clean hotel.hotel staff good. My favourite room 306. 2009.2010.2012..l syay in sonarbangla hotel. And next year same hotel .somenath kesh.durgapur

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have booked a NON AC room 1 month before and paid full amount for 5 days .The hotel authority was agreed to reserve a full sea facing room for me.
When i reached there,they told me that one room at 4th floor (with out lift!!) is booked for me(SIDE sea facing).
I was really frustrated at that time and want to cancel my reservation,then they change my room to another(at 1st floor) which is in average condition(full sea facing) .
During my stay,i have seen many family also suffering same problem.DON'T book this hotel at online,they will provide you worst room if you pay in advanced.

Room is not clean and mantanance is very poor.They also provide you water (at 28/- each little!!),you can buy same at Rs 12/- outside of the hotel.
Everything is very much expensive.
You have to take rickshaw each time to go market because the hotel location is very very far from locality.
I have lost my room key ,and they charged Rs 800/ for that.They also offer you for side seeing,but you have to pay 1000/- for that.If you reach driver directly ,then you must save 400/ Rs/-
If you have enough money to waste,then only select this hotel for puri.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goutam12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The sea facing a.c dbl bedroom is very spacious . Room service is good.
But the hotel is near light house.. N for visiting the market u hv to take auto or Rikshaw all the time.Apart from that the view from balcony is just awsm. Being a good hotel sonar bangla shud strt their own pick up n drop service. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to visit again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MahuaSarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Though i booked the hotel a month ago and requested them to provide me the rooms in 2nd floor as my mother is a heart patient and they gave me the words.but when we checked in on 13th july they provided us in the 3rd floor.the rooms are small and very untidy.i upgraded one room to suit but that was also in same condition.the maintanance is terrible.the resturant and the staircase is very unhygienic,full of flies and insects.food is horrible.only the position of the hotel is good.otherwise the total thing is a mess.lack of proper services.the last but not the least watersupply is horrible as well as the water is also very poor. U cant even wash your mouth with that water.please dont step in this hotel if you value for money.the most disgusting hotel i have ever been

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avantikolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I returned today from Puri after a two day stay at Hotel Sonar Bangla.I made my booking from makemytrip.The hotel is very nicely located.The room was average but the bedsheets were very dirty,I asked them to change it but they informed me that they are not having any extra Bedsheet and will be able to change next day only.They just changed the pillow covers for us.The worst amongst all were the bathroom.It was veryyy dirty...the Basin Tap was broken, the flow of water in the bathroom was very slow.It took almost 20 mnts to get the toilet flush get refilled after one single use.The breakfast was comlimentary and was very nice.The food was pretty good.But I would not recommend the hotel for staying.They arrange cabs for your siteseeing tour or BBSR drop.We took a drop to BBSR from Puri.The staffs were poilte.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

They save the good rooms for spot bookings. We had booked through Cleartrip almost a month back; result we got the worst room as the amount was already paid up,
The room overlooked a dump with grazing cows street dogs and stench. Worse the management had us believe that Cleartrip had asked them to book a 'side sea facing room'.
Will surely return to Puri but never ever to this particular hotel.
They just do not know what the hospitality business is all about.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel folks, at least till the current management is sacked!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank drmoulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We are very disappointed with what was offered by the Hotel when we stayed there for around six nights this year. Actually our first visit to this property, a few years back, was a very satisfactory one and this was the primary reason for the repeat visit this year. The Hotel was lacking in some of the basic service and the facilities e.g. like the AC and Laundry were not fully functional or available. We got hardly few hours of AC during the whole day (during Summer!!) in spite of paying fees for our AC rooms. The Hotel authorities said that they cannot offer AC if there is power cut. But to make matters worse, even when the power was available the AC's in our room were not properly operating properly. We booked two rooms and the situation was same in both the rooms. Besides, the Hotel refused to offer any Laundry Service and we had to carry our soiled clothes to a local laundry (more than a kilometer away from the Hotel) ourselves. The room service was also very poor in some instances. Only the food (in the Hotel restaurant) was very good. Overall, our vacation became a punishment for my family. I am sorry to say this but as a customer, I feel as if we have been deprived on what was promised to us in terms of the facilities at the hotel, though we paid the full fees for the same – Mr. Roy

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_Roy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puri hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Gandhara
Hotel Gandhara
#9 of 84 in Puri
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel East West
Hotel East West
#27 of 84 in Puri
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
Jeevan Sandhya Inn
#8 of 84 in Puri
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mahodadhi Palace
Mahodadhi Palace
#16 of 84 in Puri
189 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lotus
Hotel Lotus
#3 of 128 in Puri
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kakkson Villa
Kakkson Villa
#4 of 221 in Puri
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla

Address: New Marine Drive | Balipanda, Puri, India
Location: India > Odisha > Puri District > Puri
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Puri
Price Range: $47 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing