We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chetan - A great help at white orchid guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Orchid Guesthouse.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Orchid Guesthouse.
Ranked #7 of 74 Shillong B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chetan - A great help at white orchid guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

White Orchid Guest House is worth the money, Apt service.
Chetan was a great help throughout my stay at the guest house. He assigned comfortable rooms as per my request; Food, travel, miscellaneous was all taken care by him single handed. He also kept a constant check on my safety while I was travelling. Place is clean, tidy, spacious, good view, food is decent, hot water is available both at morning and night, closets are also available.
Toilets are clean. Taxi’s can be located easily and best of all a call can be made to Chetan and he'll arrange everything without any hassle. Chetan, thank you. I would not have had a pleasant and peaceful stay without your help.
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seema_Steffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    32
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
21
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stay at White Orchid was absolutely no nonsense and their tariff is totally justified..clean and spacious rooms,well maintained linen and bathrooms...any information or service you need,you get it in minutes.I cant say much about food that is available as we had linch and dinner at mi-casa and breakfast at madras cafe as we simply couldn't get enough of what they had to offer.

Mr.Chetan at White Orchid was very helpful and we owe him many many thanks for perfect arrangements right from the pick-up till dropping us back at Guwahati,everything was taken care of.Its far from the city madness which worked well for us.Would definitely recommend this guesthouse for people traveling with kids.

Room Tip: rooms in first floor where we stayed are very good.that only means I dont know how rooms in first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had gone to Shillong in the month of may with my wife for three days . A friend had recommended the guesthouse where he stays on a regular basis when in shillong . I found the place clean , the staff friendly and helpful . The toilets are very clean .

What was really special was the view of Shillong town from the rooftop . The sunset view from the roof was truly breathtaking , just wish i had a good camera with me .

I plan to return soon.

Room Tip: Book the first floor rooms as the view is v good from the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zafar786396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The guest house is worth of money if u consider the quality of the rooms and its contents. But it is not at all walkable distance from Police Bazaar. The food you will get is tasty, healthy but only very very few normal cooking menus. Besides they will not give lunch even if u request. For dinner the order need to be placed mostly in the daytime which is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Take 1st First floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEB_2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Begusarai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This guest house is affiliated to Youth Hostel. Worth of money nicely located . Walkin distance ( 2 Km ) from Police Market. We have stayed for two days recently( May 2013) enjoyed a lot with the hospitality and of course food ( Home cooked).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilmBegusarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 with family. Rooms are clean. But issue is with the service. I assume the property was full during out stay, and there was only only person to service the lot.
A few tips to make your stay hassle free-
Dont expect tea before 7-30, as the cook will only arrive at 7 am.
Please order dinner by 5 pm, even if you are on a trip out of the city, else your order may not be accepted.
What I feel is that the staff are incapable of handling a full house, even with their best intentions, only because of the dirth of man power. Else they were very helpful and cordial.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KorakBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were there for 3 nights. 6 Adults and 2 Kids. Clean place. Rooms at ground floor can be a little cagey so try negotiating for rooms on first floor. The places seems to attract a lot of students so they are not geared up for vacation travellers, to cite we missed seeing anyone from the owners to come and talk to us while we were there. :-) Not a big deal but I would expect at least a phone call to confirm, if all is well. To cite one more, we reached here by 1300 hrs or so and we had to wait for a while to get the 3rd room. Again not a big deal, but I expected the owner (who I believe was around at that point of time) to sort of own up.

If you are single or double with no kids then this is a great place. Small, cosy, clean, nice staff and not very expensive. If you are a family with kids then you might feel a little squeezed with no room to run-around, limited dining options (simple kitchen), no other frills.

There is no dining space, the small front lobby is used for dining. The kitchen serves warm, home made food. If you can then it is better to eat outside. Staff is extremely helpful. Infra wise, they should create some open space.

Location wise, it is at a good location and the guesthouse is well known in the local area.

- Nandan

Room Tip: First Floor, facing towards road. Do NOT take rooms at ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
6.8 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 19 in Shillong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Barbareek
Hotel Barbareek
#56 of 74 in Shillong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shillong Hills Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Orchid Guesthouse.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Orchid Guesthouse.

Property: White Orchid Guesthouse.
Address: Upper Lachaumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located newly constructed guesthouse comprised of eight guestrooms. The location is in Upper Lachaumiere, formerly a part of the 'European Ward' area of Shillong. Simple, clean, bright and spacious rooms. Panoramic view from the rooftop. Close proximity to all major areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing