We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Habitat Shillong
Ranked #1 of 79 Shillong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A good guest house service is very good and have a small library . Every one is on there service. good rooms and good place to sit and chat it is very designable. Every thing is very good.
A house keeper name Digonto always on service very good hostility we enjoy the trip for him

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    51
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
38
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We did not exspect much with regard to our accommodation in Shillong, but what a surprise when we entered the Asian Confluence! This guesthouse is really exquisite in any respect - the ambiente of the rooms (we got the suite with two rooms for a group of three), the service, the food (breakfast and dinner) cleanness and hospitality in general and the whole environment with garden, library etc. - everything is excellent. We stayed there three nights and we felt very much at home in this wonderful atmosphere. Thanks to the staff and to the director Mr. Sabya Dutta!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiltrudarcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A small boutique hotel - with 12 nice rooms. The staff go the extra mile to provide any extra furniture you want in the room. Nice space in which lounge and have coffee or a chat. Nice library with some rare books as well - and you can use the library for your business meetings. The terrace on the first floor is a nice place to sit in during winter days. WIFI is free and functional (unlike some of the other hotels in Shillong)Food is very good, with lunch and dinner cooked after consulting the guest. Breakfast is decent, not a lavish spread. The staff always available for anything you might want. When I was there there were two nice events where a book reading and photo narrative of Himalayan region were there - and the guests are invited. The family that own the property are always there looking after guest comfort and the smiling staff always willing to help. In a long long time I have not seen such service in a hotel. An the room rental was less than 50$!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at the Asian Confluence for five nights in early December 2013. A few things stand out. The staff are friendly and exceptionally attentive, always going to the extra mile to make guests feel comfortable. Unlike the majority of hotels in India, the food has a genuine home cooked feel, and is served at a large dinner table so that guests can interact. The quality of the food is exceptional, and the "set menu" varies every day. A cosy library, decorated with beautiful drawings and carpets, provides space for relaxation with friends. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. All in all, a real hidden gem. Will definately be back.

Room Tip: If you travel in wintertime, ask for a room with lots of sunlight. The sun heats the room very quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NigelBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Asian Confluence is as much a concept as it is a boutique hotel. The rooms, the decor, the service, the cleanliness are exceptional. So are the cultural evenings that it frequently organizes, making it quite the socio-cultural hub of Shillong. The place boasts an inviting, though small library-cum-reading room, and a hall with a seating capacity of over sixty.Tucked away in a quiet corner of a pulsating market, Asian Confluence is just a few minutes walk from some lovely cafes and coffee shops. So if one is looking for an experience, for an oasis of quality and culture in the middle of a burgeoning Indian hill town, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KishoreThukral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It was an incredible experience...compact and comfortable. The decor inside and outside is amazing, combining old world beauty with modern day comfort. The team that runs the guesthouse is warm and welcoming. The programmes are top quality, combining cultural, intellectual and political. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Enakshi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice and cosy guesthouse. Clean rooms with amenities inside that are close to a 4-star hotel. Not sure how competitive is price as I haven't compared with other guesthouses. Very nice and friendly lady manager that makes you feel like home. The small outside area is nicely filled with flowers. Wi-fi worked, but with few glitches.

Given that it's a guesthouse and not a full-fledged hotel, the breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at specific time, which can be quite late if you are an early bird (for example, dinner is served at 21.00 at the earliest). However, the fact that they still can offer lunch and dinner on pre-order basis despite being in B&B (guesthouse) category is commendable.

Definitely will be my choice if I come again to Shillong.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.6 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Habitat Shillong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Habitat Shillong

Property: The Habitat Shillong
Address: Lady Veronica Lane | Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India (Formerly Asian Confluence)
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Habitat Shillong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Habitat Shillong is a Boutique Guest House in Shillong,the cultural capital of the North East region of India. It is part of a larger tourism driven initiative aimed at building people to people bridges between India and the South Asian Countries at a cultural and educational level and therefore aims to give visitors an unique perspective of the region, its people, its history, its geography and the promise it holds for the future : Located in the heart of the city near the Cathedral and the Don Bosco Center, It offers cozy accomodation and homestyle food, state of the art hospitality, and caters to the needs to the discerning traveller. In interest of upkeep of the unique boutique furnishing and antique furniture in the rooms, we do not offer room service but there are many lobbies and lounges where you can enjoy the warmth of our hospitality. A real hidden gem. Cafes and public transport are a few minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing