We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another worn out former 5 star hotel”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The saddest part about this hotel is seeing what it could be if renovated and run properly. I had the best room in the hotel and while it was huge, it was musty and rundown. The bed was uncomfortable and being next to a road, it was noisy. I could only get wifi in the lobby, which was dark and uninviting. Food was average. Only good thing is that its walking distance from downtown Shillong and a beautiful park.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 203 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

STAY AWAY - The worst possible place to put up in shillong. Especially if you are holidaying with family.

So much to the name of this hotel in shillong, the nightmare started from the point of check in. A very GROSSLY Courteous Mr. Dhar, the guy managing the reception greeted us in a tone which actually said, he is either had a tiff with his wifey last night or he didnt like us the way we looked. We were made wait for another 15 minutes before the check in procedure was completed and we were directed to our room. When enquired at the reception if it was possible to extend our stay there, Mr. DHAR in his lovely tone replied, no we got to get lost from there soon.

The moment we entered the room , we could see a lovely room from the victorian era. with a lot of broken wood and pieces and a very dirty and torn carpet. The room itself managing to hold itself together somehow. Rooms are totally soundproof ONLY if u whisper. We could hear the guys in the rooms adjacent making conversations and i am sure they heard ours as well. Ordering food is an ordeal you have to go through., as nothing from the menu is available to order. we managed to order somethin eventually which was served to us in an hour's time.
The nightmare continues.....
I enquired if they have wifi in the hotel, i was told no wifi and LO!..abracadabra!!...wifi shows up on my laptop. I called up for password and no it cant be given to u over the phone. Its a 512 bit encrypted wifi network meant for the white house and president Barack Obama. I was told to bring in my laptop to the reception so that the password can be entered by the lovely guy at the reception. Eventually he writes it on a piece of paper and gives it to me and no surprises , internet doesnt work !!!....LOL

Goodnights sleep ....
Tucked into the lovely beds i experienced the alaskan winter in shillong, freezing myself out. ohhhh cuz u cant possibly put an air conditioner into these lovely victorian era rooms. Still it remains to be a three star property....that's an amazing achievement.

Go for it my fellow travellers...enjoy ur trip to shillong ...Yess!!! with PINEWOOD HOTEL !!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pogo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

shillong is the palce to be its amazing and really romantic...the hotel is also great with great food nd right next to the market...

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adityajain86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

It was amazing trip & the location of the hotel is 1 km away from the city, Locality of the hotel is perfect it was surrounded with greenary and there is a park with lake in front of the hotel.If you want enjoy the stay in Shillong i think pinewood is the perfect location. Best part of the hotel was Bonfire in the room which is very unique and different & the worst part is few staff of the hotel they dont know what is customer service.

Regards

Mj

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WASIM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Stay elsewhere. Its a shabby place. Run down and run by really rude and untrained people. Rooms are dirty, food is inedible, there are no business services to speak of, cabs arent available and atleast on the day I was staying they didnt have backup power.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
2  Thank urbantraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

i reached Shillong on 18th december and checked in the hotel Pinewood hotel,Shillong.I loved the location of the hotel as it was just 2 kms away from the police bajar area yet the ambiance is so peaceful.The structure of the hotel is great but maintenance is not up to mark and food is also not the worth they charge.Attitude of the staff is also lackluster specially in the reception.I found the gym of this hotel to be in good standard. One should visit this hotel for its great structure only.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jyoti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Positives-

The Landscaping of the hotel , food (continental and indian ) and the victorian ambiance was awesome.
We Could Play billiards , surf the net .
Rooms were very big with fireplaces .
Huge bathrooms.
The dining hall was excellently laid out.
The dinners were pleasant experience . With fireplaces and good service .
The lush green surrounding was a treat to watch.
And a peaceful and serene surroundings.

Negatives-

Salon and gym were closed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PinakiSengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 24 in Shillong
285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#11 of 24 in Shillong
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#14 of 24 in Shillong
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 24 in Shillong
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Rita Road | European Ward, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $131 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing