We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious and Pro-Foreigners”
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Polo Towers
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Pro-Foreigners”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The way they reserve restaurant and club areas for the fair-skinned foreigners, one is reminded of India's per-independence days. For the tariff they charge, the service is pathetic. The restaurant waiters believe in making you wait till eternity. The bar is under stocked at all times. Certainly one of Shillong's worst hotels of all time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sudhir_Raikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations in terms of service especially since we pride ourselves on our famed "Shillong Hospitality".

You would be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest service too.

The Milano Restaurant was then reserved for a private event which had visitors from both India and abroad. As you will know, our beautiful dining venues make for great event spaces and as such are closed to other guests during such times. Though we apologise for the venue not being available to you, we are unable to accept the nomenclature of “discriminatory’. As you know hotels across the world have private events.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the bar being under stocked at all times.Recently "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar was newly opened is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to relax with friends or family after a long day at work.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    102
    65
    13
    17
See reviews for
95
39
8
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

At over 6K per night for the very basic room, anyone would expect a really good location, great views of Shillong & exquisite rooms, but this hotel offers none, the location being utterly junk, with no good views & the rooms are worth at the most around 4K per night. The food was not bad, but expensive, like it's rooms. We thought of going out & walk around, but the neighborhood of the hotel is not suitable to really walk around & enjoy but a bazzar full of crowd, auto stands & dogs. We decided to check out the next day & moved to pine wood hotel, which is at a far better location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManoharTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

As is true for any growing city, even Shillong has gone through a large building boom and as such some structures have come up behind our hotel. However, most of our rooms feature panoramic vistas of the hills dotting Shillong. We are also fortunate enough to be located very near to the lush green Shillong golf course which has been referred to as “The Glen Eagles of the East”.

Our hotel is the only hotel that is located within a walking distance from the Golf course which has been rated as the best golf course in India, as well as one of the largest in Asia. It is also suitable for jogging or to simply clear your mind as the nature and serenity of the place is to die for. The hotel is also located within a walking distance from the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium which has a running track, an artificial football turf, basketball courts, tennis courts, etc, for a wide variety of sports. The main market place that is POLICE BAZAR is also located within a walking distance from the hotel.

We are Shillong`s only Four Star hotel and you will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication too.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tezpur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I really like the food and the ambiance of the hotel...Beautiful Place and Scenic Greenary in and around the Hotel.....A place to Relax.Had a Splendid Evening at the Terrace....Infact one of the Best Hotels in and around Shillong in Comparison to Others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishAgarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all times. Your note complimenting our services and facilities is highly motivating.

We are happy to inform you that we have recently opened a spa called “Zen spa”- To clear your mind and escape from the stresses of daily life and arrive to a safe haven where all that matters is you. Take a relaxing journey with us at Zen spa and leave feeling renewed. Hotel Polo Towers is the only hotel in Shillong that has a spa.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I felt it was over priced and the rooms stinked!! Not a business hotel!! Will not recommend for Business Travellers. The staff at the hotel are not interested in service as they were tired!! Shillong has a lot to offer but if you are in Business, i would avoid at any cost!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RajeshSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, May 19, 2015
1. Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers -Shillong`s finest hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that you were dissatisfied with your stay at our hotel. We use state of the art cleaning equipment and room freshening devices. The odour in your room may have been a one off incident and we apologise for it.

You would be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness too.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity as it is our endeavour to provide you with our best service at all time.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shillong hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Getting to Shillong by road was a bit painful. Road condition was poor. The road traffic in Shillong is getting worse like in any other Indian city. Hotel Polo Towers is located in a busy place. Houses are almost touching each other. This does not give you a sense of comfort. The front office people were friendly. Internet which was supposed to be free, was down for the day & night. I did not ask if it was a frequent event. So, I suffered a bit as my airtel device did not work too. The room was cozy and well appointed. The bathroom looked tiny but nice. Then I realized a few things - no place to hang your towels, the faucet is located on right side (so, one had to extend the left hand awkwardly to open or close it as the right hand remained occupied with the toothbrush or any other device), the wet area is separate (nice) but the floor was slippery. The
housekeeping staff probably does not realize that dark floors could be tricky. What I liked best was their restaurant. The Italian theme restaurant is small but beautifully done. However, do not expect your pasta in a jiffy. This is NE - life goes easy. Do not look at your watch too often. The waiter was gentle and helpful to say most items in menu were not available that evening. We did not mind. The breakfast menu is limited for world travelers but adequate. I will return for another stay.

Room Tip: Difficult to find a room with a good view as all sides are surrounded by business or residential hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel, however, we apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

As is true for any growing city, even Shillong has gone through a large building boom and as such some structures have come up behind our hotel. However, most of our rooms feature panoramic vistas of the hills dotting Shillong. We are also fortunate enough to be located very near to the lush green Shillong golf course which has been referred to as “The Glen Eagles of the East”. It is also suitable for jogging or to simply clear your mind as the nature and serenity of the place is appreciated by all our guests. The hotel is also located within a walking distance from the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium which has a running track, an artificial football turf, basketball courts, tennis courts, etc, for a wide variety of sports. The main market place that is POLICE BAZAR is also located within a walking distance from the hotel.

Hotel Polo Towers is the first hotel in Shillong having free and fast Wifi for the benefit of guest and have multiple connections to ensure “Uptime” for the convenience of our guest. However we are constrained by the quality of service provided to us by the ISP(Internet Service Provider), as such we apologise for the limited connectivity during your stay but we assure that we continuously endeavour to provide great Internet connection to the extent which is in our control. We also have some “Dongles” available at reception counter which guest can use of course incase internet is down.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel now has three restaurants-"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue, "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity, allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.

The hotel has also opened "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout out with friends or family after a long day at work.

Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

We are happy to inform you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We are delighted to know that you would like to visit us again soon. We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was recently there on a business trip. Hotel is good, right now in the middle of the city, I liked the food and clean environment except that is was highly priced. There are lots of shops nearby. ATM is right down in the hotel premises. The preparation of non veg food was really good (I did not try the veg), be careful if you are not a spicy eater, you will have to instruct the chef not to put the bomb green chillies.

Room Tip: Bring your own drinks as the bar closes to sharp 9.00 PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjeet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel now has three restaurants-"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue, "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity,allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.

The hotel has also opened "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout with friends or family after a long day at work.

Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

We are happy to inform you that we have recently opened a spa called “Zen spa”- To clear your mind and escape from the stresses of daily life and arrive to a safe haven where all that matters is you. Take a relaxing journey with us at Zen spa and leave feeling renewed. Hotel Polo Towers is the only hotel in Shillong that has a spa.

We are Shillong`s only Four Star hotel and you will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication and service too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhansi, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had stayed at this property on my first visit to Shillong and chose to stay there again during my second visit.

The building, being located along a narrow hill road, is quite compact. The reception area is small, but brightly lit and elegantly decorated. There is a small restaurant in the basement, which provides a good variety of food, though it tends to be expensive.

The rooms are well-furnished, although the local touch is evident. There are nice views from the windows.

The staff are well-trained, polite and prompt.

I would not mind staying in this hotel again on my next visit to Shillong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this review, June 25, 2015
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all time. Your note complimenting our services and facilities are highly motivating.

We have recently renovated the interiors of the hotel. Focusing on the modern approach of decorating, our interior decorator has transformed our hotel into a spectacular place attracting guest to keep coming back. The hotel is on constant renovation from time to time in order to keep up the standards of our hotel being the only four star hotel in Shillong.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel now has three restaurants-"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue, "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity,allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.

The hotel has also opened "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout out with friends or family after a long day at work.

Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

We are Shillong`s only Four Star hotel and you will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the prestigious World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
272 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#11 of 20 in Shillong
13 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#7 of 20 in Shillong
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Property: Hotel Polo Towers
Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Polo Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly, a Shillong icon, this hotel is conveniently located on the Oakland road in the centre of Shillong, Hotel Polo Towers, Shillong provides easy access to both tourist and business spots. The best hotel in Shillong offers a large variety of flexible conference and event space. Our Polo Room exclusive venue space is ideal for intimate parties and enchanting celebrations. Enlist our staff to help plan your next event. Feel welcomed with our signature Shillong Hospitality, enjoy a convenient location, close to Shillong's famous golf course, the acclaimed Don Bosco Museum and other Shillong Must Do's. Feel at home in your guest room with our MaxRest beds and stay connected with WiFi. Upgrade to our Presidential Suite to make life even 'Suiter' ! Discover a range of dining options at the hotel. Dine at our specialty restaurant Shillong - Milano, serving Sicilian inspired cuisine. CupCake Factory offers comfort food such as lovely cupcakes, muffins and gourmet coffee in Shillong. Sample a range of drinks and delicious tapas at Polo Irish Pub, Shillong's best Pub and Bar. Work out in our well-equipped Health Studio or eat healthy at Sky Grill - our spectacular terrace barbeque. Visit the famous Living Rooth Bridge at Cherrapunjee from the best Resort in Cherrapunjee - Polo Orhcid Resort. Local attractions such as Wards Lake, Elephant Falls and and Shillong Peak are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing