We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden memories of old time...”
Review of Pinewood Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinewood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Reviewed January 13, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for 2 days..very good location..quiet..beautiful place. i sunk deep in the memories of old time by seeing this hotel, very charismatic. nice rooms..comfortable stay...ok foods..good service.. i love the place shilong and now my love to shilong also attached with this hotel. i too agree with other traveller regarding maintenance..hotel management should take little care about this heritage property..if they do so..then this hotel wil b the gem among others..can recommend for any kind of traveller...

Room Tip: front facings are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lalbahadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 203 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

Once one enters the Hotel premises beside the Ward lake one'll feel that one have just entered into a Bungalow of the British era. We stayed at a room in the left wing of the Hotel. The room was spacious, reasonably well maintained & clean. The best part which we liked (especially my daughter of 9yrs) that the room has a fireplace. The hotel attendants used to make fire to keep the room warm at night.

Service is reasonably good considering the fact that it is a Govt. ran hotel However, the dining room shows ageing in all its walls & furniture. A revamp is urgently required. Food had been pretty good, especially the continental dishes though the menu was limited & some of the dishes appearing in the menu wasn't available.

This Hotel has ample car parking space

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arunabha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited Shillong Dec '12 first week after a very long time of 33 yrs and loved staying at this very old heritage place, all it was recapturing our good old times.

Rooms are spacious and quiet though it is close to the town and best location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seline_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for work in late Sept 2012, and this is a good hotel for work or personal travel. During my earlier trip in April 2012, i stayed at another hotel that was reasonable, but very noisy. Pinewood Hotel is quiet and feels like it's far from the town. The room was good size, clean, and comfortable bed with decent bathroom. Unfortunately the hot water wasn't working in my room. The walls are paper thin, so i could hear neighbors on both sizes talking and moving around their rooms. Food in the restaurant at night and in the breakfast cafe in the morning was good-- nice selection, fair quality for the price. The hotel said it had wifi, but the signal was so weak in my room that it didn't work. I'd stay here again--- it tops the other hotel i tried in April. But the Pinewood has more potential, if some of these issues could be resolved.

Room Tip: i was in one of the rooms down the stairs in the row of bungalows. staying a bit closer to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in hotel pinewood , may be , a fourth time , in last few years-- recent being on 13-14 Sep 2012.I opted for the the room in front of the hotel.a very spacious room with enclosed dressing room and attached bathrooms .Living room and bedroom are almost together.Reasonably furnished. I got a well maintained room.Room service was very prompt. Quality of food can always be improved. There is an impressive hall for organising conference for about 100 delegates with Theatre Style .An excellent view with a very spacious open ground for a pleasure walking & jogging.Staff appears to be responsive & courteous.The hotel may be little away from the main market.I may continue to stay there on my official visits

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

One of the best locations in Shillong. Slowly deterioting. If only they could seek inspiration from hotels like Imperial Delhi, Metropole Mysore and similar and restore the hotel to its desirable standards it would attract discretionary leisure travel of the highest order.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank premsubramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The hotel is situated in a very lovely place away from the traffic. The key highlights are:
1. Heritage property
2. Great open space all around with lovely flowers
3. Only the chineese food seemed right
4. Rooms are not well maintained.
5. You have to ask for a vehicle at the reception if you don't have one. You will not get it outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhuban2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.1 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 24 in Shillong
508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 24 in Shillong
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 24 in Shillong
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#14 of 24 in Shillong
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 24 in Shillong
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Hotel

Address: Rita Road | European Ward, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Shillong
Price Range: $131 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Pinewood Hotel Shillong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing