We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place if you just need a clean room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Orchid Guesthouse.
Ranked #7 of 74 Shillong B&B and Inns
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place if you just need a clean room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were there for 3 nights. 6 Adults and 2 Kids. Clean place. Rooms at ground floor can be a little cagey so try negotiating for rooms on first floor. The places seems to attract a lot of students so they are not geared up for vacation travellers, to cite we missed seeing anyone from the owners to come and talk to us while we were there. :-) Not a big deal but I would expect at least a phone call to confirm, if all is well. To cite one more, we reached here by 1300 hrs or so and we had to wait for a while to get the 3rd room. Again not a big deal, but I expected the owner (who I believe was around at that point of time) to sort of own up.

If you are single or double with no kids then this is a great place. Small, cosy, clean, nice staff and not very expensive. If you are a family with kids then you might feel a little squeezed with no room to run-around, limited dining options (simple kitchen), no other frills.

There is no dining space, the small front lobby is used for dining. The kitchen serves warm, home made food. If you can then it is better to eat outside. Staff is extremely helpful. Infra wise, they should create some open space.

Location wise, it is at a good location and the guesthouse is well known in the local area.

- Nandan

Room Tip: First Floor, facing towards road. Do NOT take rooms at ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked a room in the guest house about a month before my stay. I felt the staff was very polite and well-spoken. Although I doubted the place would be any good, I enjoyed my stay in Shillong. The rooms were simple, warm, spacious, comfortable and very clean. What more does a person require? The in-house food was delicious and my room had a beautiful view of the whole city and the hills overlooking the horizon. The locality where the Guest House is Located is very peaceful and quiet. The service was prompt. They even cleaned my room every time I was away without me asking them to do so. I must say that the service was excellent for a room at this price. For a person looking for a budget stay in Shillong, I most definitely recommend White Orchid Guest House.

Room Tip: Choose the Delux rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rajat_WiNdMiLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very cosy, extremely clean, comfortable guest house in Shillong run by wonderful people. The Manager & staff are warm, courteous and always strive to please. We had dinner and breakfast at the guest house and the food was amazing. I consider the White Orchid a gem of a place in Shillong with a wonderful view of the city from its rooftop and conveniently located - just a 5 minute walk to the city center.

We had a wonderful stay here and highly recommend it as the best place to stay in Shillong. Keep up the good work White Orchid!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YaninDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised at the clenliness and standards of this Guest house - getting to Shillong from Guahati was a struggle because of the road work on the way, but the warm welcome we received at White Orchid made those headaches go away. We were very impressed by the manager Chetan, who was very attentive and polite. The owner Gurmeet was also very accommodating.
The first night, we had a dhal curry with rice, and that was probably the best dhal curry I ever had :)
Food is good, reasonable, and the place is very very clean! Location is fantastic, as it's a short walk to the city center.
Good luck White Orchid, keep up the great work. As the title of my review says, budget accommodation doesnt get any better than White Orchid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ManojW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guwahati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

White Orchid was reccomended by a friend. Not difficult to find. Location wise very good as it walking distance from police bazaar, schools, colleges wards lake, secretariat etc. Stayed for one night. Food is limited but that should be acceptable as it is not a hotel. TV needs to be changed. Electric kettle can be put in the room for guests to make their own tea coffee as and when they like. Good for people who wants a little bit of quite.

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david_kire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We decided to take a short weekend break to Shillong on our tour of Assam early this april . We stayed at White Orchid as suggested by a friend in guwahati. The rooms and the toilets were very clean and the central location in a safe and quiet neighborhood made the stay nice and pleasant . The view from the rooftop of Shillong town is one of a kind . My wife and I loved it , we plan to visit again some time in 2013.

Room Tip: Try book on the first floor for an even better view of shillong town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank oldengolden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and then came back and stayed one more night. The first time we stayed here it was great! When we came back there was some problems with the Kitchen help, that resulted in yelling, pushing, & hitting in the Kitchen while we were having our breakfast. It was a unfortunate way to end our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank t0mmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Barbareek
Hotel Barbareek
#57 of 74 in Shillong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#8 of 74 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Orchid Guesthouse.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Orchid Guesthouse.

Property: White Orchid Guesthouse.
Address: Upper Lachaumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located newly constructed guesthouse comprised of eight guestrooms. The location is in Upper Lachaumiere, formerly a part of the 'European Ward' area of Shillong. Simple, clean, bright and spacious rooms. Panoramic view from the rooftop. Close proximity to all major areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing