We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the convenience of Center Point.”
Review of Hotel Centre Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Centre Point
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would say its a convenient spot and located at the heart of the city, and so the noise and the hustle bustle of the locale comes along with the package. The rooms are satisfactory but the rates nowhere justifies them.They gave me a room for two,with a view to the streets only to be told the next day to shift to another and a floor above and steeper by Rs. 500 or 700. My friend tried to explain to me that the extra money was due to the superior mattress but on checking found them to be the same like the ones below, and so were the shape and size of the room.Latter one of the house keeper explained the mystery to me that it was due to the view, which of course was the same again but a floor above, of all the lame reasons this is what they came out with.Apart from these ,the service was ok,but I suspected it was more due to generous tips from me then anything else.A word of advise here, dont get fooled by their lost puppy look. The car parking is cramped but better then most hotels around.The bar is decently stocked and on weekend nights doubles up as a discotheque .The food is passable and there is the complimentary breakfast. If I were to ever come here again it will be due to the convenience of the location.

Room Tip: Take the cheep ones its not much different then the costlier ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taxfreeknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

Thank you for sharing your review in Trip Advisor.

Kindly accept our sincere apology on behalf of our staff for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

Although we are pleased to know that most of the services and facilities offered to you at Hotel Centre Point were to your satisfaction, your comment on shifting of room with an extra cost is a great concern to us. Since your stay was in the month of August the management is trying to ascertain what went wrong and we will certainly acknowledge the issue with all seriousness it deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back with much needed improvement at Hotel Centre Point.

Kind Regards,
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 288 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed there for a night with my family. We had a horrible time. There is a bar on the fourth floor and people came down drunkard. People kept on banging the doors of the room and ringing the bell. I complaint to the reception but it was not of much help. The rooms are very noisy as it is located on main road. The room was also pretty average and I felt that I have paid much more than what it deserves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saurabhm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, General Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Mr Saurabh,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and it was a pleasure talking to you!!

We have thoroughly investigated the matter where you mentioned that people were knocking and pressing the door bell. After the investigation, it was found that there were a family who had taken 3 rooms and one of the rooms being next to the room you occupied. They had children aged between 13 to 15 years who happen to be playing on the corridor and by mistake knocked and press the door bell of the room you were occupying. After your call to our Front Office the children were asked not to play on the corridor as it was a disturbance to the other guests of the hotel.

We have also examined our CCTV footage and found that there were no outsiders who were present at the floor of the room you occupied. The resto-lounge bar located on the 5th floor had just 3 tables occupied at the time when the incident occurred and as per our footage none of them walked down to the floor of the room you occupied.

However, we are sorry for the inconvenience and we are also glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our lake resort, Ri Kynjai – Serenity by the Lake.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Ashley Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

as i had predicted since i had web booked reservation, my money was already spent. i was given the last room in the corridor. however staff was courteous to ask me to clock my dinner order before 10pm as per statutory requirements. big problem was with the hot water, the second person to take bath always got luke warm to cold water. what a pity. pointed that out to the hotel through calls and feedback form. hope if they listen they shall surely become a good hotel for recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank sagarVadodara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, General Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mr Mehta,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong and it was a pleasure talking to you!!

We thank you for sparing your valuable time to write your review in Trip Advisor.

It is through valuable feedback from guests like you which helps us to improve upon our services.

Although we are pleased to know that most of the services and facilities offered to you at Hotel Centre Point were to your satisfaction, your comment on the warm water was of great concern to us. We would like to assure you that your feedback is being dealt in all seriousness it deserves.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Centre Point.

With regards
Ashley Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a perfect hotel to stay at heart of Shillong. Centrally located - all facilities of the town is available at door step (e.g., food options, cafe, bar, travel options, shopping etc.). Being located in a congested place brings some disadvantage such as noise, blocked view of hills by concrete etc. But I am not putting those against the hotel. Because when this hotel is chosen after knowing the location, these are quite obvious.
Rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The service is excellent - whatever we needed, those were serviced promptly - we didn't have to make any follow up on a single occasion. Staffs are extremely friendly and courteous.
The hotel is bit costly, but considering the amenities, service and location, I felt it value for money.
Design of bathroom is old fashioned, not in line with rest of the room - need to be remodeled. Also, arrangement of sound proofing of the rooms should be considered by management for noise free stay of the guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debashis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point, Shillong!

We are happy to read your comments about Hotel Centre Point. We take pride in being the hotel of choice for most visitors who come to Shillong for either business or leisure.

Each day here at Centre Point, we make all efforts to compliment the advantages of being located in the heart of the main business and shopping centre of the city by striving to offer friendly and attentive service and maintain high standard of hospitality.

We would also like to assure you that your suggestions are being looked into by the management and we are happy to inform you that renovation works on our bathrooms are currently being executed.

Looking forward for you next visit and stay with us.

Kind Regards
Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights here and for me it was a pleasant experience. The view from the room was excellent and I could see the distant hills. Being located in the heart of the city all the basic amenities are easily accessible. The food was excellent. The cleanness was also great and everyday the room was cleaned. Whenever a call was given either to the housekeeping or room service they were very prompt. For the room service if you order a meal they used to deliver within 5 mins. The breakfast was a combination of continental and Indian so you can have your food of your choice.
Initially when I checked in they could not provide the room keys. However all time I used to enter the room a housekeeping was their to open the room with the duplicate keys.However on the very next day they provided the original keys. As they told it was taken by the guest who stayed in the room prior to me.
Nice place to stay and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay with us in Trip Advisor.

We are very delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We take pride in being the hotel of choice for most visitors who come to Shillong for either business or leisure. A reputation that we have earned through word of mouth and the kind words of our guests who have stayed with us over the last decade or so.

Each day here at Centre Point, we make all efforts to compliment the advantages of being located in the heart of the main business and shopping centre of the city by striving to offer friendly and attentive service and maintain high standard of hospitality.

We thank you once again for choosing Hotel Centre Point and looking forward to your stay with us in future.

Waniarisa Nongbri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Me and my wife arrived Shillong on a rainy day on 17th February 2013, intent was to have a good time in Polo orchids at Cherrapunji and celebrate our 32nd marriage anniversary on 18th. As we arrived late and hungry decided to have our lunch at Centre point. Had lunch , a good lunch. Wife proposed that since it was too late we should stay back at Centre Point.Room No.C106 was booked it was a Club executive Room. Bath room door could not be locked from inside as the towerbolt was not in order.House keeping was not up to the mark. Had to change to Room No.C215 again a Club executive room.Bath room was not in order. however the florescent bulb was repalced and made illumination.Window curtain could not be clossed fully as all the old curtain rings were not removed from the curtain rail at the time of replacements.Closed the curtain by using wife's hair clip.As I like Prawn dish ordered for a plate of Prawn Chilli as starter.Horrible experience, all stale and rotten prawn , matter reported but no attention was received. Other wise , other food seved were of high standard. Room service was excellent and prompt. Complimentary break fast was very good. Late night private party with loud music system was really not desired by the guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sarmmahhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, General Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mr Sarmmah,

Greetings from Hotel Centre Point and it was a pleasure talking to you!

Thank you for taking time to write a comment in Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the Hotel, I would like to apologise on your findings during your stay with us.

We are deeply saddened to read your review that you and Mrs. Sarmmah had to go through so much of inconvenience on such an auspicious day.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for those areas that were not satisfactory. We want to assure you that your feedback has been taken on a very serious note and we have shared your comments internally.

We remain indebted to your kind gesture in showing us ways to improve ourselves.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused and looking forward to having you stay with us and meet you in person

Ashley Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at this property on 11th February 2013 as it was evening time and I did not have time to search for a Hotel. The Hotel is located at corner of Police Bazaar, main bazaar for tourist at Shillong. Regarding the plus points is only easy accessibility as most of the cabs entering Shillong form Guwahati conclude their trip here. Only plus thing was that It has got a nice bar. Buffet breakfast did not have great variety and was only OK type.

The Hotel is too noisy. Definitely avoidable for Newly wed couples. Perhaps for all customers. The attitude of Staff is not very pleasing and can be best described as "indifferent". They take the guests as granted as they are aware that most of them are "Walk in" and they dont expect them to return.

Stayed only for one day. Perhaps I do not agree with high ratings given on Trip Advisor for this particular Hotel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank casanjeevgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

"Greetings from Hotel Centre Point"

Centre Point as the name suggests is located in the Heart of Shillong in Khydailad (Police bazar) . With all the advantages of being located in the main business and shopping district of the City such as being within walking distance of shops, malls , restaurants, bars and cafes comes the relative concern of traffic and crowds synonymous with such locations the world over.

Please accept our sincere apology on behalf of our staff, It has also been our focus at Hotel Centre Point to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality and service.

I would like to assure you that your feedback shall be dealt in all seriousness it deserves.

However, we regret not having been able to oblige your request with regards to your bill that you had made in our Front Office as it goes against our company policy.

At Centre Point it is our objective to spare no effort in trying to cater to all the requirements and needs of our guests, provided the request are within practical means and do not infringe on our company policy.

We look forward to your patronage and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Rosita Dkhar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 21 in Shillong
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#9 of 21 in Shillong
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 21 in Shillong
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Point

Address: Police Bazaar | Khyndailad, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $85 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Centre Point 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the City.Well Designed rooms both Traditional Pine wood interiors and modern interiors. Cozy and comfortable. Has been a favourite for a long time now. Can boast of the best reataurants in the city serving a variety from indian Chinese to pan asian cuisines.Also has the Night club lounge which started the night life of Northeast. Djs and bands from all over the country as well as the world have performed here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing