We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place in lap of nature”
Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Resort
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A decent place in lap of nature”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Adamo (previously known as Richie Rich Resort) is located very near to the Matheran railway station. We stayed in Regency Deluxe room for 3 nights. The rooms are big and spacious but lack any view as there is another property on the back-side and only a small swimming pool in the front. The facilities are lacking especially the provision of running hot water. Hot water is provided in buckets everyday morning. The joys of a hot shower after few hours of walk in the dense woods is sorely missed! Cleanliness is something that needs more attention, or maybe it's just because of heavy monsoon season right now. Staff is courteous. Food is finger licking good especially so if you are a veggie. We surely did put on a few kilos during our stay :) All the "points" are a good 2-3KMs on an average from here, so be prepared to keep walking, which I believe holds true for all properties in Matheran.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from as there is no "view" from any room due to it's central locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SankDaDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to read your positive comments, I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday..

We are certain, your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services at the Resort.

The Hot water is an issue with Matheran in general due to water shortages.

However i hope that we can invite you back for a more memorable stay the next time around.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    135
    40
    8
    15
See reviews for
146
101
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Saw the reviews on TripAdvisor for other hotels and then zeroed down to Adamo.

Hotel is good. Do not expect discount on rates but it's worth staying at the price.

Staff is good quick service was provided for any of our needs. Also our requirement for Jain food was made instantly.

The only draw back I feel is no Wifi in the Hotel. With all mobile network running poor I feel they should install Wifi. Matheran only has one cyber cafe which provides speed of only 512 kbps max.

Rooms are good Furtunitre is well maintained. Good spacious rooms.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay with us. Your mention of our service makes us feel proud, which will encourage us further to achieve greater heights.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

We eagerly await for your return and hope to be your preferred destination in matheran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we halted at the resort from june 16 to june 18 and the stay was very comfortable.the rooms are very spacious and can easily occupy 4.the food is good and the ambience is very good.I recommend this hotel for your stay at Matheran.

Room Tip: Regent Delux rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellerbybirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to post your views on Trip Advisor

We are extremely glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Hope to see you soon to give us the opportunity to make yet another holiday memorable.

Thanks & Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

After a lot of research for good hotels in Matheran, I decided to book a Regency Deluxe room for a 2night/3 days stay in the last week of May. I and my wife were planning to celebrate our Marriage Anniversary with our 5 year old daughter.

The Resort was quite helpful in answering all our queries during booking. Since we were travelling from Pune we arranged for a private taxi to drop us at Dasturi car park. We were lucky to get the train tickets from Aman Lodge Station (just 5 mins from Dasturi car park) to Matheran. The train runs very slowly and takes around 15 to 20 minutes to reach Matheran.
Adamo resort is only a 10 minute walk away from the Railway Station.

The check-in was quite quick and we were happy with the fruit basket, cold drinks etc provided by the Resort. I was surprised that there is no bar present in this Resort, but my request for beer was quickly obliged by the Restaurant Manager :-) (Obviously cost me double the market price).
The Swimming Pool was quite clean, so having a dip was the best option in the scorching afternoon heat.
The Resort provides good unlimited gujarati food for lunch and a Punjabi buffet for dinner. Breakfast is quite limited and evening tea is provided only with biscuits.
The Resort also arranged for magic shows, puppet shows etc for the kids.

Overall we enjoyed the Trip and our stay at Adamo Resorts.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room no 205 which was on the second floor with a big balcony facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Raiye1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Our heartfelt thanks for your comments and it is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a memorable stay.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

trip adviser review help me to change my decision to stay in this resorts...actually i booked another place for 4 night stay by viewing pics on net...after reaching the place..i feel cheated.. i just open trip adviser & find out the suitable place for stay like this resort....
their hospitality to the guest is remarkable...the food is nice..selection of varieties is good...evening activity also give us satisfactions of our decision...

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jayesh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to post your views on Trip Advisor.
We are extremely glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

Hope to see you soon to give us the opportunity to make yet another holiday memorable.

Thanks & Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After reading many positive reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to stay here on 26th-28th May'2014. Overall a good experience. but there is lot of scope for improvement. Some observations:
1. Food is good but in lunch variety is required. I mean having Gujarati Thali everyday of stay during lunch is not done. Not everyone is fond of sweet sabji, Sweet daal & Sweet kadhi. You may keep it on alternative days.
2. Keeping khichdi everyday is really a blessing for those who have small kids. Keep it up.
3. Break-fast was average and you need to add few more options like you should keep fruits, idli, dosa as a part of fixed menu.
4. Cleanliness - I understand, loose red sand is a trademark of matheran, but we don't want to see it everywhere in the hotel including the balconies. Some dedicated efforts are required to keep the hotel clean of the sand.
5. Receptionist - I have never come across a more cold welcome than this. I mean come-on guys you need to be more polite. they were just not bothered with guest's presence.
6. Pool - Water was real dirty. It's a small pool and with so many families around, you need to ensure that water is changed more often. Small children's pool was worst, whereas it should have been cleanest as kids are going to use it.
7. Room Service was quick.
Overall a good facility but poorly maintained and average staff.

Room Tip: Choose higher level rooms as ground floor rooms facing pool will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ramakant_Yadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
I am extremely apologetic and disappointed to read your recent review on Trip Advisor. I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday.. We are certain, your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests...

I am deeply disheartened to learn that you did not have a pleasant stay and that we were unable to deliver to you the Adamo experience. It is truly regretful to know that we fell short to give you a memorable experience during your holiday. This is certainly not the standard of service that we endeavor to provide to our guests. The team are addressing your highlighted concerns very seriously and are looking into the housekeeping and service issues you faced.

Thank you once again for your feedback. I do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located at a walkable distance from matheran rly stn. Enthusiasts in groups n carrying light baggage can walk to n fro from dasturi point also, its like a mini trek for freshers ! (We did that) Food is just awesome. Their concept of having breakfast n evng tea by d poolside is vry relaxing. Comfortable n clean rooms with quick room service and vry warm staff. Game room can do with upgradation though. Overall had a vry satisfying stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam101210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Our heartfelt thanks for your comments and it is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed the food and housekeeping service and had a memorable stay.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Property: Adamo The Resort
Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Adamo The Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing