We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok. not more than that.”
Review of Hotel Yalana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Yalana
Ranked #12 of 76 Shillong B&B and Inns
kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok. not more than that.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room was quite big and clean. Toilet was clean. Food was too much spicy and not up to the mark. Room service was just ok. I think the rate is in higher side. Over all it was ok, nothing more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supriyosaha1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
23
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sylhet City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

as a low budget hotel we found this hotel best, coz its clean, bathrooms r tidy, in a good location so we prefer this hotel everytime. However, the room service and reception should be more friendly and smart otherwise its very worthy choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ruhelsylhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I always prefer to stay Yalana Hotel. It is located in a good location with a good restaurant. The rooms are very clean comparatively then other budget hotels in Shillong. Room service is excellent. Hotel staffs are very co-operative. 100% satisfaction against the tariff you pay. There is a sufficient parking facility in this hotel comparatively than other three star hotels in Shillong. I always advise my friends to stay in this hotel. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biswajit_2001in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we were five people traveling and stayed at the hotel. I was given a single room, rooms are spacious, bathroom was clean, the tv was working, so what to complain!

The hotel is a little far from the Police Bazar, which is the centre of Shillong. taxis are available. There are also a few buses running but we could not figure out which route they run on.

The food was OK. Service at the restaurant is very slow, and does not open untill 8.30 in the morning, which can be a problem for the tourist who want to hit the road as early as possible to use maximum daylight and maximum of their stay in Shillong.

The price of the rooms were reasonable as we found compared to other hotels located at Police Bazar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bd7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I generally visit for business purposes and I found this hotel pretty good compared to rest of the hotels in shillong, where I have stayed. The rooms are very neat and clean. I stayed in the delux bedroom and it was quite spacious and well furnished. Room service is decent. The only problem is the location. Incase you want to go around for a window shopping, there aint much of option you have. You have to take cabs to Police Bazar, the cabs are very cheap but once its around 8 PM , you wont find any cabs from Police Bazar to that area ( Laitumukhrah). But if you are goin for a family trip, and hire a car for a day, you should not have any problem. thumbs up for this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms near the counter should be preferred as its a big hotel and you may need to climb and walk inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mirza85007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This basic hotel is located near the Donbosco Cathedral and few KM away from the center (Police Bazaar). However, shared cheap cabs can be taken from the road below to take you to police bazaar. The rooms are good size, minimally furnished but neat. Bathroom are fine. Rear side rooms get a fairly OK hill view over the town. Food is reasonably good though the waiting time is long. Do not expect a morning tea as the kitchen/restaurant opens between 8am - 8pm only. It is hard to find any staff member at night. I decided to go for a morning walk but the main door was locked and there was no staff member to guide/help. Got no response on phone as the reception was unattended. Was lucky to find the other door to go out. Sleep quality was fine. Close to the Ward's Lake, cathedral and Sikh Temple. Value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VarinderDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed only one night, which was on arrival in Shillong around 9pm. Tired, after a long journey the hotel ambience was a pleasant experience.
Room was comfortable, clean and well laid out.To go with this..a decent bathroom..again, clean.Room service..prompt...food..no problem..though one has to keep in mind the rate I was paying..economical and good value for money. It was chilly that night..they had run out of room heaters ( and very ap0logetic about it), though the blanket/qulit was good enough to stay warm..and..clean..no smells! The hotel does charge Rs 150/night for the heater, which seems to be the norm these days.
Location is good...with coffee cafes in the vicinity and othe basic shopping needs. Might have stayed longer but for availbility of rooms..would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank voayger10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
272 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
142 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poinisuk
Hotel Poinisuk
#10 of 20 in Shillong
53 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#11 of 76 in Shillong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yalana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yalana

Property: Hotel Yalana
Address: Main Road, Laitumkhrah, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing