We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque location - a must visit”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited Ri Kynjai last week to have lunch on our way back to Guwahati from Shillong. This resort is located in the woods and is quite close to the Umiam Lake. The staff is friendly and the food is good. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax for a few days, far from the chaos of city life. The location of the resort is good because of which it offers excellent views of the Umiam Lake and surrounding hills.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Faisal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 498 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This property has the best view and rooms for the price one pay. Rooms are very large and has a most amazing view of bada pani lake. Food is good. All in all the best place to relax with no pollution and sound. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zukenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

Thank you for lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Have been there twice in span of three years and can go on in order to do nothing but chillax. The people took extra effort in order to make our stay more enjoyable. they took care of our food requirements and were there when ever we needed them.

Room Tip: Choose from the Room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manish_mkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all your stays with us for the past three years.

Ri Kynjai reflects the warm hospitality of our staff, the eco - centric culture of the region and captivating architecture combined with modern convenience and luxury.

We thank you once again for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

A wonderful resort by the side of vast barapani lake, with wonderful and natural creativity. A beautiful experience to stay. You love to see the sun rising over the lake and hills from the balcony when you wake up. have yoga in the room. have a splendid day in the resort. And evening a bon-fire can be arranged on special request. We were on a spiritual tour and it was real nice experience

Room Tip: The roof top cottage though expensive is best, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sochnaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us.

At Ri Kynjai, we take pride in providing our guests seamless customer service.

We really hope you visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great Location, about 15 Km before Shillong (2.5 kms from highway). Neat, Clean, Spacious rooms with great view. Rooms are huge 800 sqft.

Food was decent though I did not like canned juice instead of fresh one when oranges are in season. But over all great experience.

Room Tip: Choose cottage or lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchika213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ri Kynjai as your preferred resort!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the resort, it's settings and our service offering.

It is through our guest feedback that we improve our services.

At Ri Kynjai it is our endeavour to give our guests a memorable holiday and we thank you for your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Yes, I mean it...Ri Kynjai is the best resort I have seen in India...I have visited over 40-50 resorts all over the world and this is the best I have found in terms of location and concept. The location is awesome not only because it overlooks the Bada Pani Lake, but it is the only of its kind in that area and hence exclusive. Concept is the Khasi theme, the quality of wood furniture and usage, the top class quality of its Hybrid Cottages. The food and service is above average and therefore the whole experience is really awesome. Who would wonder that out of all the places in India and out of so many other well visited places in India, this is a resort which can match up to any in India inspite of it being tucked in one remote part of India. My first advise is that instead of staying at Shillong, one should stay there as it is barely half hour before Shillong. Secondly, one should specially plan a trip to any of the 7 North Eastern states of India just for the sake of staying here...Yes, it is that good.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hybrid Cottages, nothing else...but if you can afford it...its quite expensive...around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PappanMajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review and are extremely pleased to hear you have place our Resort as the best in the World with reference to location and concept. The architecture was inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Designed with an eye for detail, Ri Kynjai is ingeniously built into a cliff which overlooks the serene blue waters of Umiam Lake.

Our Restaurant, Sao Aiom specializes in North East Indian cuisine but also offer Chinese, continental and Mughlai dishes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for taking the time to review us online.

Khublei,
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This resort is all about location, location and location!! The owners have leveraged the terrain very well, so as to give you a great view and a truly serene experience. The food too was great, way beyond my expectations. Transport, arranged through Yamu Rana for all the local sightseeing was also very good!!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank TVSIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiKynjaiShillong, Manager at Ri Kynjai, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ri Kynjai - Serenity by the Lake!

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and praising the beautiful landscaping done by the Owners.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Khublei.
Danny Langstieh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 21 in Shillong
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
15 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 21 in Shillong
151 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#8 of 21 in Shillong
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $149 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing