We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place for a short vacation”
Review of Ri Kynjai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ri Kynjai
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Place for a short vacation”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Ri Kynjai is a very nice place for a short vacation. It has a breathtaking view of the lake from all the rooms and cottages. There is only one restaurant and a bar, which serves all types of cuisines. Cherrapunji is 2.5 hrs drive and has nice waterfalls and fantastic green hills. The only negative I found was late serving of breakfast at 8:30am (considering sun rise happens at 4:00am). I would strongly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    122
    28
    9
    20
See reviews for
227
147
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Nothing worked. The staff were clueless about our booking and kept fobbing us off to some other clueless entity in Shillong. Every transaction and communication ended with a nervous staff member asking for more money. It felt like we were being ripped off. What did not help was the fact that there was no hot water in the late evenings and housekeeping had tacky shampoo pouches and tiny, sad soap bars. Come on! We were shelling out more than $200 per person, per night! Don't make your clients feel cheap. This place is truly over-rated and ought to learn a thing or two about the hospitality sector before it has the gall to charge such outrageous prices and be so crass about it.

Room Tip: Great location but management totally clueless
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank xonzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stopped over for a night's stay enroute from Kaziranga to Shillong. Stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the lake. Wish I could have stayed longer - will do some day!
Had a great dinner & breakfast with very pleasant & attentative staff. Also had a wonderful walk through the pine forests to the lake - great way to build up an appetite for breakfast. Would suit anyone who wants to spend quality time on your own or with family.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavUK1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The best resort ever visited. It is calm quiet and clean.When we reached this place we have no words to say. beautiful...no camera is enaough to capture the image of this place. It is so beautiful. The wood and cane works really make you happy.This is the place for people who wants to spend some valuable time with their family and friends. Not at all a party hotel...The best thing is cleanliness. it is clean. About the river. When we came it was sunny. Suddenly theclimate changed and it started raining..the river and its beauty will change according to the climate...it is really a beautiful place

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chithrarema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guwahati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The name Ri Kynjai- Serenity by the lake, could not have been more apt for this place. If Shillong could be called the Scotland of east, then you get a glimpse of Scotland at this very place. It is so picturesque that you could spend the whole day doing nothing but gazing out of your balcony. BUt the problem starts when the day ends, because you have nothing really to keep you occupied after dark. So make sure that you go there only in a group. Food and service is very average. The rooms are massive and well decorated.
If you want a moment of peace and quiet or are in the mood of some contemplation, visit Ri-kynjai.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharthricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I will first say who it is not meant for. If you like action , have kids who want entertainment , are looking for five-star treatment for the money you are paying , you hate it when electricity goes , you want non-stop TV service of your favourite match .
If you are looking for a space built and maintained with passion. If you are a worshipper of aesthetic style with simplicity. If you like food that reminds you more of home. If you hate servile waiters and staff and would like warmth and happy smiles instead . Then this is the place for your escape from this mad , mad world. The lake is great with the interplay of clouds and surrounded by lush hills. We were three people , me with my spouse and a friend. It was sheer serenity by the lake for all of us.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyraas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed here with my husband in July 2009 (no option on the dropdown menu in this site for this date) and had an AMAZING time. Right from the winding road to the hotel's huge reception area to the humongous room & bathroom and the sweetest staff, Ri Kyinjai was a treat all the day. Our room overlooked the lake and one can just spend hours sitting in the balcony and drinking wine. The bathroom was bigger than my bedroom back at home and very well stuffed. What we liked best were for the first 2 days of our stay they had few other guests and the silence with the view was the 'serenity' promised and delivered 100 times over. The staff was lovely and careful of all our needs and one guy even took us for a lovely hike around the hotel jungle area to the lake shore. It was lush and green all around from the rains and it hotel premises looked awesome. The only minus points were the food (mediocre & expensive) and the fact that massages at the Spa werent avaialble throughtout our stay as apparently all masseurs had called in sick which I found weird. The dining area was practically ON the lake shore and even had a table far away inside a small hut for couples wanting more privacy. This hotel was worth every penny I paid for it and yes it IS more expensive perhaps than a 5 star hotel in Calcutta (as mentioned by another reviewer) but 1000 times better than that. I think people who want things like ping pong installed in this resort do not understand the concept of 'serenity' or 'resort'. I was also wary of getting bored but the relaxation from the view and the weather filled my soul. I have travelled in several countries and lived in various 5 stars but this one was the best holiday still!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WonderWomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
259 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
61 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#16 of 79 in Shillong
67 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pear Tree
The Pear Tree
#6 of 79 in Shillong
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ri Kynjai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ri Kynjai

Property: Ri Kynjai
Address: U.C.C Road Ri Bhoi | Uminiuh Khawn, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ri Kynjai 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ri Kynjai translates into Khasi as land of serenity. This Spa-Resort presiding over the picturesque Umiam lake 16kms from Shillong is aptly named "Ri Kynjai - Serenity By The Lake". The architecture is inspired and derived from the original Khasi thatch huts. Supported on tall circular stilts on the terrace of the hotel blocks are the hybrid cottages derived from vernacular Khasi architecture. These cottages serve to portray the transition from tradition to modernity and have an interpretation of the traditional upturned boat roof done in metallic thatch fused to modern gables. Each cottage has a fireplace in the living/ bedroom area and the mezzanine floor has an additional bedroom arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ri Kynjai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ri Kynjai Shillong
Ri Kynjai Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing