We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room with a great shower!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Centre Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Centre Point
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Red Deer,Ab
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean room with a great shower!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent one night here while travelling around India. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms honestly had the most hot water that we had while travelling around India. For whatever reason hot water was an issue in most hotels. I finally enjoyed a long hot shower while here. The location was great as you can walk out the door and be at a market outside. We were there on a Sunday so the Big brand name stores were closed, but that was fine. I wasn't interested in brand names I can get back in Canada. I didn't buy a lot at the market as we had been in India for a while at that point, but people were nice, not pushy.
The staff were good during check in and check out. Our view from our room was good. We wanted to order Dominos for supper and I asked the front desk staff if they would order it for me and he was more then happy to do that and arrange for it to be brought to our room. The food at the hotel was good as well. Breakfast had made to order eggs in the buffet which was nice.
Internet was only in the lobby as far as I know, which was fine. The hotel arranged for a place for our driver to stay as well close by.
Would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentalAbGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCentrePoint, Manager at Hotel Centre Point, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
"Greetings from Hotel Centre Point"

Thank you so much for taking time to post your valuable and precious comments.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay at Hotel Centre Point and you found the atmosphere and the services to your comfort, especially the hot shower.
We strive to go "Above & Beyond" to accommodate our guest and their needs while staying with us.

As far as internet facility is concern, we will definitely bring it up to the notice of the management for easy access.

Thank you for your visit, looking ahead to have u stay with us again in future.

With Regards,
Deepak Thakuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    130
    49
    9
    13
See reviews for
82
54
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and serves its name but that can also be a reason for very bad sleep quality. With all the noise in teh street below, it is almost impossible to have a good night sleep. The 5th floor has its bar and disc and hence if you have your room on the fourth floor, you can kiss your early sleep goodbye!
The staff are very helpful and pleasant and would not mind running an extra errand for you. This place is only good if you have it as a base to drop down at the end of a day.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more noise from the disc on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpackerslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kurukshetra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

the best part of the hotel is that its centrally located in shillong. i was there for 2 days. and i will say, i was satasfied with their rooms and service. they provide good amenities. yes, there is a noice of traffic, but it feels nice as because it does let you feel that you are in a busy place and not a quiet one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaurab03664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

only positive point of this hotel is that it is centrally located,
room was not comfortable , hot water was not provided even after requesting...and not attended properly...traffic noise was very disturbing in the night and early morning as well...even noise was also coming from other rooms also.
cleaniness in the hotel was below avg.
though the restaurant was good and food and service was also good
value for money was poor and not recommended to anyone going for a holiday

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richaravigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hotel centre point continues to prove itself every time i visit here for dining or the saturday night life. The food at La galarie or dining at the pan asian restaurant skye asia..... Try the steamed dumplings and the tasty hakka noodles at la galarie. At Skye asia try the water melon martini accompanied with yummy pork satay or chicken. Fish ka pla (check with the chef the name may be wrong) steamed fish in banana leaf.

Room Tip: The club rooms are a great change from the contempory old shillong rooms.... Yes honestly i still en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Williamonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

As the name indicates, it is located right at the heart of the market area. The rooms are reasonably large and well appointed. Food was good and portions were large. It has two restaurants, however we visited only one for buffet breakfast which has glass walls and offers a view of the market place. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Purabi_Chowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel Centre point as the name suggests is at the centre of Shillong Market area. This means that there are no gardens or lawns around the hotel and there are is always a huge crowd specially in the evenings on weekend.
This said the hotel has many other things going for it:

1) It has good clean rooms and if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor they are not too noisy. Many rooms have interconnecting doors which may be good for large families.
2) The service is quite good and rooms are very clean. They all have flat screen TVs and tea and cofee maker
3) Easy to get taxis for sightseeing for which anyways you have to go out of Shillong
4) It has a small parking area for visitors coming in their own cars.
5) It has a pub on the top floor(Cloud 9)

The breakfast spread here is quite small though it is adequate otherwise. The tea ordered in the room for about Rs. 60 for a pot is very good though.

Room Tip: Take a room on the upper floors and away from the front to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepaks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.3 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.5 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centre Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centre Point

Property: Hotel Centre Point
Address: Police Bazaar | Khyndailad, Shillong 793001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centre Point 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the City.Well Designed rooms both Traditional Pine wood interiors and modern interiors. Cozy and comfortable. Has been a favourite for a long time now. Can boast of the best reataurants in the city serving a variety from indian Chinese to pan asian cuisines.Also has the Night club lounge which started the night life of Northeast. Djs and bands from all over the country as well as the world have performed here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Centre Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing