We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the scenery and solitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Noida
1 review
“loved the scenery and solitude”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We booked into Tripura castle on the 17th of June 2009. What we loved about the place was that it was away from the city, secluded on a hill away from the hustle, bustle of the city. The view was spectacular, the air was crisp and clean.
The only negative part of the hotel was that the room (which was the only one available at the time) was cramped. The T.V. was way too small. The bathrooms plumbing was not good. The walls were thin as we could hear the noise from the rooms adjacent from both the sides. A party of men next door went on till almost 12 - 2p.m but we drowned their voices by putting on the fan!
The service was good though not spectacular. The food was good but highly priced. On the last night I had ordered a Khasi meal which was scrumptious, but the scrawny Cherapunjee chicken dish cost quite something! Prices were on the steep side - I was a little shocked to see my bill for the 2 days and nights we stayed there ( we thought we were in for a budget holiday but this exceeded our limit!)
On the whole an okay stay - nothing to write home about!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the size of the rooms
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rmphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
81
40
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

The hotel is located away from the busy roads at the end of a colony, which makes it accessible to the town, but yet is very very quiet. The rooms are slightly small, although the baths were recently redone and very reasonably good quality. The prices are reasonable, the staff is courteous, food average. The quietness and ambience is good. Internet is available at reception, but not in rooms or as a wireless. Overall a good place in Shillong

  • Liked — Quiet Ambience
  • Disliked — No internet access
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cajithk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed in the suite, slightly expensive but large sized room with a fireplace, kingsized four poster bed, wooden floors, old rose wood furniture and a balcony with a lawn. The deluxe rooms were much smaller and not impressive and hence we decided to upgrade. Superior rooms have views and slightly bigger and provide most value for money.

The local Khasi food and vegetarian fare was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful in organizing a taxi for local sightseeing.

Its a small place with just about 10-15 rooms, was once upon a time the castle of the King, who still has his bungalow next door. The castle (nothing like the English castles, but beautiful in its own right) is away from the city centre, and yet quite accessible via a car.

  • Liked — Good food, good location and good service
  • Disliked — Slightly expensive
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel is exactly as you would have imagined sitting pretty next to a heritage property where the present day royalty of Meghalaya still reside. Right from the warm entry at the reception to your ultra warm rooms (courtesy a traditional fireplace) this is as cosy as you can get. The dining is another experience altogether and Khasi delicacies must definetly be tried (although the order has to be placed well in advance). The mezzanine houses an excellant bar along with a family dining area.

Overall the experience for two nights was worth it and I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Shillong who wants to be far from the madding crowd yet close enough whenever you want a market jaunt

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ruts_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Despite freezing temperatures, the hotel was unheated apart from small, ineffectual electric heaters. Coats had to be worn for breakfast and dinner and in the bar. There were fireplaces in the bedrooms but the staff claimed there was no coal to light fires. The bathrooms were so cold that it was a feat of bravery to have a shower.

The hotel has no international telephone line and no wifi access to the internet. International calls have to be routed through a sister hotel whose lines were always busy and so I was unable to make any telephone calls.

Front desk staff were unhelpful but restaurant and bar staff were charming.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
56 reviews
24.5 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Property: Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing