We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle
Nearby Hotels
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ri Kynjai(Shillong)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 4740 White Orchid(Shillong)(Great Value!)
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
85
110
43
14
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
110
43
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingmaharaja suiteatop a hillcontinental restaurantrabindranath tagoreroyal touchthe main blocksuperior roomprivate lawnthe main hotelroyal feelingold worldmaddening crowdcity hustle bustlepeaceful surroundingscafe shillongwooden floors
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 269 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had an fabulous trip in this dushera in Shillong, at first i and my friends were completely confused where to stay for the trip but Greenlimon holidays has suggested the perfect place tripura castle which has got the best location and has got marvelous heritage look........... thanks to Greenlimon holidays for making our trip wonderful...... we will visit this hotel next time next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibhash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and thank you for your review!

We are glad to know that Green Lemon Holidays made the right choice for you and your friends.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my husband visited this place on first week of november'13. It will remain one of our best time spent. lovely place, wonderful people and amazing serenity. Rooms were excellent with a touch of royality and the service was impeccable. Room rents were fair enough. Tiered gardens with cherry blossom trees and orchids were a real treat.
But the best part of the hotel was its food which the best in town. Specially the Cafe can give any five star a run for money. We would love to go back there. It was surprisingly rejuvenating.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on main building. Its more ethnic that way.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sohinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, Manager at The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we are happy to know that your stay with us will remain one of your best time spent.

The Café located within the annexe serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies and we try our best to keep up with the expectations of our guests.

We appreciate your positive response regarding our hospitality and service and we hope that we will see you again in our Heritage Hotel in the coming future to experience an improved service in both our restaurants and accommodation.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a royal palace converted hotel, located in shillong city. The hotel has single and double room accommodation with indoor games, open lawn to enjoy the early morning sunrise, bar and restaurant. The rooms are big and spacious with wood work. One can take a walk across the forest adjacent to the hotel or can enjoy the morning sunrise/slight drizzling, depending of the season, with a cup of tea in the open courtyard.. The staff and friendly and cooperative. I have been to this hotel recently and I advise others to stay at this hotel during your visit to Shillong.

Room Tip: try to book rooms in the corridoor next to reception area. one can enjoy the morning sunrise with a cup of tea in the open courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikasubh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

We appreciate your wonderful review and are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is the first "heritage" hotel in the north-east. Opened in 2003 in the Castle's annexe, it is also the summer retreat of the Maharajas of the Manikya dynasty of Tripura.

Each of the spacious and tastefully appointed guest rooms retains its old world 'heritage' character. The restaurants – The Rice Court serves Indian, Chinese & Continental and Café Shillong Heritage serves Mediterranean, Pan Asian & North Eastern delicacies.

To add to the beauty, is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle with lusty pine trees, tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids which is a complete package for guests who wish to get away from the maddening city life.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The property is located away from the chaos of the city center. Excellent service along with the old world charm of the property add to the experience. We stayed in rooms that were a bit away from the main hotel. They had a golf cart to take you to the main hotel where the restaurant and bar are. With limited number of rooms, the property does not have an over-crowded feel at any time. You can actually find a whole section to yourself at the restaurant or at the bar and spend an excellent evening relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumitDutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is a property located away from the city crowd and is set amidst enchanting groves of majestic pine that overlooks some part of the city.

The newly constructed Garden Wing Superior rooms are spacious and well designed using local materials to the greatest advantage and a café located in the middle of the annexe. The golf cart stationed 24 hours takes you to the court yard area, where we have the Rice Court restaurant serving Indian, Chinese and Mediterranean cuisine with a Mezzanine Bar offering a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are delighted to know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

What caught my eye for this property was its location away from the the commercial activity and noise of police bazar and laitumkhrah. This place has a very royal feel with beautiful wooden floors, well carved varnished furniture and king size beds. I felt like I was embraced within the aura of the castle. It is among the few hotels in Shillong which has a bar and is open till around 10, 10:30 pm which is quite late as the bars here close early. This place had beautiful well maintained gardens and our room (the supreme suite) overlooked a small garden which had a green and fresh view. Service was also good. If money is not a constraint, one should come here to relax at least for a day. That is what I did.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan_Donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripuraCastle, General Manager at The Heritage Club-Tripura Castle, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Royal Heritage Tripura Castle!

Royal Heritage Tripura Castle is located away from the hustle bustle of the main city and very close to nature - an ideal place to rejuvenate yourself.

The property reflects the regality of a royal home with its preserved heritage essence – from its tiered gardens and marvellous collection of orchids, carefully selected pieces of furniture, its splendid interiors blend with the modern amenities gives a sense of homely stay to our guests.

To add to the beauty is the undisturbed surrounding of Tripura Castle overlooking the majestic pine trees and garden.

Besides the Mezzanine Bar, there is also Café Shillong Heritage within the annexe and serves Mediterranean, Asian, Northeastern cuisine and a variety of beverages to choose from.

Thank you once again for choosing Royal Heritage Tripura Castle and look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Debajit Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews