We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Clean & Safe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shillong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Orchid Guesthouse.
Ranked #7 of 74 Shillong B&B and Inns
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, Clean & Safe”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Clean rooms, comfortable beds, clean toilets. Affordable pricing. Service is good. Very easy check in and check out. Things they can improve: a) Have a printed leaflet of places to visit b) Cab hire contacts c) List of interesting restaurants d) Provide Tea / Coffee maker in rooms

Room Tip: You can book this place directly from their website and make a small advance payment for bookings. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pamujoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
22
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I arrived in Shillong around mid January. I had made no accomodations and did not know where exactly to stay. My taxi driver suggested that i stay in this Guest House as it was very centrally located, not too expensive and I would easily get an accomodation there. We arrived at the Guest House around four in the evening. The staff there was very polite. My room was very clean. It had an excellent view of the beautiful city of Shillong. I stayed there for about three nights and had no complaints about the place at all. The cook cooked DELICIOUS homely food and the manager was very well behaved. The place had all kinds of facilities one would expect in a low budget hotel. There were geysers in each room, heaters (with nominal extra charge), 22" LCD T.V.s, etc. I highly recommend this place to the travellers who want to stay in Shillong without burning a hole in their pockets.

Room Tip: Choose the Deluxe Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anmol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

first things about the guesthouse.. superb location away from all the traffic..yet near to all the important places of shillong. 2 good chinese restaurants were located very near. the food was very good in the hotel itself, just like my home's.also the rooms were neat and clean . my stay was under the RBI offer so i was given the best rooms avalable. the staff were very prompt and well mannered. a special mention for the manager who was very smart yet gentle and polite.
the only place where the guesthouse could improve is by polishing the cupboard..which is newly installed. the authorities said that they would do that as soon as possible. all in all a beautiful guesthouse in a good location.
a must stay for all the travellers n shillong.

Room Tip: deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank razzakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Located not far from the center of the city.
Front desk staff was helpful.
In the height of the winter(low 3C) they charged additionally for a room heater though the charge was nominal.
The room was very near the reception. There was a lot of activity at 2AM in the morning which disturbed our sleep.
The room was neat and clean and had UPS lighting for power cuts.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room in the same floor as reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jinngala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I reached Shillong in the night and my driver had advised for this guest house. However, this turned out to be a very bad advice.
The rooms did have neither a room heater nor an Air conditioner so it was difficult in the month of October when the cold weather had just set in. We requested for a room heater but the guest house did not have any provision for that.
Later, we requested for the dinner and cook took approximately 2.5 hours to serve the meal and by that time children had slept hungry stomach. Similarly, in the morning, the breakfast time, as printed on the menu, was from 8 AM to 10 AM so we requested that it be delivered at 8 AM. However, the receptionist told us that 8 AM was the time when cook arrives at Guest House so it could not be delivered at 8 AM. Finally the cook arrived after 9 AM and we could get our breakfast at 10.30 AM.
Geyser in the rooms had also been working sporadically and was not effective. We requested of hot water but we could not get that even after waiting for long hours.
The only positive aspect of the hotel was its location which was in the main market and a rooms had a very good view of the city otherwise this guest house can not be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

In my search for stay in Shillong during my vacation, i ended up selecting the said guest house. It turned out to be a good choice since we didnot want to blow up significant amount on staying in hotel. The guest house is small but very clean and location is very decent. The staff is nice and they help the guests with their requirements if advance intimation is given. The place is ideal incase you are coming for vacation and plan to roam around throughout the day.

After staying in Shillong for 4 days , we also got an chance to look at all the hotels there. Hotel Polo towers location is not good and its very costly. Hotel Centre point and Hotel Broadway are the best bet due to their location in Police Bazaar-Most happening area in Shillong. Hotel Pinewood is also decent but the location bit off..

All in all White Orchid guest house is value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rupam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agartala, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I have stayed here a few days ago, My friend has booked it for me . i frequently travel to shillong but never stayed there.so this was the first time experience in White orchid Guest House.
It is located in a very good posh place. the rooms are small but maintained nicely. We have been given a double room for me and my wife . the room was very clean but again very small.

There is no restaurant in the hotel but the staff cooks the food in their kitchen and serves it to the customers. the taste of the food was good

The manager of the hotel is a Bengali guy and he was very friendly and supportive to help us in all our needs.

we stayed in this hotel for a couple of days and bid adios. the stay was good and the rooms are priced decently.
I would recommend business travelers to go for this hotel who are looking for anything in Rs 1000-Rs 1500.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnbin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shillong hotels
0.7 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#8 of 74 in Shillong
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Habitat Shillong
The Habitat Shillong
#1 of 74 in Shillong
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Orchid Guesthouse.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Orchid Guesthouse.

Property: White Orchid Guesthouse.
Address: Upper Lachaumiere, Shillong 793001, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Shillong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Shillong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located newly constructed guesthouse comprised of eight guestrooms. The location is in Upper Lachaumiere, formerly a part of the 'European Ward' area of Shillong. Simple, clean, bright and spacious rooms. Panoramic view from the rooftop. Close proximity to all major areas. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing