We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm”
Review of Aerodene Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aerodene Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A lovely colonial bungalow set back from the main road but right next to the Cathedral and Don Bosco square. The rooms are beautiful and some have private gardens. Its breakfast only so find Cafe Shillong for dinner. Rukma will guide you. Also, get Nanu to show you around, he is just so nice! We booked using OnTrip.In using PayPal and they have other unique accommodation suggestions.

Room Tip: The beds and duvets give the best nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jamieravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

This cottage takes you right back to an Enid Blyton novel-like atmosphere.. Wooden flooring, clean toilets, cosy beds and an impeccably styled fireplace at the dining room gives you a totally different experience than most other hotels. Located at Dhanketi Shillong, away from the bustle of the city traffic you must choose this hotel if you want to spend a holiday of leisure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saikatalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Aerodene, is a privately owned, traditionally styled cottage located in the heart of Shillong. 4 of us (along with an infant) had stayed here in May’11 for 2 nights.

It’s a small, restored old home with 5 rooms, each named after a flower. Though the rooms are not too spacious, it definitely scores brownie points on cleanliness and comfort. On our arrival, the room was already made up, fresh linens were spread & toiletries replenished. The room has chairs, tea-coffee maker, cookies, almira, twin bed & a TV. It also has an open terrace with flower pots inside the cottage at the end of the corridor where 5-6 people can comfortable sit. The corridor has a small library from where u may borrow books & read.

Adjacent to the cottage is a garden space, abundant with flora. There is a small place where bon fire is lit during winters.

Breakfast is included in the package. If you prefer to have your meals in the cottage, it will have to be informed in advance. There is a common dining area with a lovely fireplace. The Kitchen can be seen from the dining table. Though you may not find a wide variety of food, the preparation was well made and homely. The attendants personally take care of serving the food on to your plate, right till you finish. It was a touching gesture which I have not come across anywhere so far. The staffs were kind enough to voluntarily take care of our couple friend’s toddler so that all 4 of us could enjoy our dinner peacefully.

Thanks to co-owners- Rukma & Sharlene for making us feel right at home with their unparalleled hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShwetAditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We entered Shillong late in the evening, and had to make way through a lot of city traffic until we reached Aerodene. Once there it was magnificent...we over all loved our stay, though our room was a bit cramped, but the warmth from the host, interiors and the cleanliness made up for ii all. Rukma was very warm and welcoming. She also appointed us a wonderful local guide who took us around town and cherapungee.The food was well made and homely and since it was in the month of feb the time spent next to their cozy little fireplace at nights shall always remain etched in our memory. I would not mind recommending them..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shabbsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Aerodene is a nice and cosy place to stay right in the heart of Shillong. It is a no frills accomodation with nice facilities and good value for money. The rate is very reasonable for the amenities it has to offer. 'Cottage' would be a misnomer as in reality Aerodene is actually a big house converted into a resort. The Hosts are genial and non interfering people. They have good contacts with local taxi drivers and guides which helped us in our sightseeing. Food is also good and home-cooked as per our preferences, the only drawback being non-availability of South Indian options (which for us South Indians hurt a bit).

Overall, it's a nice and cosy place with good facilities and VFM. recommended especially for Honeymooners, Couples and Family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pavan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

After Cheera, honestly didnt immediately enjoyed Shillong...It was polluted & crowded.. But the moment you enter Aerodene cottage everything changes... it has an old world charm..beautiful property with cute garden and a stunning vintage parked in the garage.

The rooms are stunning and are named after a flower.. we stayed in the Lilium. It was a beautiful room with super comfortable bed.

The food is brilliant!!

What makes this place special are the finer details...electric pillows to keep your bed cozy, aroma candle to add the coziness to the room.

Sharlene is the perfect hostess.. she helped us to explore Shillong better.

Its a beautiful property!!! Rich in history and full of charm!!

Room Tip: Love The Lilium!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SupriyaJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Usually I prefer travelling to mountains in this part of the year with my family. Shillong was my first destination in this year's tour. I have taken a chance by booking Aerodene Cottage, simply going through their web site. There was not much information available of this place as it is placed slightly out of the hustle and bustle of city. I and my family were simply overwhelmed with the kind of hospitality they offered. Needless to say that I have travelled a lot and stayed in many hotels but this is simply exceptional.

Room Tip: Although they say it's a Standard Room but has got all amenities required to make it a deluxe on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subhadipKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
6.9 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 20 in Shillong
497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
1.1 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 20 in Shillong
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alpine Continental
Hotel Alpine Continental
#8 of 20 in Shillong
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highwinds, Guest House
Highwinds, Guest House
#3 of 41 in Shillong
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aerodene Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aerodene Cottage

Address: Lower Cleve Colony | Stoneylands, Shillong 793003, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Shillong
Price Range: $2,500 - $3,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As tourism picks up in Meghalaya, there is a huge demand for homestays in heritage buildings like Aerodene Cottage. Built in 1950 in the Assam style of architecture prevalent during the British Raj, the structure was designed keeping in mind the high rainfall in the region and low winter temperatures. Despite the challenge in maintaining such a building, this boutique guest house provides all the comforts of home, combined with modern amenities and top service, giving guests a taste of the old English cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing