We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

After a somewhat tiring journey from Gauhati airport the moment we stepped out of the car into the porch of this place the vacation started in full earnest.
The resort is located by a lake and a pine tree forest.which provide a feast to the eyes. The lake water looks clear and the flora and fauna in the pine tree forest is awe-inspiring. The gigantic pink colored toad-stools, the brilliantly colored butterflies and the flowers growing by the path help one forget the hustle and bustle of daily life very quickly. This is further helped by the hotel staff who prove the most perfect service in an unobtrusive yet caring way. After spending the day outdoors, one can be assured of a clean room, hot water in a large bathroom and a variety of food to eat. The buffet breakfast offers good choices.

The front and back lawns are very tastefully maintained and there is hut at the back which again offers a great view. The hotel staff silently sail in and out to keep insect repellants.
This is one of those great resorts which helps create magical moments with the family.and a picture album to cherish forever.
To be honest initially i was balking at the rates which they were charging (there were no discounts as peak season was on). However , overall this resort exceedeed our expectations in most parameters,

Room Tip: The Cottage option is outstanding with a lake view. The rooms are large with a mezzanine floor for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 488 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place to relax and recapture the magic moments with family & friends. The food quality is simply superb ! The view of the lake , the resting areas in the front garden or the short hike to the neighboring village makes it a truly great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SUMANHAZARIKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Hey there.... This place is very peaceful n quite... With an amazing view of the vast lake n clouds laden mountains...very serene. I enjoyed the Food served here in the restaurant.. It's delicious. The menu is a bit costly but food quality is worth it. The property is very clean and trees every where.I love this place

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Farooque A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The view is worth everything! Resort is very tastefully designed and the cottages are perfect. All you need to do is sit out in your balcony and drink in the landscape.Its a surreal painting which changes with the light of the day! The walks in and around are so calming.
Yes, the lunch and dinner can be a bit more inspiring but breakfasts are really good.
All in all, the Ri Kynjai stay is a great experience and a lasting memory. Highly recommended for nature lovers!!

Room Tip: The traditional khasi cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnjaliGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Its not at all worth the pay. The rooms are not well furnished. The overall experience was very bad. The staff is rude. The facilities are not uptodate. Only the view is good. All amenities are outdated and not available when required. The wheelchair accessibility is a hoax. Not at all worth even a look.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank Divyam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Guest Relations Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai- Serenity By The Lake!

We are extremely disappointed to see that we have been rated as 1 out of 5.

We have been trying to find out what really went wrong during your stay with us, wherein you had mentioned that your “overall experience was very bad”, but as no such complaints ever came to our notice when you were in the resort, we are finding it a little difficult to understand what your grievances were.

With regards to your requirement of a wheelchair, which you have termed as “hoax”, on investigation from all the departments, we have in fact not been receiving any request for a wheelchair for the past few months, which is normally routed to Front Office Department. We would also like to inform you that we have a wheelchair (which is in a good condition with proper fixtures and fittings) which is readily available on request.

At Ri Kynjai, it is our endeavour to make sure each of our guests have a memorable and comfortable stay at all times.

I kindly request you to send me your contact number on bookings@rikynjai.com so that our General Manager can call you and discuss your grievances personally.

Khublei,
Suzan Shangpliang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you plan to visit Shillong then this is the best where you should be. JUST SO PERFECT !!

If you prefer to stay in the city then this is not the right place for but if you want to stay in the arms of the nature away from the city's traffic and high buildings then this is the place to be. Enjoy the hide and seek of the cloud and sun just sitting in the balcony. So heavenly. Get a bird's eye view of the Umium lake :)

The buffet breakfast served is the only negative point I found about the resort. The spread is very repetitive without much variety to explore for people like me who stayed there for 5 nights. For a couple of days stay you won't notice much difference but for long stays the breakfast is a a pain. I am sure the resort of this stature will surely address this shortly.

Except this only one con all other facilities are 100% perfect. From reception, room service, housekeeping, travel desk to restaurant you will feel getting pampered. Thanks to each and every staff of the resort who has made my trip just so complete and special thanks to Dariti who took personal attention to every details.

Kudos to Ri Kynjai !!

Room Tip: All rooms are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atanu_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Ri Kynjai, Serenity by the Lake is a wonderful hotel. To start with , the architecture blends in with the surroundings . The rooms are large and very well appointed. All comforts are seen to. Meals were very good . The staff were polite and well informed. It was a perfect start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superwife23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 20 in Shillong
77 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $157 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing