We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Tripura Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were on our way to Cherrapunji and decided to stay at the Tripura Castle. As mentioned it is on the outskirts of town, but considering how crazy the traffic in Shillong is, this place is an oasis of calm. The rooms are charming but the mattresses are indeed too hard and need updating. The staff are happy to build a fire in your room which makes the chilly nights more bearable. Indeed the staff are excellent - well trained and eager to please. We asked the hotel to make specific vegetarian food for us (not on the menu) and they did a very good job of accommodating our wishes. We wanted to walk in the forest behind the hotel, which the woman at the front desk said was not possible. However, we did indeed find a way there and walked all the way to Shillong Mountain which has a wonderful view of the city and surroundings. A nice thing to do if you want to avoid the city. It isn't cheap, but we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We are extremely grateful for your comments on our hotel. Being a hospitality industry we try to cater all the requirements of our guests and make sure that they leave our property with a memorable experience.

As for the walk through the forest to Shillong Peak, we did not recommend you to go without a guide as we want to make sure that your trek is enjoyable, safe and avoid any inconvenience. However we are glad that you enjoyed the view from Shillong Peak which is the highest point in Shillong city.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 218 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Whenever we travel the decision we are usually faced with is: do we want to stay in a comfortable four or five star hotel or in a heritage place that adds a bit more of an experience to the trip? In the case of Shillong there are actually no such four/five-star hotels that fit the bill. Most come across as rather depressing, worn buildings and as such Tripura Castle is probably your best bet when you visit the city. Two things need to be noted from the start though: 1. The hotel is quite far from the city center. A taxi ride will set you back about two hundred rupees and takes about fifteen minutes. A walk down should take forty five minutes to an hour. 2. It's not really a castle-castle. It used to the summer residence of the 'royal' family of Tripura and its clear that like much of the rest of Shillong's scenic architecture its been inspired by a British cottage kind of building style that one finds in smaller hill stations in India as well. That said it is definitely a lovely property, beautifully kept and with a distinct character that makes it well worth staying here.

We were here for four nights in December. The rooms are spacious, the beds as well, though the mattresses are quite hard, something the hotel could look into. Although these are 'period' beds surely better mattresses are available? The bathroom was spacious as well and the complimentary toiletries of decent quality. Hot water was almost immediate, something we well appreciated considering how extraordinarily cold it gets at night.

The cold is an issue... if you travel during the colder months (December, January etc) please keep in mind that your room will be very cold throughout the day unless you keep the fireplace running (staff will help you). The small heater that came with the room is definitely not sufficient to keep the room warm enough. The hotel's restaurant is a pleasant place to spend some time if the room gets too cold but the bar upstairs is open from one side meaning it basically gets as cold as it does outside. The restaurant is quite decent. We had dinner there a number of times, all of which were tasty though nothing specifically great (an issue in Shillong in general we felt). Breakfast is a bit of a mixed bag: a la carte is excellent, the buffet which they only roll out when they expect a lot of guests not so. We also had dinner in the Cafe belonging to the hotel down below the hill (see review on tripadvisor).

Service in general is excellent though, the staff very friendly and helpful. With this property we're a bit back-and-forth between Average and Very Good. It is not a particularly affordable place, the rooms really did get very cold, wifi is ridiculously slow, and breakfast was only so-so. On the other hand: this is a lovely property, quite scenic, beautifully located, with truly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay during the holidays. The hotel is an extension of the Castle of the Maharaja of Tripura which was opened in 2003 for commercial purpose. It was the summer house of the Maharaja who fell in love with Shillong during his era. We are keeping in mind of installing all modern facilities for the comfort of our guests without affecting the Heritage look and ambience of the place.

In regards to the facility in the rooms, we are in talks with the wi-fi service provider and in the process to strengthen the bandwidth. The management is looking into the heating system and it should be better by next winter as we will be having much improved heating system in all our rooms.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had an fabulous trip in this dushera in Shillong, at first i and my friends were completely confused where to stay for the trip but Greenlimon holidays has suggested the perfect place tripura castle which has got the best location and has got marvelous heritage look........... thanks to Greenlimon holidays for making our trip wonderful...... we will visit this hotel next time next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that Green Lemon Holidays made the right choice for you and your friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my husband visited this place on first week of november'13. It will remain one of our best time spent. lovely place, wonderful people and amazing serenity. Rooms were excellent with a touch of royality and the service was impeccable. Room rents were fair enough. Tiered gardens with cherry blossom trees and orchids were a real treat.
But the best part of the hotel was its food which the best in town. Specially the Cafe can give any five star a run for money. We would love to go back there. It was surprisingly rejuvenating.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on main building. Its more ethnic that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sohinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are happy to know that your stay with us will remain one of your best time spent.

The Café located within the annexe serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies and we try our best to keep up with the expectations of our guests.

We appreciate your positive response regarding our hospitality and service and we hope that we will see you again in our Heritage Hotel in the coming future to experience an improved service in both our restaurants and accommodation.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a royal palace converted hotel, located in shillong city. The hotel has single and double room accommodation with indoor games, open lawn to enjoy the early morning sunrise, bar and restaurant. The rooms are big and spacious with wood work. One can take a walk across the forest adjacent to the hotel or can enjoy the morning sunrise/slight drizzling, depending of the season, with a cup of tea in the open courtyard.. The staff and friendly and cooperative. I have been to this hotel recently and I advise others to stay at this hotel during your visit to Shillong.

Room Tip: try to book rooms in the corridoor next to reception area. one can enjoy the morning sunrise with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikasubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We appreciate your wonderful review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is the first "heritage" hotel in the north-east. Opened in 2003 in the Castle's annexe, it is also the summer retreat of the Maharajas of the Manikya dynasty of Tripura.

Each of the spacious and tastefully appointed guest rooms retains its old world 'heritage' character. The restaurants – The Rice Court serves Indian, Chinese & Continental and Café Shillong Heritage serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies.

To add to the beauty, is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle with lusty pine trees, tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids which is a complete package for guests who wish to get away from the maddening city life.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The property is located away from the chaos of the city center. Excellent service along with the old world charm of the property add to the experience. We stayed in rooms that were a bit away from the main hotel. They had a golf cart to take you to the main hotel where the restaurant and bar are. With limited number of rooms, the property does not have an over-crowded feel at any time. You can actually find a whole section to yourself at the restaurant or at the bar and spend an excellent evening relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumitDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is a property located away from the city crowd and is set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine that overlooks some part of the city.

The newly constructed Garden Wing Superior rooms are spacious and well designed using local materials to the greatest advantage and a café located in the middle of the annexe. The golf cart stationed 24 hours takes you to the court yard area, where we have the Rice Court restaurant serving Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean cuisine with a Mezzanine Bar offering a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What caught my eye for this property was its location away from the the commercial activity and noise of police bazar and laitumkhrah. This place has a very royal feel with beautiful wooden floors, well carved varnished furniture and king size beds. I felt like I was embraced within the aura of the castle. It is among the few hotels in Shillong which has a bar and is open till around 10, 10:30 pm which is quite late as the bars here close early. This place had beautiful well maintained gardens and our room (the supreme suite) overlooked a small garden which had a green and fresh view. Service was also good. If money is not a constraint, one should come here to relax at least for a day. That is what I did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is located away from the hustle bustle of the main city and very close to nature - an ideal place to rejuvenate yourself.

The property reflects the regality of a royal home with its preserved heritage essence – from its tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids, carefully selected pieces of furniture, its splendid interiors blend with the modern amenities gives a sense of homely stay to our guests.

To add to the beauty is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle overlooking the majestic pine trees and garden.

Besides the Mezzanine Bar, there is also Café Shillong Heritage within the annexe and serves Mediterranean, Asian, Northeastern cuisine and a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.3 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
15 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#8 of 20 in Shillong
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $89 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing