We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic but no other option in Matheran”
Review of Adamo The Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adamo The Resort
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Rule # 1- Hot water is only available between 8 & 10 am. No option. Rule#2 - breakfast-lunch-dinner all are gujrati style@sweet. Book only room-prefer to eat in outside restaurants. Rule#3-Drinking water is not complementary. Get your own water bottles from market as hotel charges double rate. Rule#4-Room quality is not worth the price paid comparing any hotel within India. No option - all hotels in Matheran are of same quality. Rule#5- Book & pay your Money (through whichever mode -cash/cc/debit) at booking place example-Mumbai. If you pay in matheran via CC - 5% charged extra. Rule#6- Swiming pool water is not cleaned regularly. Dusty & hazzy water. Chlorine content was absent.

Room Tip: No Tip. Rooms are bigger in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sajit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 307 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

There were monkey urinating in the green pool, fungus on the walls, damp bedsheets, broken TV, inoperative intercom, and BED BUGS. And the front desk asked why we checked out a day early. This hotel is a joke!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Matheran is definitely a unique Hill Station for nature lovers; & somewhat adventurous. Adamo/Richie Rich Resort can be rated as just the above average resort, if one is looking for a luxurious stay. We had faced a booking problem over there; as our advance booking was not conveyed at the hotel, food is nice delicious gujrati lunch, & dinner is also good. Infrastructure is moderate & so are the rates too, Service is Good. Monkeys are very much over here & keeps you always alert, as if one is not aware then they may even enter the room if the door is kept open. Mobile Network is also problematic as it is not available in many networks.
Sightseeing by Horse is adventurous & costly too. You need to check out the pricing before finalizing for the horse ride. They have declared it as Eco Friendly Zone but the implementation is not done properly as at many sightseeing places; garbage & plastic waste is just lying. On the contrary, even it is ruining the progress of the centre as transportation facility is not easily available so progress is also stagnant. The present system is also very costly. Partial withdrawal is required very much and it is the need of the hour, to keep with the pace.

Apart from all these, the sightseeing is definitely worth sparing the time, but you need an adventurous mood. One should spare a minimum two days clear stay for complete fun. Center is somewhat smaller as it should be otherwise. And as the other stations, it can leave a long lasting memory for the passionate people.

Room Tip: Higher category of Rooms are suggested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArvindKotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We went to Matheran on 31st August and came back on September 1st. I have this habit of doing a lot of research on the hotels of the place before I go. So as usual I checked out all the official websites of the top ten hotels in matheran (top ten according to Tripadvisor Reviews - very useful) and found the pictures and reviews of richie rich as per my like cause i prefer staying in newly constructed hotels. But the moment we saw the facade of richie rich we were a little horrified - it was crumbling but then we tried to put on a brave face and entered the hotel cause we had already done the booking and paid half the amount. But I tell you from the Reception onwards the hotel is well made and well-kept vis a vis the other hotels of matheran. The resort is beautifully done and maintained. But ofcourse the best attraction was our hotel room. We stayed at Regent Deluxe which is newly made and its glamourous enough and the bathroom is not only spanking clean but new and attractive too. Cause Cleanliness & Newness of the bathroom is my first criterion in reviewing a hotel. An old bathroom how-much-ever its kept clean, cannot look very clean. The decor of the restaurant is very good as well and the vegetarian thali/buffet they serve is delicious. Yes the service is quite slow, you have to keep on pestering the bell boys. but when we asked for a nail-cutter they did provide us with one. The Games room hasnt been cleaned for years. But for sure, Riche rich is the best hotel in Matheran cause husband and I checked out Usha Ascot and Byke out of curiosity as we were told a lot about these hotels. Usha Ascot has superb exteriors and reception and large rooms but looks-wise rooms are okie as they are not newly made.And Byke was a complete disappointment, the standard room of byke is awful and the resort is not well-kept at all. Moreover it had a good name and reputation once upon a time but now its crumbling. There were hardly any tourists there unlike Richie Rich which was full.

Room Tip: We stayed at Regent Deluxe which is superb but as soon as you enter check out whether TV/phone are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeghaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Matheran is famous for its vehicle free environment. This made us visit Matheran and we choose to stay at this hotel. It is a good hotel with good rooms. A little above average. Food here is simply mind blowing. I suggest you opt for buffet rather than la carte. Staff is very co-operative. It is a bit far from the other main market hotels but the location is good. There are limited rooms so ensure that you book in advance. The pool is very small but clean. It is a god place to stay with family and large group. They have duplex accommodation/rooms so its best for a big group to stay here. There is no special or extra activities except that it has a small disco place where DJs play music and people can dance. They have ample staff so carrying luggage and dropping guests till the train station is not a problem. My rating: 6/10.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janak_Bhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Hie i just made a Solo Trip to matheran. Its just so awesome. Though was a lil difficult to get a room in any hotel, as they feel its risky to accept singles, because of suicide fashion recent generation has made. lolz!!!

I went to Richie Rich resort and stayed for 3 days 2 nights... I went in an off season making me very comfortable and less crowded.. and perfect weather to njoy. :D.

If you people really want to njoy the complete Trip then do not use any means of Transport except for if Horse riding is your interest. Walk all the way from the entrance right to the top where u reach the market.

Well shopping is not much to do here. Awesome weather is the best thing to enjoy. 0% Pollution really makes you feel energetic. Well not many places are left out being 0% Pollution.

There are certain tourist spot really worth visiting. The view and scenery really recharges you with Confidence and New creative ideas. Me being into Creative field really love to observe nature and i truly get inspired by it.

NOTE: This place is full of Red Natural Mud so it is advised to carry shorts and used old shoes so that you can throw them away lolz ;) well this was just to inform that you may dirty your clothes so wear accordingly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 379abhijeetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we family of 6 been here for 2 days to celebrate my dad's 6oth birth day in month of may 2011. we have booked this place from their office im mumbai. Matheran it self is a very beautifull place and If I am not mistaken than it world's only hill station where there is no vehicle allowed, so no honking no traffic and you can just be relax.

now for hotel Richie Rich, it is rally very good place to stay. rooms wer good. we had booked new rooms which is recently renovated. it has good Varanda for all rooms. hotel is not very big but its good. swimming pool is small. they serve only Veg food, wich is mouth watering.

morning breakfast was at pool site, which was good expirience .
staff was very polite and always there to help you if u want some thing.
we enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mehul2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
5.3 mi away
Discover Resorts
Discover Resorts
#1 of 1 in Dhamote
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Resort

Address: MG Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Richie Rich Resorts)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $73 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamo The Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Adamo The Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richie Rich Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing