We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel !!”
Review of Hotel Rainbow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rainbow
Ranked #14 of 79 Shillong B&B and Inns
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel !!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is located in Shillong market area which makes it easily accessible. The ambiance and the rooms are very good at the rate they offer. We had taken a room on triple sharing basis and it was quite spacious for three of us to accommodate. Room has TV and good cable connection as well. There is only one fan in the whole room near bed which sometimes becomes annoying. Also there is no window in the room for proper ventilation. Best part is running hot water and electricity all the time. Hotel and rooms are exactly the same they have shown on their site. So you can check out the photos there directly.
We found the hotel receptionist a bit arrogant and not helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pree_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The best part of this hotel is its location. It is located in the Police Bazar, good market ad surrounded by good eating place ( Bread Cafe and Barbeque). The rooms are clean and has enough space. Bathroom is also clean and big. 24 hrs hot water. Bed are clean and soft. Staff was very cooperative and well behaved. I would advice them if they could cover their blankets so that they easy to clean and feel good.

Room Tip: Rooms which have window are comparatively cooler as compared to rooms without windows which are cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oaks730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel has an excellent room service, well behaved staff, nice rooms to stay for 2-3 people together, very good decorations so that you will love to stay here. Rooms are quite spacious and are associated with all essential amenities. Bathrooms are good too. Beds are too good to sleep. I wish all the best for this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms beside reception are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12AMRITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It offers beuatiful ambience and bful rooms
but
when in shillong u will have difficulty finding goood north indian /sout indian food, what u get is dishes made with chines/north eastern flavour.
Thus food in shillong for a north indian will be diffiuclt to get, apart from this , rooms are clean with good ambience at reasonable prices

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sangrur, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its a nice affordable place to stay. They really have what they show on internet. You just call them and they will cater to your needs. Most important thing is that they offer you flat rates and you dont need to bargain.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SahilGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was one of the best hotel we stayed in India. Very small, family owned hotel. Excellent roomservice, clean and very local in the center of Shillong. The owner is so friendly and helps you out everytime. We stayed 2 weeks in the nice awesome Hotel.

Kann es wirklich nur weiterempfehlen!!! Sehr sauber und super freundliches Personal.

Best wishes from Germany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataschatepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

It is a budget hotel located at market place. Apprroach of Reception staff are good and co-operative in nature. But room rom services are not very good.
Room cleanliness and maintenance has to be improved

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkssundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shillong
0.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 20 in Shillong
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
479 reviews
24.8 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#16 of 79 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rainbow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rainbow

Property: Hotel Rainbow
Address: GS Road,, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in the heart of the city at GS road, which is popular among tourist for shopping and there are excellent restaurants over here as well. The hotel has rooms that can accommodate guest on a single, twin, triple or quad sharing basis. The rooms are very well furnished and gives the guest a feeling like it’s their own house. The hotel is fairly new and has started operations in the year 2006; however we have experience in the hospitality industry for more than 30 years.At the hotel you will find the service provided to you very efficient, professional and most important is that ever one has a warm smile on their faces. The staff working at our hotel comes from multicultural backgrounds. Languages such as English, Hindi, Khasi, Bengali, Assamese, Tamil, Oriya, Malayalam, Telegu, Kannada, Nepali and some regional languages as well are well versed among the hotel Staff. So where ever you come from you would always have someone here who would make you feel that this hotel is truly like a Rainbow. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing