We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adamo The Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Village
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed last weekend. It was a wonderful & a very comfortable stay.. Rooms are clean & good, location is awesome. Atmosphere within the hotel is peaceful & serene. Food is a delight for vegetarians.. Best Advantage - Pure Veg Hotel... Very friendly & helpful staff.. Overall was a lovely experience, we are planning an entire family trip now of 15 persons.. We will recommend it to everyone.. Overall was a lovely treat.. One of best hotels in Matheran.. Go for it!!

Room Tip: Deluxe or Super Deluxe Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Respected Guest,

Greetings from Adamo Hospitality !!

We thank you for your valuable inputs in detail during your valuable stay at our property. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and your requirements were catered by one and all.

We shall be grateful to serve you at the earliest along with your valuable group of 15 and shall await your arrival with detail's so as to cater to your smallest needs. With inputs and suggestions it gives us an edge to strive for greater satisfactions of our esteemed Guests.

Thanking you i remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    108
    36
    17
    11
See reviews for
89
79
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were a group of 4 couples with children & went there on the weekend. The property is great & can turn out to be the best if given a little bit extra attention.
The check-in & check out was smooth, no hassles there. The food was also good & we enjoyed every bit of it. The pool is decent sized & clean.
We stayed in the super deluxe rooms which are recently renovated. The rooms were neat & clean. We also had a look at the suite rooms which can be recommended if someone requires extra space.
We had done the booking through an agent but later found out that guys who came there directly got a better deal so we were a bit disappointed on that part.
Overall we all came out satisfied with the stay at the resort & I can safely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Go for the super deluxe or suite rooms. Rest all rooms are OK.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shaileshgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Respected Mr. Shailesh Goyal,

Greetings!!

We thank you for sharing your valuable inputs during your stay at the property wherein you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. We also are grateful to you for your priceless suggestions which shall give us an opportunity to improve our property which is in the mode of makeover in totality over a period of time.

We shall be looking forward to your next trip to your property and to cater to your requirements.

Thanking you i remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we were here with friends for one night stay..it was a week day and off season,but still the tariff was on a higher side..the property was almost empty,the rooms shown to us initially was in a corner and looked more like an outhouse cabin which was not cleaned for ages. A/c rooms were not available,even though we could hardly see 2-3 families. they arranged for us a relatively better room which was clean ,the only eyesore was a huge water tank next to it with lot of construction rubble. The food which is veg.was okay,not anything to write home about but the attitude of the staff was good. The property is really nice,with lot of space but they could definitely try to improve it. True its calm and quite with the exception of playing some kind of disco music,when asked,the guy at the reception said it will stop by 10 pm. people don't go to matheran to get the feel of the discotheque,i am sure...would recommend it anyways,if one is okay with so so food and the loud music till 10 pm. but there are better properties ,this was our first at this hotel,we travel to matheran atleast 2-3 times in a year.,we always like to try out different properties...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandhya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Respected Ms. Sandhyaji,

We are highly grateful to you for sharing your valuable inputs during your short stay at our property and your valuable suggestions that shall give us an opportunity to improve wherein currently our property is in the makeover stage on phase wise basis and your inputs definitely adds a boost for us.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and shall look forward to cater to your requirements at our property at the earliest.

Thanking you i remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

its a place in the town, walking distance from toy train station. cleanliness was good and its less crowded even on weekends which plus for guest who love time of own. staff was helpful. however no hot water for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank SuJmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Respected Sir's,

We are highly grateful to you for sharing your valuable inputs during your short stay at our property and your valuable suggestions that shall give us an opportunity to improve wherein currently our property is in the makeover stage on phase wise basis and your inputs definitely adds a boost for us.

We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and shall look forward to cater to your requirements at our property at the earliest.

Thanking you i remain,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good choice for a weekend getaway. Went there on Valentine's Day 2013.
Rooms: Good quality rooms. Clean toilets. Bed sheets were good and the staff was very prompt
Food: Limited options available. No non-veg food. No eggs as well. But if you're the kind that sucks onto veg home-cooked meals then this is the place for you!
Entertainment: The very nature of the town is very quaint and quiet. So the hotel as well is in that flavor. You ll have a real quite time and it will be a world away from the hustle and bustle of metros.
'X' Factor; The pool is good. The staff work very hard to make sure it is clean and although the temperature is not regulated and it is kind of cold, once u get used to the water u ll love it. Big pool and deep enough water to have a nice swimming session.

Cons:
No hot water: Rooms have no hot water facility and for ppl who dig into a hot water bath are in for a disappointment.
TV: If you're looking to stay indoors and catch on some TV action, don't plan for this village because the TV channels are very limited.
Having a veg cuisine is ok, but not allowing outside food in the rooms is a little too strict I guess and not a nice idea.
Toilets could definitely be cleaner and have more facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mavericksoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Respected Sir,

Greetings!!

We thank you for your valuable visit to Adamo The Village, Matheran and your valuable inputs for the property during your stay.

We appreciate your inputs as regards to the Food wherein our patrons are mainly from the Veg cuisine liking and for the food to be allowed in the rooms we need to adhere to the policy of the management so that the Rooms are neat and clean for other patrons too who visit our properties.

Once again we are glad that you have chosen Adamo The Village for valentine 2013 celebrations and look forward to you and your friends to visit Adamo The Village.

Thanking You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Adamo The Village (erstwhile Riviera) turned out to be excellent choice for our weekend getaway. Renovated rooms were great, food was tasty. It's not in the hustle-bustle of market street yet accessible. Enough activities for kids as well as family. DJ/entertainment in the evening is an added plus for the otherwise quiet hotel. Service was good - especially of the kitchen staff.

Hot water is available only in the mornings (8 to 10). Rooms on the backside are great.

Would happily recommend Adamo The Village!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Nirav_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Respected Mr.& Mrs. Nirav Mehta,

Greetings from Adamo The Village!!

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and your valuable inputs for the property, its recommendations have touched us deeply as you are a part of Adamo family.

We are glad that your family enjoyed the precious moments away from the Hustle and bustle of the City Life to a Pollution Free Hill Station.

We shall be sending you our forthcoming attarctions and shall await your next visit soon.

Thanking you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Rivera now known as Adamo is a perfect place to spend your weekend.
We had gone in a group for 17 and found the place to be a perfect choice.
The rooms are decent however what I liked best was the vast property they have. Its perfect for kids and when you go in group you can plan N number of games there.
Apart from that food is exceptional, where they serve typical Gujrati dishes in Morning followed by fancy dishes (Pav Bhaji, Pasta, Bhel, etc) in evening.

Swimming pool is another decent addition to this property which people can enjoy.

All in all, you will not be disasspointed on visiting this place in terms of stay, food and leisure.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshal-India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamo Hospitali... N, Director of Sales at Adamo The Village, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Harshal,

Greetings from Adamo The Village!!

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and your valuable inputs for the property have touched us deeply as you are a part of Adamo family.

We are glad that your Group enjoyed the precious moments away from the Hustle and bustle of the City Life to a Pollution Free Hill Station.

We shall be sending you our forthcoming attractions and shall await your next visit soon.

Thanking you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#206 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#3 of 20 in Matheran
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.0 mi away
Premdeep Hotel
Premdeep Hotel
#5 of 24 in Matheran
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Village

Property: Adamo The Village
Address: Kasturba Road | Taluka-Karjat, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ajmera group institutes its courtesy arm Adamo, derived from a Latin word which means ‘to fall in love with’ in the realm of hospitality. Adamo hospitality announces with pride that since a decade we have fostered happiness of countless Guest’s under our brand “Adamo The Village” a Heritage Property with an only aim to provide impeccable services and unparallel facilities which has been achieved and is consistently being delivered.Adamo The Village itself speaks Atithi padharo mare ghaam….. to the countryside nestled in the lap of nature Matheran. Simplicity and royal touch of interiors has been intricately carved to suit our valuable guests in search of a rustic habitat and a rendezvous with Nature…. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing