We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom is better than the room”
Review of Adamo The Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Hotel stay overall was average, though contrary to the other reviews the service as not as bad. In fact some staff were quite courteous.

This hotel is tucked away behind the main street so it is difficult to spot. The pool seemed ok but not too inviting since it was raining almost the whole day and it was quite cold to venture out in swimming costumes.

One thing to agree with other reviews is the quality of the room, the hotel needs to do some serious thinking here, there was a line of termite mounds as well as dirt and dust in the room as if it was not cleaned in months. When I spoke to the hotel management I was given the excuse that it was dirty due to the rains. They could very well take some time to clean the room because I had made a booking in advance and they knew I would be turning up.

The dining room seems more like a dining room of a summer camp with camp tables spread out and a guy serving you generous amounts of food like in a typical gujarati thali setup. The food was quite good though.

All in all it is an ok-ok hotel which could be alright if someone just wants an overnight stay otherwise there are other better options

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manoftheyear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 247 of 247 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2009

This hotel is a strict no for people who want to have a good time. The service is pathetic in comparison to the room rates they charge. Can u imagine a hotel giving u an excuse, "there is no room service because rooms are full". This is just one issue..the rooms are shabbily maintained, bathroom is terrible, sheets and towels are stained..all this for Rs3000 per night..

Stayed: January 2009
Thank NVmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

I had checked in the hotel couple of years before,and I still remember the date it was December a day before Christmas, when I was in SSC.
This was my first vacation with my whole family and I had been there very first time.

The very first moment I looked at this Hotel, I was amazed of its beauty.
It had a very big nature like atmosphere with grrenery/trees allover.Also for children ther 's a small park like.
For adults it has a swimming pool and for elderly people it has benches to sit and dream like they never had before.

All 4 days of my stay was very pleasant! expect for one part where we had a small debate with the managetment regarding booking of some of their exotic ares for VIP people.

After a few moere requests they allowed us to access those areas, but for a couple of hours.

And what more their were indoor games too available.

All in all a fun loving person gets the best out of this Hotel..
I give it 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luvash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This hotel is behind Richie Rich Resort. 10 minutes fromn Station. Excellent Service. Excellent Food. The only issue was dirty Bedshets and linen. However they were changed immediately when we complained

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athavale_ashu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

After getting into the Matheran charishmatic weather, something are forgiven.
Thats what happened with us.
Hotel Riviera is located with quick access to sight seeing points and market.
It has one of the amazing food quality and food variety.
Hotel corridors are good and the overall layout is fairly good.
.
The only dinging point was the room upkeep. The sheets, pillows and the mattress where sub-standard and dirty.
The dust settling on the lamp shades looked like the owners has left the place 100 years ago.

I hope the hotel management gets an idea.

Anyways, I would say it is okay because of its location, food and fair cost per room, but considering cleanliness it is not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BackPackTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hotel Riveria....
I dont have words for this excellent hotel....Excellent room, Food is very good...everything at single place..
Excellent service by vendors..
Best place for couple...

One advice ....dnt try to go for Hotel Paramount...It s having cameras at its bathroom and all the peoples are fake...

Stayed: October 2008
Thank mishrapune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanumant N, Manager at Adamo The Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The entire team feels so proud to read your heartfelt review. Thank you for recognizing our unique ways of delighting our guests, which is truly inspiring for us all.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Regards
C.P. Yadav
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matheran hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 22 in Matheran
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0 mi away
Hotel Point View
Hotel Point View
#7 of 26 in Matheran
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Village

Address: Kasturba Road | Taluka-Karjat, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Matheran
Price Range: $41 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ajmera group institutes its courtesy arm Adamo, derived from a Latin word which means ‘to fall in love with’ in the realm of hospitality. Adamo hospitality announces with pride that since a decade we have fostered happiness of countless Guest’s under our brand “Adamo The Village” a Heritage Property with an only aim to provide impeccable services and unparallel facilities which has been achieved and is consistently being delivered.Adamo The Village itself speaks Atithi padharo mare ghaam….. to the countryside nestled in the lap of nature Matheran. Simplicity and royal touch of interiors has been intricately carved to suit our valuable guests in search of a rustic habitat and a rendezvous with Nature…. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing