We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay in shillong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 82 Shillong B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is place is a very beautiful Assam type house renovated into a nice and cozy guest house , there are about 3 very clean and well appointed rooms, rooms are at par any 3 star hotel. it also has a kitchenette for guest to cook for themselves if they want otherwise they only serve breakfast for other meals they get packed food from nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: the room facing the front is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SOSOURAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 111 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

We visited Shillong in May 2013 and stayed at Cafe Shillong. Its a beautiful guest house at a quiet locality with few rooms to rent out. The suite was big and spacious with a sitting are. The bathroom was equipped and very clean. The room too was extremely clean and tidy. The place has a small garden where you can enjoy your morning tea or wine in the evening.
There is a small dining area where they serve meals. We had breakfast and the food quality was good. The buffet for breakfast had variety(not too lavish) and were served good tea/coffee.
The staff is limited and they take their time to do things, but very polite and helpful.
We just loved our stay there and our day trip to cherapunji.

Room Tip: If travelling with family opt for the suite as its spacious with separate sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vandy2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had a marvellous week's stay at the Cafe Shillong B&B. This is a charming little cottage, with hospitality that makes you feel like you are a house guest in someone's hill home. My room was flooded with sunlight in the morning; and when it rained at night, the sound of the raindrops on the tin roof was lovely!

The cottage is very conveniently located. It's a 5 minute walk from the Raj Bhavan, and another 5 minutes to Ward's Lake, a lovely place for a walk. Just a few minutes drive to the Police Bazar - the high street of Shillong.

The highlights: real wooden parquet flooring, furnished quite substantially by Fabindia, comfortable bed, electric heaters (should you need them), a clean and modern bathroom, LCD satellite TV, and excellent wi-fi. Who could ask for more? A special mention must be made of the caretaker Ratneshwar who is extremely helpful and hospitable,

The breakfast was quite good especially for those who like a hot cooked Indian meal. Dinner was easy to order in - though Cafe Shillong could expand their dinner options for vegetarians. The B&B should also consider investing in an inverter to obviate the the city's scheduled two hour power cut every morning. The quality of toiletries is also not in keeping with the overall quality of the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AcademicDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Pros - Wooden floor, thick blankets, clean linen, excellent breakfast
Cons - Thin walls between rooms, hard to locate the place

It's a wonderful option if you are aware of the limitations and are not too bothered about them.
I stayed in the luxury room and found it be fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshuaMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The service was excellent the time we reached the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble with the kind of service!

First of all, I would like to thank the Manger "Mr Ratneswar" with so much hospitality and friendly attitude from the very beginning. I stayed there for 3 days and it made me so exciting that I can say a "Home away Home"..

Here are some key points why I would recommend this hotel -

1. It's a small hotel with few rooms, though the construction was going on and probably they will have some more rooms in coming future.
2. Location is just awesome - not in contested City Center Shillong. It's around 10-12 minutes drive from City Center in Upper Lachumiere. So close to nature.
3. Rooms are clean and well maintained with all modern amenities - Room Hearters, LED TV, Gyzer, Mini Refrigerator, (Aqua Guard, Micro Ovenin Dinning room)
4. big led tv with tata sky connection
5. Free WiFi in the room (moderate bandwidth)
6. Nice dining area where you can have your complimentary breakfast and also use that with take away food from other restaurants.
7. Complimentary breakfast with varieties of dishes - bread, butter, jam, aloo paratha, paratha, chana, powah, milk, cornflakes, boiled egg, fruit juices
8. Nice lawn
9. 12-15 minutes walking distance to Police Bazar
10. You can order Chinese food through phone and the food gets delivered in 30-45 minutes
11. Very beautiful reception where you can have some good time as well

The only drawback I see is to get a good Indian Restaurant nearby. You have to walk on the hilly road for 12-15 minutes to get into Police Bazar to have Indian restaurant.
Though there are Domino's Pizza/KFC but online ordering for some reason doesn't work throughout Shillong. But you have always option to order Chinese dishes/burger from phone and get it delivered.

Few Notes -
KFC in Police Bazar - Center Point
Domino's Pizza is Police Bazar (Thane Road) just 3 minutes walking distance from Center Point

Location Landmark - If driver is unable to locate "Cafe Shillong B&B", try to go at "Directors Associate" and the hotel is just a stone throw away distance from there.

I highly recommend this hotel for a pleasant and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Two Types of Room - Deluxe and Luxary. Both rooms are good - value for money. Deluxe Room size is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for a single night on our trip around NE India. The rooms where very comfortable, clean, and spacious. I would welcome some mosquito plug in the room, one of these small bastards woke me up in the night. On the other hand I really appreciated the electric heater, as the night was really cold. I can recommend staying in this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tiefling-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is my first experience of staying in B&B, which is amazingly good. I appreciate the reviews on Tripadvisor which made me select this property. The care taker of this property is very nice, helpful and friendly. He did his best to make our stay comfortable.
There are 2 luxury rooms, 1 standard & 1 suite. We stayed here for 5 days. First 4 days we were in luxury room which definitely is the best room of this property. The room was very big, well decorated, loaded with all the facilities & comforts. Last day we were in the suite, though expensive but not as good & comfortable as luxury room. The best part of our stay was that every day we had our breakfast in garden area under the bright sun as it was winter time.
The only drawback of this accommodation is it doesn’t have a restaurant, so even on a cold winter night you have to go outside for a dinner. Or care taker can bring food (that too only Chinese) from their restaurant which is quite far from the B&B.

Room Tip: Choose the corner luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.7 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 21 in Shillong
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#3 of 21 in Shillong
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#9 of 21 in Shillong
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Habitat Shillong
The Habitat Shillong
#2 of 82 in Shillong
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pear Tree
The Pear Tree
#4 of 82 in Shillong
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 31 Upper Lachumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range: $57 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast provides a cosy and comfortable stay at this boutique well furnished 70+ years old bunglow in Shillong. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing