We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Hotel Polo Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Polo Towers
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed June 27, 2013

we had gone to Shillong to attend a conference and also wanted to spend some time together with my husband and so we chose this hotel.The location is very convenient in that it is near the polo bazar as well as the golf link and the main market area and also cabs were available anytime .the overall look of the hotel is stylish,both from the outside and inside; the rooms are cozy and comfortable but a little noisy at night as the hotel is just near the main road;Overall,it was a good stay and the staffs were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: the room which has a view of the polo ground side is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianiessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your note complimenting our services and facilities is highly motivating.

We are happy to inform you that we have recently opened a spa called “Zen spa”- To clear your mind and escape from the stresses of daily life and arrive to a safe haven where all that matters is you. Take a relaxing journey with us at Zen spa and leave feeling renewed. Hotel Polo Towers is the only hotel in Shillong that has a spa.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Polo Towers in the near future.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 277 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not 4 star as they claim. It is even not 1 star. If you want to eat something in dinner, you better order at lunch time. Food will always be cold and tasteless. In buffet breakfast there will very few options with insufficient quantity.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtulGuptaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are extremely sorry to note that you did not have a great experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on "the Polo Towers Experience" and as such are very concerned when we see that a guest is not satisfied.

Sir, our rooms are airy, spacious and comfortable and exceed the size requirements laid out by the Department of Tourism, Government of India for 4 Star hotels.

As is true for any grooming city, even Shillong has gone through a large building boom and as such some structures have come up behind our hotel. However, most of our rooms feature panoramic vistas of the hills doting Shillong. We are also fortunate enough to be located very near to the lush screen Shillong GOLF COURSE. Which has been referred to as “The Glen Eagles of the East”.

You will be pleased to know that the hotel now has three restaurants- "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
"Sky Grill" Our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue,
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity, allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.
"Polo Irish Pub" is a newly opened pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to relax with friends or family after a long day at work.
Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

We would like to bring to your notice that our hotel has now opened a spa called “Zen spa”- Clear your mind and escape from the stresses of daily life and arrive to a safe haven where all that matters is you. Take a relaxing journey with us at Zen spa and leave feeling renewed. Hotel Polo Towers is the only hotel in Shillong that has a spa.

You will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication too.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Claim: Tapwater good to drink.
Offering: Dirty water mixed with mud. A LOT OF MUD!
Excuse: Water pipeline breakdown.
Absolutely no apologies or regrets from any staffworker.
Worst hotel stay EVER!
Shifted to Alpine Continental the very next day. Way cheaper and better in terms of room quality, service, hospitality, and especially, clean water.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aneeshmittal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

We use a multi stage De-ionisation plant to filter our water and our tap water is indeed potable. Unfortunately mechanical devices and machinery unexpectedly break down at times and we are afraid that something similar happened during your stay.

You would be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness too.

It would be our pleasure to make up for your poor experience. If you could send us your contact details to feedback@hotelpolotowers.com, a team member will get back to you.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity as it is our endeavour to provide you with our best service at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is decent value for Money...
Good Food... They also have a small discotheque/bar... which was quite "happening"
Responsive & Helpful Staff...
But since most of the rooms are road-facing.... the noise of the traffic, kind of disturbs your sleep.
Quite clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kushal-Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay at our hotel. We are highly grateful for your note complimenting our services and facilities. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all times.

As is true for any growing city, even Shillong has gone through a large building boom and as such some structures have come up behind our hotel. However, most of our rooms feature panoramic vistas of the hills dotting Shillong. We are also fortunate enough to be located very near to the lush green Shillong golf course which has been referred to as “The Glen Eagles of the East”.

We would like to bring to your notice that our disco club “Platinum” has now been replaced by "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to relax with friends or family after a long day at work.

You will be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication, service and cleanliness too.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed at hotel POLO TOWERS in December 2012 for 2 days and booked 2 premier rooms. the Lady at your reception was so rude and obnoxious.Her Behaviour was not at all of a hospitality industry. I will not recommend this hotel to any of my known people.spoiled our stay and holiday.Then we moved for 1 day at hotel Landmark. This was cheap and much better than Polo Towers.

Room Tip: go to hotel LANDMARK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prashant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations in terms of politeness especially since we pride ourselves on our famed "Shillong Hospitality".

You would be pleased to know that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on guest communication too.

We take Great pride in the services we offer and it is feedback from our guest, which assist us to strive for excellence.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to look after you.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived at the hotel directly from Guwahati airport having hired a cab there. I had made an advance booking & the check-in was smooth though the staff at the reception desk seemed standoffish.

Our suite was, as we had expected, very spacious with all the amenities that were mentioned on their website being present. The room was fully carpeted, well-furnished & well kept. The French windows offered a dreamy, romantic view particularly during the rains.

The complimentary breakfast buffet had a limited menu. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the South Indian fare in their restaurant 'Ginger' was quite good.

While the room service is very slow, house-keeping services are exemplary.

There is a market next to the hotel. A steep uphill walk, that one can take when not exhausted, takes you to the popular shopping centre Police Bazaar. The vast golf course in the vicinity provided for leisure activity for my colleagues & I.

Despite the scenic location of the hotel, I wouldn't recommend venturing out alone after dark as the neighbourhood takes a shady turn with a lot of speeding cars & cars parked outside with seeming anti-social elements inside.

In all, a congenial accommodation.

Room Tip: When booking, specifically ask for a room with a good view, as there are rooms available with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrideviHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Strong and positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating to the whole team in order to provide you with the best services at all times. We are grateful for your note complimenting our services and facilities.

You will be pleased to know that our breakfast buffet is now the largest in the state featuring a range of breads, North Indian main course, South India main course, Continental main course, live eggs to order, a range of breakfast muffins, selection of fresh fruits, selection of cereals, cold coffee or lassi, sprouts, make your own sandwich counter, juices, selection of tea and coffee, etc. It will definitely be a great start to an adventurous or busy day.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel now has three restaurants-"Sky Grill" our open air barbeque terrace, which is Shillong's only Al Fresco dinning venue, "Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the three restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity, allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.

The hotel has also opened "Polo Irish Pub" a pub cum sports bar which is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to hangout out with friends or family after a long day at work.

Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Polo Towers in the near future.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having gone to visit Shillong and Cherrapunjee from Nepal we liked both the hotel and resort we stayed in. The hotel also had a full fledged business centre and multiple dining options which is rare in Shillong. Sky grill was impressive and the kebabs were succulent. Top choice in Shillong.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rthapaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Polo_Towers, Guest Services at Hotel Polo Towers, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review Hotel Polo Towers-Shillong`s finest hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience at Hotel Polo Towers as well as Polo Orchid Resort.

We appreciate the compliments for the service provided to you by our hotel. Your feedback has been communicated to the entire team. Positive feedback from our guest is always highly motivating.

We are happy to inform you that our hotel has two other restaurants-"Ginger" Our multi cuisine restaurant which is famous for its sizzlers and baked fish.
“Milano”- Our Italian restaurant which is Meghalaya's first Sicily inspired Italian 'Ristorante', which brings the charm of Italy to Meghalaya. The sizes of the two restaurants are covenant to their exclusivity, allowing staff to create intimate feel for the diners.
We have also opened a new pub "Polo Irish Pub" which is a newly opened pub cum sports bar. It is the first pub in Shillong. It is unique in the fact that it marries Shillong's love for international music with an authentic "wee" pub atmosphere, with delicious nick nacks, numerous alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks and it’s the only place in town where a BEER TOWER is served. On Mondays it gives an opportunity to young, fresh as well as established artist to showcase their talent, where there is an open platform for singers and bands. It is definitely a place to relax with friends or family after a long day at work.
Our hotel also has a “Cup cake factory” presenting a wide range of flavours and cupcakes that leave you nibbling the last morsel. The Cupcake Factory is open till midnight for those who love to pamper their sweet tooth after dinner.

You would be pleased to know that our hotel has now opened a spa called “Zen spa”- Clear your mind and escape from the stresses of daily life and arrive to a safe haven where all that matters is you. Take a relaxing journey with us at Zen spa and leave feeling renewed. Hotel Polo Towers is the only hotel in Shillong that has a spa.

It is due to guests like you that we have been awarded the World Travel Brands Award for "Leading Luxury Hotel Chain in Eastern India" and this reflects our standards on cleanliness and guest communication too.

We do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again and it will be our endeavour to provide you with our best services at all time.

Thank You,
Warm Regards,
Guest Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
5.8 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
285 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#8 of 20 in Shillong
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polo Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polo Towers

Address: Polo Grounds, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $79 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Polo Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly, a Shillong icon, this hotel is conveniently located on the Oakland road in the centre of Shillong, Hotel Polo Towers, Shillong provides easy access to both tourist and business spots. The best hotel in Shillong offers a large variety of flexible conference and event space. Our Polo Room exclusive venue space is ideal for intimate parties and enchanting celebrations. Enlist our staff to help plan your next event. Feel welcomed with our signature Shillong Hospitality, enjoy a convenient location, close to Shillong's famous golf course, the acclaimed Don Bosco Museum and other Shillong Must Do's. Feel at home in your guest room with our MaxRest beds and stay connected with WiFi. Upgrade to our Presidential Suite to make life even 'Suiter' ! Discover a range of dining options at the hotel. Dine at our specialty restaurant Shillong - Milano, serving Sicilian inspired cuisine. CupCake Factory offers comfort food such as lovely cupcakes, muffins and gourmet coffee in Shillong. Sample a range of drinks and delicious tapas at Polo Irish Pub, Shillong's best Pub and Bar. Work out in our well-equipped Health Studio or eat healthy at Sky Grill - our spectacular terrace barbeque. Visit the famous Living Rooth Bridge at Cherrapunjee from the best Resort in Cherrapunjee - Polo Orhcid Resort. Local attractions such as Wards Lake, Elephant Falls and and Shillong Peak are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Polo Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing