We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly experience”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I visited this place during June 2014 with my husband and the experience was too good. Overall it is an excellent resort to chill out for an awesome vacation. The environment is very peaceful, clean and surrounded with greenery everywhere. The overall cost is worth it for the service and quality provided.
The rooms are of very good quality. They are constantly cleaned by the housekeeping staff. Every minute detail is taken care of. The toilet has quality fittings and is always kept very clean. We stayed in a Hybrid lake view cottage which was too good with a balcony, a spacious room and also a duplex study room. The furniture was of very good quality. The balcony had an awesome view of the lake which was blissful.
The food at the resort was excellent (especially the Chinese cuisine), but it is expensive.
There is also a spa in the resort which is also charged extra. The Spa area is very clean with all the equipment in place.
The resort staffs, including the house-keeping, cooking staff are very cooperative and friendly.
Transport is provided by the resort if opted, but would be charged extra. We visited Cherrapunjee, Mawlynnong and the living root bridge. There are no words to explain the beauty of these places which should only be experienced.

Room Tip: The hybrid rooms are too good with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Divije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 516 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

The property has a beautiful location overlooking the lake. Rooms are grand and very well made. Ideal place 2 spend a few days relaxing. The food though is average. Staff is quite helpful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Nakul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Surrounded by nature on all four sides, the earth, water, wind and cold will absolutely amaze you by its presence all together at Ri Kynjai resorts. The rooms are absolutely stunning. we had booked a supreme room overlooking the beautiful lake. This resort is about 20 kms away from the market city, but who wants to stay in the hustle bustle when you have an option of staying in natures behest! The staff and service provided is very good. We also tried the spa, which was quite good a relaxing especially coz the previous day we trekked for about 9 hours. The food provided was very good. Breakfast was the same both days that we stayed there. But it wasn't bad.
Negatives: We were on our honeymoon and had struck a deal wherein they would provide us a private dinner date on one of the nights. So when we realized that their idea for a private dinner included eating food in the room balcony or in the restaurant with a candle lit on the table :! We were super pissed and spoke to the manager, who was good enough to listen to our grievances and finally after a bit of argument decided to wave off the dinner bill of that night.
Happy Customers they believe in!

Room Tip: Do book a room/villa overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After a long drive from Guwahati Airport we reached Ri Kynjai and we were greeted warmly. The view was superb from our room, which was lake facing. It was my husband's bday the next day so I had asked for a surprise bday cake to be delivered to our room at midnight. Not only was it delivered bang on time but also with candles and the likes. The next day we went for sightseeing to Cherrapunjee. The hotel travel desk arranged for the tour and it was really good. The driver himself acted as the tour guide and was very helpful and friendly. We returned to the hotel at around 6.30 to find another surprise waiting. Our entire room was filled with balloons. Such attention to the smallest details made the trip really special. The service is truly awesome especially Susanne and Dariti was very cordial. I will definitely go back there again and my heartfelt thanks to the people at Ri Kynjai for such a wonderful experience. You are doing a great job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayantani_126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

After a somewhat tiring journey from Gauhati airport the moment we stepped out of the car into the porch of this place the vacation started in full earnest.
The resort is located by a lake and a pine tree forest.which provide a feast to the eyes. The lake water looks clear and the flora and fauna in the pine tree forest is awe-inspiring. The gigantic pink colored toad-stools, the brilliantly colored butterflies and the flowers growing by the path help one forget the hustle and bustle of daily life very quickly. This is further helped by the hotel staff who prove the most perfect service in an unobtrusive yet caring way. After spending the day outdoors, one can be assured of a clean room, hot water in a large bathroom and a variety of food to eat. The buffet breakfast offers good choices.

The front and back lawns are very tastefully maintained and there is hut at the back which again offers a great view. The hotel staff silently sail in and out to keep insect repellants.
This is one of those great resorts which helps create magical moments with the family.and a picture album to cherish forever.
To be honest initially i was balking at the rates which they were charging (there were no discounts as peak season was on). However , overall this resort exceedeed our expectations in most parameters,

Room Tip: The Cottage option is outstanding with a lake view. The rooms are large with a mezzanine floor for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place to relax and recapture the magic moments with family & friends. The food quality is simply superb ! The view of the lake , the resting areas in the front garden or the short hike to the neighboring village makes it a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUMANHAZARIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Hey there.... This place is very peaceful n quite... With an amazing view of the vast lake n clouds laden mountains...very serene. I enjoyed the Food served here in the restaurant.. It's delicious. The menu is a bit costly but food quality is worth it. The property is very clean and trees every where.I love this place

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Farooque A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#2 of 24 in Shillong
290 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#5 of 24 in Shillong
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#13 of 24 in Shillong
18 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 24 in Shillong
154 reviews
6.7 mi away
OYO 4276 AM Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $161 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing