We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what's not to love”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place to go. The views are to die for and the rooms and hotel are done up so lovingly. it's perfect to just spend all day on the balcony. We tried the khasi cuisine and weren't disappointed either. The bathrooms are very spacious and modern. All in all, a great getaway

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 498 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

I visited the hotel with my brother from Australia and the moment I entered the hotel lobby I was just overwhelmed by the view.The view of the lake is just makes you feel relaxed .It is just the place where u want to switch off your cell phone and sink into its beauty and only relax relax relax...........The spa is also very good .I also liked the rooms they are huge and well maintained.Caution:Room rent are a bit too high and needs a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Just Relax and Enjoy the view form the room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The name is apt. This place IS "Serenity by the Lake"..

Room: Nice decoration. Huge in size (approximate 800 sq. ft, if I remember correctly). All balconies have fantastic view of the lake.

Ambience: You just can't ask for more for a relaxing trip! Starting from the serene lake, to the pine forests, to the traditional Khasi style thatched roofs, it was a WOW experience.

Food: Tasted Khasi style food as well as Indian. Both were really good quality. Well stocked bar.

Service: Had issues with the booking from Kolkata. But most of the time, you can just drop in after giving a call, and you will get rooms. Service is nothing to write home about, though. Please note that room service runs a little late.

Value for money: Only deterrant, as the 2010 rate was 6000 a night for the rooms and 12000 for a cottage. But if money not a constraint, it is surely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onlytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Ri Kynjai is a very nice place for a short vacation. It has a breathtaking view of the lake from all the rooms and cottages. There is only one restaurant and a bar, which serves all types of cuisines. Cherrapunji is 2.5 hrs drive and has nice waterfalls and fantastic green hills. The only negative I found was late serving of breakfast at 8:30am (considering sun rise happens at 4:00am). I would strongly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Nothing worked. The staff were clueless about our booking and kept fobbing us off to some other clueless entity in Shillong. Every transaction and communication ended with a nervous staff member asking for more money. It felt like we were being ripped off. What did not help was the fact that there was no hot water in the late evenings and housekeeping had tacky shampoo pouches and tiny, sad soap bars. Come on! We were shelling out more than $200 per person, per night! Don't make your clients feel cheap. This place is truly over-rated and ought to learn a thing or two about the hospitality sector before it has the gall to charge such outrageous prices and be so crass about it.

Room Tip: Great location but management totally clueless
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank xonzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stopped over for a night's stay enroute from Kaziranga to Shillong. Stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the lake. Wish I could have stayed longer - will do some day!
Had a great dinner & breakfast with very pleasant & attentative staff. Also had a wonderful walk through the pine forests to the lake - great way to build up an appetite for breakfast. Would suit anyone who wants to spend quality time on your own or with family.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavUK1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The best resort ever visited. It is calm quiet and clean.When we reached this place we have no words to say. beautiful...no camera is enaough to capture the image of this place. It is so beautiful. The wood and cane works really make you happy.This is the place for people who wants to spend some valuable time with their family and friends. Not at all a party hotel...The best thing is cleanliness. it is clean. About the river. When we came it was sunny. Suddenly theclimate changed and it started raining..the river and its beauty will change according to the climate...it is really a beautiful place

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chithrarema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#9 of 21 in Shillong
79 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 21 in Shillong
151 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#8 of 21 in Shillong
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $149 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing