We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“efficient hotel for the business traveller”
Review of Hotel Centre Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centre Point
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located in the city centre and hence a crowded place. Getting down from the car near the Hotel entrance can take time during peak hours on account of too many vehicles that jostle for space. The rooms are somewhat small, but well appointed. Wi-fi does not work in the rooms, but in the Hotel lobby. The restaurant offers reasonable fare.
Generally the ambient noise level is high as the hotel is in a raod junction where many raods converge. Honking is a favourite pastime around here.Weekend nights could be a problem as the music is too loud in the top floor disco; and it goes on late in to the night - till 1.00 am. The rooms reverberate with the music and sleep is very tough.
The restaurant could get crowded during the weekend nights - hence reserve your table in advance - or face a waiting time of 30 to 40 minutes.
Location, efficient staff and decent restaurant is a good reason to come here- if you can avoid the weekends.

Room Tip: If you sensitive to noise, choose another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

Centre Point as the name suggests is located in the heart of Shillong in Khyndailad (Police Bazar). With all the advantages of being located in the main business and shopping district of the city such as being within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and cafes comes the relative concern of traffic and crowds synonymous with such locations the world over.

We appreciate your feedback on the wifi connectivity in the rooms and we are pleased to let your know that it will soon be available as installation is under progress.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies on the areas that were not satisfactory. We want to assure you that your feedback has been taken on a very serious note including the noise levels from the top floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back and make sure you have a wonderful experience on your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 288 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had booked a room for 2 nights and when we reached there at around 2 PM, the rooms were not yet ready. We had to wait for more than an hour, the front desk staffs are very poor in communication. The hotel is located at the heart of the city, food is good but over rated. Breakfast has limited choice. Room service is not up to the mark. Bathrooms have huge windows with improper curtains. Overall, good location, but over rated.

Room Tip: Book rooms on 4th floor with good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagpack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hotel Centre Point-Shillong
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to give your review in Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apology on behalf of our staff for the inconvenience caused and the areas you were not satisfied during your stay.
It is a motivation from discerning guests such as you, which encourages us to give our best. It has also been our focus at Hotel Centre Point to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and service.
We have taken a note of the areas you were not happy and it has been forwarded to the management to take an appropriate and corrective measure to improve the same at the earliest.
We look forward to welcoming you back with much needed improvement at Hotel Centre Point.
Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Centre Point , Shillong from 21.05.13 to 25.05.13. It was a awesome experience to be there. Temp was very comfortable in shillong . Hotel points I am sharing :

1. Hotel location is just in the heart of shillong market. That makes everything convenient to get.
2. Staffs are very cooperative and helpful.
3. They honor the phone bookings , but a email conformation from Hotel is always advisable.
4. Buffet breakfast is not that much good as they donot have much variety.
5. Rooms with hilltop view only to be taken . Other rooms have poor view.
6. Donot expect any AC in rooms.

City Points I am sharing :

1. City people are very helpful.
2. English is well accepted and spoken.
3. Car for tours are available in abandon.
4. A city tour in Maruti 800 will cost approx INR 800.00 and a return cherapunjee will cost INR 1700. In maruti they can accommodate at max 4 people.
5. Lot of eat outs are there in Chinese, Continental , Indian cuisines etc. But I will prefer City Dhaba for dinner & Bar-be-Que for Chinese. For Bengali traveller you can try at BABA tourist lodge restaurant
at GS ROAD , police Bazaar for authentic Bengali dishes.
6. Market closes by 21:00 hrs.
7. Cars from Guwahati will drop passenger at Police Bazaar only unless hotel have there own parking lot.
8. Climate is very unpredictable in shillong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnimeshRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

We are very glad to read your wonderful comments about Hotel Centre Point. Located in the heart of Shillong, we take pride in being the hotel of choice for most visitors who come to Shillong for either business or leisure.
We would also like to assure you that your suggestion on buffet breakfast shall be forwarded to the management for its review and consideration.

Air conditioning is not required in Shillong as the maximum average temperature hovers around 18 degrees C to 27 degrees C during summers.

Cars for tours in and around the city and for airport transfers are also arranged from the hotel.

Our cuisine is a range to choose from Indian, Chinese, Continental, Pan Asian to North Eastern served at our restaurants – La Galerie and Skye Asia.

However, we are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience while staying with us and we look forward to have you visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is at the heart of city with excellent city view rooms. Room size was decent and well maintained. Service is perfect. Food and beverage are excellent. food have a lot of varieties. Simply awesome hotel and would love to stay here in my next visit also.

Room Tip: One of the best hotel to stay in Shillong..Should opt for city view rooms.. Best part is the food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Jishu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

We are delighted to read your review and glad to know that you were satisfied with our services.

Located at the heart of the main business and shopping centre, we make all efforts to offer friendly, attentive and high standard of hospitality service to our guests.

Thank you once again for choosing Hotel Centre Point.

Warm Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would say its a convenient spot and located at the heart of the city, and so the noise and the hustle bustle of the locale comes along with the package. The rooms are satisfactory but the rates nowhere justifies them.They gave me a room for two,with a view to the streets only to be told the next day to shift to another and a floor above and steeper by Rs. 500 or 700. My friend tried to explain to me that the extra money was due to the superior mattress but on checking found them to be the same like the ones below, and so were the shape and size of the room.Latter one of the house keeper explained the mystery to me that it was due to the view, which of course was the same again but a floor above, of all the lame reasons this is what they came out with.Apart from these ,the service was ok,but I suspected it was more due to generous tips from me then anything else.A word of advise here, dont get fooled by their lost puppy look. The car parking is cramped but better then most hotels around.The bar is decently stocked and on weekend nights doubles up as a discotheque .The food is passable and there is the complimentary breakfast. If I were to ever come here again it will be due to the convenience of the location.

Room Tip: Take the cheep ones its not much different then the costlier ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxfreeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

Thank you for sharing your review in Trip Advisor.

Kindly accept our sincere apology on behalf of our staff for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Although we are pleased to know that most of the services and facilities offered to you at Hotel Centre Point were to your satisfaction, your comment on shifting of room with an extra cost is a great concern to us. Since your stay was in the month of August the management is trying to ascertain what went wrong and we will certainly acknowledge the issue with all seriousness it deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back with much needed improvement at Hotel Centre Point.

Kind Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed there for a night with my family. We had a horrible time. There is a bar on the fourth floor and people came down drunkard. People kept on banging the doors of the room and ringing the bell. I complaint to the reception but it was not of much help. The rooms are very noisy as it is located on main road. The room was also pretty average and I felt that I have paid much more than what it deserves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saurabhm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, General Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Mr Saurabh,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and it was a pleasure talking to you!!

We have thoroughly investigated the matter where you mentioned that people were knocking and pressing the door bell. After the investigation, it was found that there were a family who had taken 3 rooms and one of the rooms being next to the room you occupied. They had children aged between 13 to 15 years who happen to be playing on the corridor and by mistake knocked and press the door bell of the room you were occupying. After your call to our Front Office the children were asked not to play on the corridor as it was a disturbance to the other guests of the hotel.

We have also examined our CCTV footage and found that there were no outsiders who were present at the floor of the room you occupied. The resto-lounge bar located on the 5th floor had just 3 tables occupied at the time when the incident occurred and as per our footage none of them walked down to the floor of the room you occupied.

However, we are sorry for the inconvenience and we are also glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our lake resort, Ri Kynjai – Serenity by the Lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Ashley Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

as i had predicted since i had web booked reservation, my money was already spent. i was given the last room in the corridor. however staff was courteous to ask me to clock my dinner order before 10pm as per statutory requirements. big problem was with the hot water, the second person to take bath always got luke warm to cold water. what a pity. pointed that out to the hotel through calls and feedback form. hope if they listen they shall surely become a good hotel for recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank sagarVadodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, General Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mr Mehta,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and it was a pleasure talking to you!!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time to write your review in Trip Advisor.

It is through valuable feedback from guests like you which helps us to improve upon our services.

Although we are pleased to know that most of the services and facilities offered to you at Hotel Centre Point were to your satisfaction, your comment on the warm water was of great concern to us. We would like to assure you that your feedback is being dealt in all seriousness it deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Centre Point.

With regards
Ashley Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 21 in Shillong
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Shillong
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monsoon
Monsoon
#11 of 21 in Shillong
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Point

Address: Police Bazaar | Khyndailad, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $84 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centre Point 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the City.Well Designed rooms both Traditional Pine wood interiors and modern interiors. Cozy and comfortable. Has been a favourite for a long time now. Can boast of the best reataurants in the city serving a variety from indian Chinese to pan asian cuisines.Also has the Night club lounge which started the night life of Northeast. Djs and bands from all over the country as well as the world have performed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Centre Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing