We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lords Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
“Could be better”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went to this hotel after years. Place as beautiful as ever. Food is good. The rooms need an upgrade and better maintenance. A creaking bed and a rattling ceiling fan do not faciliatate a good nights sleep. The manager/owner was aloof and did not have the courtesy to smile or offer a greeting in passing.The rooms at the valley edge of the property (past the pool) are supposedly booked permanently by corporates and not available otherwise. This was not mentioned at the time of booking when I had specifically requested one of these rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    93
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
74
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is my first post on TripAdvisor and Ive decided to start with a review on my favourite hotel- Lords Central at Matheran.
In October 2013, it was my third visit to the hotel in the past 7 years and it only gets better.
If you are a person who loves the old world charm, good Parsi food, and warm people around, this is the place for you. The Lords family makes you feel just at home.
The first recommendation I would give is that opt for a valley side or facing room- we always stay in room 10 which gives a brilliant view of the valley. The rooms are not 5-star but very clean. They have a central hall, which has a old piano and television, where the food is served.
The food in included for in the stay and the Lords kitchen which is personally monitored by the owners, is amazing. They will feed you till you cant eat anymore. They have unlimited buffets - that include the 5-course soups to deserts. I personally love their roast chicken, dhansak and fried local eel fish.
The hotel has a swimming pool, which is very well maintained, just enough for a dip.
I have strongly recommended this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet vacation at Matheran away from the mad-crowd.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley are better- especially room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saylithetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Visted Matheran in May 2013..And it such a pleasant surprise in terms of the climate! Lords, Central is a warm place with great food (not an elaborate menu- just select food on the buffet but totaly delicious!!)
It has T.T. and badminton..but the T.T. table is not all that inviting! The pool is good but I would say it could do with some maintenance..
Rooms are good..We had the valley-side facing room (much better than he standard room which face the othr side altogether): complete with A.C. and good washrooms and clean linens!
All in all it was a good experience- thanks to the great food and good rooms

Room Tip: The valley facing or the valley-side facing rooms are the best!! Standard rooms face the play area w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dishaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I adored Lord's for all its retro charm and quirkiness. The dining room and common areas reminded me of something from a 1950s British seaside resort, with badminton rackets and old calendars of cats as decoration. There were ancient box TVs every where you looked and signs telling you what time you could eat. The staff however were utterly charming and bent the rules whenever we asked (this is India) so we never went hungry. The pool area is lovely - one of the best views in Matheran and the location couldn't be better - a 2 min walk to the centre of town but quiet and away from the noise. Our room was fine - huge with decent AC but a very basic bathroom. Its a big like time has stood still at Lords...don't expect mod-cons or fancy design but appreciate the old world charm and amazing hospitality.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizzieLucyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of the finest places in Matheran. Other than the facilities and the rooms (Which are quite old style and brilliant), the best part about this hotel is the owner of the place. He is a gem of a person and makes you feel like you are his personal guest.
The view from the hotel is amazing to an extent that you don't need to go out to see the various points across Matheran.
Excellent food- Veg & Non Veg, Superb swimming pool, the most amazing owner who will become your friend by the time you are out of there...makes this the most non-commercial and peaceful hotel in Matheran. Definitely 5 stars!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the Valley View rooms. Excellent sun rise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jai-is-travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had visited this hotel in Oct'12. Very quiet nice peaceful place. Owners are quite charming, Food is awesome, both in quantity and quality. No need to go out to points as they have awesome view from the hotel itself. Amazing sunrise view from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanchan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I visited Matheran with my wife to spend a day away from Mumbai and chose this place based on the reviews here.

First thing first, the food was really tasty - home made, not too high on spices and good variety in all three meals. I guess sometimes its best to not have a menu card - simply ask for veg or non-veg meals. The dining hall is common and has fixed timings. However, the breakfast was not really filling (bread & omelette) considering that we had to go trekking outside ;)

We booked a valley facing room and it was really awesome spending the early morning in the private verandah as the dawn breaks over the valley. This was the best part for us !! Rooms are spacious and simple though.

Would definitely suggest some good time at pool side after dinner may be..unless you are visiting in winters.

Because there is nothing much you can do in Matheran after it turns dark, this place has some good options to keep you occupied for fun. We had a good time playing TT and badminton.

The staff was very helpful and polite. The owner was also warm and accommodating.

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms for sure !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VipinN22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
16.2 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
9.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#208 of 446 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lords Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lords Central Hotel

Property: Lords Central Hotel
Address: MG Road | Near Station, Matheran 400055, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing