We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

An excellently managed property which gives the comfort of home at the same time a royal touch which reminds one of the british era times and thus Shillong was coined as the Scotland of the east.

A must stay at the royal heritage, nicely maintained, great food and excellent and well trained staff. Also the above is value for money at good prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review.

Tripura Castle was remodelled maintaining its old world 'heritage' character filled with modern amenities meeting the modern day requirement.

At Royal Heritage Tripura Castle, we strive and make sure we provide each guest with personalized service keeping in mind to make their stay a pleasant and memorable one.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
81
40
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was in Shillong 2 decades back for my studies but never visited this part of the city. The Castle was well maintained and kept in a decent state by the management. The ambience was good, and I particularly enjoyed sitting at the lobby sipping soup or tea in the cool Shillong evening. Free wifi facility was there and there was a bar too, one floor above the dining hall. The room was spacious and the furnitures somehow gives you a sense of homeliness. Bathroom was particularly spacious. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the room service was good. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaruataFanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We are extremely pleased to hear about your lone visit to Tripura Castle after such a long period of time, hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

The property reflects the regality of a royal home – from its tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids, carefully selected pieces of furniture, its splendid interiors blend with the modern amenities gives a sense of homely stay to our guests.

To add to the beauty is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle.

We appreciate and thank you for your Review on our staff, we rest assured that your kind words have been forwarded to the various departments of Tripura Castle.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The heritage part is actually the furniture, the photographs and residence of the Maharaja a few steps away.
But the hotel is very nicely laid out around a courtyard. Great ambiance. And very good service. The food is about average though.
I stayed in a very nice large room with steps leading to a small garden. The bed was supposedly the same bed that Rabindranath Tagore slept in when he visited the Maharaja in Shillong many years ago!!
The good thing is that it is a bit of a distance away from the city centre so its quiet and very green. Shillong has changed over the years. The town used to be a quiet town but its now very noisy, so I needed the quiet!!
The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 102 which has the steps to the garden and the huge bed. Its the most expensive room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kool_anil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We thank you for your wonderful comments about Tripura Castle.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is linked with many memories in the past, as mentioned by you the visit of Rabindranath Tagore is one of the most unforgettable line drawn in the history or Tripura Castle.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is located off the main city and very close to the nature. For the person who wants to be away from the maddening city crowed, the Tripura Castle is the idle place to rejuvenate oneself.

We thank you once again for being our guest.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It is a nice property overlooking lush green hills and valleys. Rooms are located around a courtyard in the centre and garden at the periphery. The rooms have modern amenities; and wooden floors to beat the cold. Though it is promoted as a heritage property, it does not look like one.

The food could have been better; because NE India is known for local cuisine of delicate taste, and also Chinese and Tibetan delicacies. This place is also far from good restaurants.

The room has a fire place. It is indeed romantic to sit near the fireplace on a cold night. Unfortunately, the use of low grade coal in these might lead to emission of obnoxious gases; one should watch out.

Room Tip: Rooms around the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We really appreciate your lovely comments.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is located off the main city and very close to nature. If your choice is nature and not the crowd than the Tripura Castle is the idle place to rejuvenate yourself.

Tripura Castle was remodelled mostly using the local materials to retain its old world 'heritage' character filled with modern amenities meeting the modern day requirement.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well-built good to look at property with decently sized rooms and well maintained furniture.
It might not be a value for stay but it also is not a waste. The restaurant is a fine place with great ambience n good food and the overall service is good as well.All in all a fine place to get away and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khushboo_Golyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your lovely comments.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We will make sure the standard as depicted by will be maintain throughout and will continue to improve our service offering to ensure a memorable stay for all our guests.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Place is very beautiful, rooms are very spacious with king size bed, big lcd TV and sofas. Bathrooms are also spacious, clean with seperate and covered space for shower. Hotel ambience is good, 3 different restaurants and a nice bar. Foods are not that good and too costly as well. Overall a good place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjal_dutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine on the foothills of the Shillong Peak and overlooks some parts of the city. Each of the spacious and tastefully appointed guest rooms retains its old world 'heritage' character. Carefully selected pieces of furniture from the Castle, a gleaming brass fire-place makes the place cosy and relaxed along with all the modern amenities. To add to the beauty is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle.

The dining experience within the property by our restaurants - Rice Court and Cafe Shillong Heritage specializes in Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean cuisine with a Mezzanine Bar offering a variety of beverages to choose from.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food is over priced and very often one get's confused about what to choose since the food items have weird names and it too vast. On the contrary, the place is beautiful and a good place to hang out with loved ones/ friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
56 reviews
24.5 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Property: Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing