We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms, lacklustre service”
Review of Orchid Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchid Lake Resort
Ranked #29 of 76 Shillong B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms, lacklustre service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in a Deluxe room for 2 nights in Apr'14. I would recommend Orchid Lake Resort.

Pros:
1. Excellent location, and great views (usually, this is true of government owned properties, and this is no exception)
2. Good rooms that take advantage of the location. Wooden flooring, french windows that afford a full view of the lake, a balcony etc. (this is significantly better than the norm for typical govt. owned properties, which are usually in a sorry and dilapidated state)

Cons:
1. Indifferent attitude of restaurant staff. Long delays in taking and delivering orders, and a general "I don't care attitude" especially of waiters
2, Food is average

This place has the potential to be much more...if the service becomes more enthusiastic and spirited

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    39
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
54
10
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Located close to Umiam lake Orchid is well located. It is away from the main city and this gives it an edge as the location is peaceful and pretty. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy with a balcony that has a beautiful view. There is a fireplace with a strategically fitted heater. The front office staff was friendly but the restaurant staff was bored and grumpy. We had to keep reminding them of our order and it took really long to get the food on the table. My husband literally walked down to the kitchen! Overall our stay here was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BShilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well, I was in the resort during holi this year and stayed for the weekend. I found it very proper and very personal, I was given the room number 117 and it had an awsome view (pictures added) but don't think other rooms will have that view as well. Staff was good, menu was average and I was provided proper bills to sign, every time I ordered something in the room. It helps you keep a track... restaurant was spacious both the floors...Rooms were good, proper cold and hot water and specially the room fare includes sealed shaving kit, toothbrush and toothpaste as well.
The pine trees and the serenity will make you want to stay one more day than you have planned. a must try.

Room Tip: Confirm about the view, I think very less rooms have a view from its balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shamim_Mokles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

The setting for this hotel is quite spectacular set amongst the tall pines on Umiam lake's shore. The food was generous and very tasty. The staff very friendly and helpful. Even the sauna came up to European standards with a cold shower awaiting in the next room...though I had to switch it on and warm it up myself. Unfortunately the room was in quite a bad state of repair and could do with a spruce up.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank homicidalhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location , good food. Just the place for unwinding and relax for 2 days. The activities at the lake are a big plus. Had fun with the kids. It is very near to Shillong ... 20 - 25 km takes max 45 mins to reach. We headed to Kaziranga National Park ( near Bagori) from here ... took around 5 hrs including lunch break.

Room Tip: Only the bathroom (room 3) has a leakage. Should opt for rooms 11 and 12 (front side) ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnabSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were offered the the executive room which overlooked the lake amidst some pine trees on the first floor. The room was lined and floored with different kinds of wood which gave it a very warm and cozy feel. The hotel had good room service and decent food which was served within reasonable time. We were provided with extra mink blankets which helped us combat the freezing temperatures. Hotel staff were very polite and was a huge improvement from the orchid which we stayed in Jowai. Also the boating sports complex was located 10 minutes away and so was the Nehru Park which was bustling with families with picnics and mini camp fires. It was located adjacent to the first hydro electric dam in the North East and had a magnificent view of the lake with the ripples in the water in the backdrop of the sun rays on the lake. My suggestion would be to include breakfast in the tariff as it way too pricey and allow guests to light the fireplace in the room otherwise everything was perfect

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The property belongs to MTDC, Govt of Meghalaya. You reach this place first, around 20KM before Shillong from Guwahati. It has a rustic n earthy, old world charm to it ! Its better than many of the state owned resorts, compared to other states of India.Staff are very friendly and are always helpful. Its perched right on the banks of Umiam Lake which is a visual treat to eyes. The calming expanse of one of the largest articial, man made fresh water lake in North East. They have a water sports complex which gives you boating facility. We couldnt enjoy it since it was a Bundh when we visited this place :-( They have nice and big cottages too for tourists to stay !

A must visit place if you like cool & peaceful environ and is worth every penny !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREEDYPIG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
7.2 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.1 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
272 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#5 of 20 in Shillong
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
142 reviews
7.2 mi away
Highwinds, Guest House
Highwinds, Guest House
#6 of 37 in Shillong
54 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#11 of 76 in Shillong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Lake Resort

Property: Orchid Lake Resort
Address: Umiam, Ri Bhoi District | Major District Road 32, Police Bazar, Shillong 793103, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Shillong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the very lap of nature at the Orchid Lake Resort. Situated at the banks of the tranquil Umium Lake, in the state of Megalaya (Abode of the clouds). Relax in the well appointed rooms and bask in the beautiful view of the lake away from the grind of daily city life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing