We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Habitat Shillong
Ranked #2 of 81 Shillong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great rooms: ambience, cleanliness, great food, great service. But more than anything was the friendliness of the staff. Professional, un-obstrusive, yet very warm and very friendly and helpful. The front office helped me with all travel arrangements for sightseeing

Room Tip: try the corner rooms with two windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMANG631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 168 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great rooms, ambience and service and wholesome breakfast. But the best part were the pre fixed platter meals.. They were elegantly and tastefully laid out , healthy and above all tasted great. Simple , yet the Chutneys and curries and flavours I have not tasted before... The Asian Confluence is not a hotel, and so mind you these lunch and dinner platters have to be requested at least a few hours ahead. If you ask them for anything outside these pre fixed menus, they try to oblige by getting them from outside. But nothing to beat their own menus.. ... a must try...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallavi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel , beautiful rooms but stay away
The hotel is in a residential area and was slightly difficult to find. We had called in advance that we will be checking in late and had requested for the meals to be prepared. Well, do not and i mean do not have food in this hotel.We were told they had thali system with ten items.We had requested for soup and momos and were told they would be charged extra which was fine. However , when we reached the soup was the packet knorr soup and momos were inedible. Then the food came and it was stone cold and the rice was undercooked . When we asked for chappatis we were told there were none , however the only good thing abt this hotel , the manager Jeremy, was very helpful and arranged for chappatis for us . we requested for the food to be heated but i think it was put in the microwave for 10 seconds becoz when it came out it was still cold. After a totally unsatisfactory and over priced meal we returned to our room . We wanted to have a shower and retire for the night. Alas!!! that was not to be ...there was hardly any water in the rooms on 2nd floor, we had one room on 1st floor also , which dint have water issues.
Again we called Jeremy who sent someone for checking but that person was clueless abt how to solve the issue.

Next day morning we had to checkout at 7.00 so we requested Jeremy for an early breakfast. He said he would be able to arrange basic bread butter milk cornflakes and tea coffee for us . But when we got down at 7.30 am for breakfast the new manager on duty had no information abt it and nothing was ready . We waited for more than half hr for bread butter and tea to come out and it was not even properly laid out, there was no cutlery. By the time it was 8 am , the time the breakfast is actually served and even by then there was nothing to eat. so it was totally disorganized and unprofessional
The only helpful person was the night manager on duty Jeremy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MentorShillong, Owner at The Habitat Shillong, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest:
Sorry to know about your experience. Please do note that the Asian Confluence does not have a full fledged restaurant. We only offer fixed menu platters on pre order and complimentary breakfast which are very popular with our guests. In spite of it being very late in a winter night our manager tried go out of his way to accomodate your special meal requests, by arranging something from outside... We are sorry it did not meet your expectations
As regards the meek water flow in bathrooms on the second floor, it might have been a temporary problem due to ongoing maintanence work
We do take the feedback of our guests very seriously ,and we value your inputs to help us get even better.. We will definitely review all issues in that light .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tastefully laid out and excellently maintained, the Asian Confluence guest house provides the perfect base for a visit to Shillong. The rooms are quite comfortable, with all necessary amenities - water heater, electric kettle, TV, free w-fi, etc. - that are kept in perfect working order. The staff is polite and helpful but unobtrusive, and they keep the place immaculately clean. Downstairs is the dining room and an attractive area for meetings - or meditation. Located near Laitumkhra bazar, the place is easy to find and minutes from shops.The staff can help you get a taxi for a trip to Cherapunjee, Mawlynnong ("Asia's cleanest village") and other nearby attractions.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The star of this place, the host Shabari is what makes staying at Asian Confluence so nice. Even before we checked into the hotel, she was helping us with our travel plans and whom we should talk to for some work that we had. She is a warm host, energetic, helpful and interesting ! It is a very new property so it's a nice feel. The rooms were a good size and a heater was specially brought in for us. But ultimately, its the service that leaves you with a smile and the experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Articulately designed with a touch of the Raj and contemporary India. The enviable paradise located in the Scotland of the East, Shillong, easily accessible by road and air. Warm hospitality and memorable experience .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kar S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was like a home away from home....luxury of a hotel and warmth of a home....that was my experience here...true value for money ...convenient location......very tastefully done....a must stay .......not to forget..good service!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good...if u are more than 2 then check out the suite rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.6 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#8 of 20 in Shillong
77 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Habitat Shillong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Habitat Shillong

Address: Lady Veronica Lane | Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India (Formerly Asian Confluence)
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: $53 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Habitat Shillong 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Habitat Shillong is a Boutique Guest House in Shillong,the cultural capital of the North East region of India. It is part of a larger tourism driven initiative aimed at building people to people bridges between India and the South Asian Countries at a cultural and educational level and therefore aims to give visitors an unique perspective of the region, its people, its history, its geography and the promise it holds for the future : Located in the heart of the city near the Cathedral and the Don Bosco Center, It offers cozy accomodation and homestyle food, state of the art hospitality, and caters to the needs to the discerning traveller. In interest of upkeep of the unique boutique furnishing and antique furniture in the rooms, we do not offer room service but there are many lobbies and lounges where you can enjoy the warmth of our hospitality. A real hidden gem. Cafes and public transport are a few minutes walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing