We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“a good stay..”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

this was one very well maintained old mini palace of the erstwhile maharaja of tripura state.
well done rooms and simple and great service by the staff. though a bit expensive given the offer but since we were there during the last week of dec so possibly the rates were high.

Room Tip: try staying in the maharaja suite its big and opens up into a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhupendrasharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
81
40
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

It was a beautiful November. Bright sun and cool weather with a beautiful garden overlooking Shillong. It has lovely cherry trees and rooms with old period furniture. I was in the room which had the writing desk which Rabindranath Tagore used when living with the Raja of Tripura. The service was good and they served breakfast or lunch out in the garden. It is in a silent zone in a city full of traffic jams, and gives you a sense of how life was a century ago.

Room Tip: Chose the room with the door opening into the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunnyraas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I had gone to Tripura Castle Royal Heritage Hotel with a few friends & family for lunch based on my invitation.The service in the bar upstairs was great. At the restaurant below were many guests with only one person taking orders & serving, hence obviously he was very grumpy.
During the meal we asked if we could have some music, it was out of order.
When the time for payment of my bill came I payed using my card, I was told they donot accept cards. When I told them that in the past I had paid my bills using a card in the hotel. Now I was told that their card machine was out of order. I asked if they could do a manual validation I was told they did not have the facilities. I was now ready to pay in USD or Euros, they said they donot accept foreign currency.I was now in a fix as my bill was a considerable amount , Dont you think it would be prudent to post a sign outside stating" WE ACCEPT PAYMENTS IN INR CASH ONLY"?. That would have saved a whole lot of embaressment as now my guests were paying the bill for the lunch that I had invited them for. When I asked the people seated in the manager's cabin ( a man with no sense of customer service & a lady who was very plaesant & sweet ) the owner's Pradyut's phone number ofcourse anybody's guess they gave me a wrong non-existant phone number. Hence we all went looking forward to a nice meal & a happy experiance but we all came back somewhat unhappy & embaressed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have cash in Indian rupees handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rose295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Loved the property. However the staff do seem arrogant and spoil the experience of staying here... Would recommed the food too..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assamsabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Small comfortable hotel. A bit away from the main road so transport required. Very quiet and peaceful because of this. Clean comfortable rooms. Could do with some improvements. The food is good. The toilet was large and clean. Signages leading to the hotel are not adequate and should be more prominent.. It is a place to sit back and relax as there aren't any activities for children. Has abar though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tulupatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The hilltop location makes the place remote, and therefore ideal only for a peaceful getaway. It is essentially the refurbished outhouse, annexed to the official residence of the Maharaja of Tripura, in Shillong, Meghalaya. There are barely 11/12 rooms but the place has a very old world antique feel to it, complete with old world furniture. Our first room was spacious, comfortable and very well furnished, looking out on to a small and compact garden. The bathroom however was cramped. We were later moved to a much smaller room, but coupled with a decidedly larger bathroom. There's also a very nice courtyard. The downside is that the food , although good, is very expensive, and residents, who do not have their own transport, are constrained to eat at the hotel, considering the distance from the city centre. One genuine advantage at the hotel - there is no water shortage, since the builder of the property, the Maharaja of Tripura, made sure that he harnessed mountain streams for water supplies, and hence there is no dependence on municipal supplies. Overall, a very good place for a break, provided one has nothing to do, with no set agenda.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tilmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

A friend of mine took me along with him to this place. really elegant place. this place makes one feel really prince-like. the structure of the building and all is realy nice. the attire of the staff goes well with the atmosphere of the hotel.......... the food is also nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rohit_Anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
56 reviews
24.5 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle

Property: Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Address: Tripura Castle Road | Cleve Colony, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing