We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough for a place like Matheran” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good enough for a place like Matheran”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days in the Regent Deluxe Room. Very spacious and well furnished room & bathroom. Being a strict jain food is always my concern but this hotel served superb jain food all the time. Close to matheran station so travelling wasn't much of a hassle unlike other hotels. The staff is very helpful. A well maintained recreation area with pool table, TT, Carom etc. made the stay better. Swimming pool is something you should surely give a miss as it is pretty dirty to even take a dip forget swimming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhavik_gosalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Our heartfelt thanks for your comments and it is always a pleasure to know that our guests had a memorable stay.

We truly value your feedback, and can assure you that we will work on the opportunities for improvement to make your future visits even more exciting.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    132
    39
    8
    15
See reviews for
143
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

How can i forget to review this place ? If you are with family and looking for a real resort experience with excellent Pure Veg and Jain Food....THIS IS IT.....no need to look for anything else. I visited this place in Feb 2013, we were 3 couples with small kids. Rooms are very clean and new. Property is very well maintained. Food is superb, I believe whenever you travel you need good food to keep your mood upbeat and enjoy other things around. Pool is big enough. There is a small children play area with slides, see-saw etc, nice sit out, open to air area for breakfast and dinner, luck is served in restaurant..usually a spread gujarati thali. They have a basement indoor games zone. Hotel is little away from station but that is fine in Matheran, as no vehicles are allowed, walking and enjoying the location is fun.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but Rooms by pool side are easy to access all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GujuMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
The entire team feels so proud to read your heartfelt review. Thank you for recognizing our unique ways of delighting our guests, which is truly inspiring for us all.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Everything is just awesome. Starting from food, must say it was incredible. Even Breakfast is at its best. At Swimming pool, had a lots of fun with friends. Loved to play indoor games like pool, carom, table tennis. Rooms & Bathrooms are neat and clean. Night with dj songs and dinner would be memorable moments to remember.

A pleasant stay, love to visit again.............

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parmarhardik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay with us. Your mention of our service makes us feel proud, which will encourage us further to achieve greater heights.

We eagerly await for your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Matheran

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 18-20 Jan 2013.

Best things:
1) Lunch : Gujarati Thali was mouth watering. Very good in quality as well as taste.
2) Rooms: Clean and tidy rooms with ample space. Clean and hygienic bathrooms.
3) Service : Very kind and helpful staff.
4) DJ Night/ Magic Show in the evening.
5) Pool side dinner arrangements.
6) Location : Not too far from the main market road, but far enough from the hustle and noise of the town.

Only turn off was the Game zone.Considering other facilities, I was surprised to see the condition of the game zone. Very poor.

Hot water is available only from 8 AM-12 PM , understandable considering the water and electricity shortage in Matheran.

Bottom line: Go for it!!!

Room Tip: Go for Regency Deluxe rooms for pool view. Always keep your balcony door closed, or else expect mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team feels so proud to read your heartfelt review. Thank you for recognizing our unique ways of delighting our guests, which is truly inspiring for us all.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the resort from January 25 to January 27. Following is our observations:-

The Good:

The food and the restaurant staff: The food was pure veg & it was decent. The staff at the restaurant was considerate to our needs.

Reservation Staff: The booking office was kind to consider my request to change the reservation dates due to some personal issues.

Location & Rooms: The resort is in the market and is easily accessible. Also the room was pretty spacious.


The Bad:

Hot Water: Hot water is available only during the morning time. Somewhere between 8am to 12pm. After that you will not get hot water. Only if you call house-keeping and If they are willing to consider your request.

Room Service: Although we paid a high price (approx. 13,700 for 2 Nights), we were informed that room service charges will be additional. Hence we could not order lunch/dinner to our room.

Game Zone: The game zone was in a bad state. It was very untidy and the place had not been cleaned in a while.

The Ugly:

The receptionist: She was the most un-interested receptionist we encountered. Through all our interactions she remained stone faced. She avoided eye contact and showed little interest in listening to us. All this despite the fact that we were being very polite and respectful towards her. It seemed that she was doing us a favor. Clearly they need to get someone better soon!

The Spa Center: This was a complete fraud. We were promised a voucher of Rs 500/- for the Spa. However, when we went to the Spa to claim this voucher, he said that the voucher is only valid if we take a package of minimum Rs1500/-. This was never informed to us by the hotel staff. The Spa owner told us that he was not part of the hotel. Later we bargained for Rs 200/-. But all of it was of no use because his massage techniques were pathetic. Instead of feeling rejuvenated we were in pain after the session.

Room Tip: Avoid balcony bcoz of monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to read your positive comments, I also want to apologize on behalf of the team for falling short of providing you with a perfect holiday..

We are certain, your feedback shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services at the Resort.

The Hot water is an issue with Matheran in general due to water shortages.
We regret your experience with the Spa and our receptionist.

However i hope that we can invite you back for a more memorable stay the next time around.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kesinga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Only Veg restaurant...and awesome food....rooms were spacious...comfortable and large...all rooms were in cottage design....if one can afford it...every penny is worth it...swimming pool is an added attraction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjeevzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay with us. Your mention of our service makes us feel proud, which will encourage us further to achieve greater heights.

We eagerly await for your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Matheran

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent Food..Comfortable stay..Cozy Rooms..Disco+Housie+Jugglar Show at Resort in Night. Amazing Experience..!!
Stayed here for 2D+1N package.Worth it..!! Dont expect much as what they offer you here is beyond expectations bcz arranging all comforts at such an elevation is a challenge and they prove to meet all expectations of guests with full courtsey and hospitality.
I would suggest,after Reaching "Matheran Car Parking point"..First be prepared to walk here bcz NO taxi/Car/Vehicle is allowed beyond a certain limit..Making Hill Station pollution free.
So where ur car dropped you off at the car parking Down Hill side, you have to Walk 3-4 KM to Reach Matheran City.
Horses is an Option( but the people Charge you soo much 300-500 bucks for a trip)+ Coolie(200-300 bucks).
So we just hired Coolie bcz we manage to bargain for 250 bucks & too had luggage and so we planned to walked to our resort.
My experience says,If you are a First Timer for Matheran, Select a Resort within City limits (like Adamo Resort) bcz its easier for you to reach the property.
Other attraction is the Evening Market at Matheran. Go for a refreshment here, you can shop here shoes/sandals etc..its like small town amusment park having all activities to make ur trip fun filled.Do try the Malai Golas( Ice Gola.. Heavenly..!!).
Next morning you can book trip with Ghode wala for 5 famous point/ 7 famous point near by your resort for a charesmatic view early morning.
Post which you can return to resort and have ur Breakfast beside Pool.
After that roaming inside property clicking some fantastic pics..you can have ur lunch at resorts restaurant..these guys are experts in gujrati/marathi cuisines..!!
After that we packed our bags and planned our return by walking down the hill and taken a cab from the car parking down hill.
Wish you all Happy Holidaying here..!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamrendraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your views about your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that you have had an enjoyable and a comfortable stay with us. Your mention of our service makes us feel proud, which will encourage us further to achieve greater heights.

We eagerly await for your return and hope to be your preferred destination in Matheran

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
16.5 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#151 of 440 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.7 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Property: Adamo The Resort
Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing