We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accomodation was very poort”
Review of Adamo The Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel room was not clean and hygenic. T.V was not working properly. even windows curtains were not covering the windows fully....no hot water facility on time. no proper guidences provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Marketing Executive at Adamo The Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank You for posting your review.
Regarding your complaints I am extremely sorry about the experience you had. Matheran is a Forest Hill station and the electricity is very poor. Hot water & T.V. becomes a problem. However had you requested the staff I am sure they would have organized a few buckets for your requirement.
Your grievances will definitely be noted and we will try our Best to serve you better if you give us a second chance.
We do look forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 246 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel is located at center place, most of points are walking distance, Hotels rooms are specious and furnished, but maintenance is very bad, the rooms having very bad smell, you have to call room service 3-5 times to get water, Food test is good, most of the time they serve 1/2 hr late than the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Pravin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Public Relations Manager at Adamo The Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your Review.
Matheran is a Forest Hill station and due to the dampness provided by the trees the rooms tend to smell.
Sorry for the inconvenience caused regarding the time lag of service.
Your grievances have been noted and we will try our Best to serve you if you would give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Matheran from 21-Sep-2013 to 23-Sep-2013 & booked Adamo The Village via Cleartrip.com. On the very 1st day, we had to change 3 rooms within a span of 1 hour of check in as 1st room did not had any lights in washroom, 2nd room had drainage issues. Finally we compromised in 3rd room which was equally in bad condition but didn't had any choice.
Their rooms are in shaddy condition, needs big time renovation, rooms were unhygienic, blankets & bed sheets were stinking, swimming pool was not functional as expected,
Poor management, No Dining Facility (Only Snacks Available).
Hot water supplied in buckets only from 8am to 10am.
The entire hotel was vacant at the time of our check out (with no bookings at all) but still management declined to extend our check out even by 1 hour.
Overall worst hotel & management, we feel our vacation got spoiled by choosing Adamo The Village which is complete waste of money.

Room Tip: Matheran is a quiet, small but beautiful hill station, however it does not have good hotels. All hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would suggest not to go n stay at ADAMO VILLAGE MATHERAN. As it is having very strange policy, that if you dont have the meal package then you will not get the main course, only limited snacks are available. There is no Alacarte Menu, Only you will be advised by hotel staff to go out n have food out or they will offer you a meal unlimited @ 550 rs/person(Absolute Loot). Prior booking any of the hotel in matheran please check about there restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My stay in Adamo was a few days later after my stay at Usha Ascot.
Good points:
Strategically located on the way to important scenic points.The lane is quite properly lit in the night since it has many other resorts as its neighbours.
Property is quite good and new .
Monkey menace is comparatively less than Usha

Improvements Areas.You will have to plead for hot water after 10 am .

God knows why the swiming pool is at the entrance.what about the privacy amidst the constant flow of visitors staring at you ???

Food is charged seperately and very expensive .Try Shabbir biryani for Non veg and Gujrat bhavan for thali veg .both are equidistance form Adamos

Surprised why the wardrobe is inside the bathroom.

NO ventilation opening in the rooms hence you are forced to pay extra 500 for the ac .Hence its 3500 without food in a delux
The rectangular bed corners are sharp .With or without child u cant avoid a swelling since the corners hurt when getting on the bed.

We werent able to call home since the mobile signal was not avl.we called for a call tranfer at the reception and were shocked to know that only outside incoming calls get tranferred but for calling from the hotel one has to be physically come down.The phone too was outdated and the buttons were jammed.It took us 15 mins to just dial 1 phonecall to mumbai .

The electricity suddenly disappered in the middle of the night and was oyt for 2 hours .Reason given was no diesel to run the generator.

Sandeep from housekeeping is the most cheerful mascot of this place who to quite some extent nullified the negatives with his cheerful service.

I rate my experience at 5 for the price they charged on a scale of 10 .Can easliy scale to 7 with proper management intervention as compared to its sister property ,The Adamo resort

Room Tip: Always track the train timings form Dasturi naka to matheran in case u r with your family since peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanjayrbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

i visit matheran in 1st week of sep-13 with friends(couple). service was verry good.incease activity for couple whatever it season or not. they not provide food in hotel u have to go other place.for couple this place is suits well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatin1429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Guest Relations Manager at Adamo The Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to put up your feedback regarding your visit to our Resort.

We will take your suggestion regarding the activities during off season to make your stay more enjoyable.
We do provide pure veg. food in our restaurant ' Atithi Devo Bhav'. However our packages do not include rates with meals.

I trust that you will afford us an opportunity to serve you again and give you a true experience of Adamo Hospitality

Thanking You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Adamo for 1 night and2 days, very well located and very peaceful, food was excellent and the staff is unobtrusive and friendly. Room was great. Overall- we had gone for some peace and quiet, some private time and that's exactly what we got!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WRitesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo91, Senior Marketing Executive at Adamo The Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank You for posting your review on Trip advisor.
We are extremely very happy and delighted to read your positive review about our hotel.
We at Adamo The village strive hard every single day to give our guest an experience to remember.
Such comments encourage us to achieve greater heights.
We look forward to your visit to our hotel.

Thanking You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
142 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Village

Address: Kasturba Road | Taluka-Karjat, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Matheran
Price Range: $42 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ajmera group institutes its courtesy arm Adamo, derived from a Latin word which means ‘to fall in love with’ in the realm of hospitality. Adamo hospitality announces with pride that since a decade we have fostered happiness of countless Guest’s under our brand “Adamo The Village” a Heritage Property with an only aim to provide impeccable services and unparallel facilities which has been achieved and is consistently being delivered.Adamo The Village itself speaks Atithi padharo mare ghaam….. to the countryside nestled in the lap of nature Matheran. Simplicity and royal touch of interiors has been intricately carved to suit our valuable guests in search of a rustic habitat and a rendezvous with Nature…. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing