We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel, well-located but nothing more”
Review of Adamo The Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adamo The Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Matheran is the oldest vacation spot for Mumbai, with mass family tourism swamping this little calm village.

Riviera is one of those family hotels (as a matter of fact, there are hardly any hotels that are not),
cottage-style room accommodation, situated in a verdant environment, with parks and sports facilities, mainly for kids but also for the rest.

The pool is large, has a little kitschy waterfall (pun intended) and is generally well-maintained and there is also a shallow kiddie section to it.

The rates are offered in packages with all meals included and which is what makes the rates pretty attractive and economical.

A vast majority of the clientele is Gujarati (which is the case for most of Matheran, for the uninitiated) , which would explain why the food is pure vegetarian and why Gujarati food figures so promptly in all their menu.

The suite rooms have just been done up and are good (though I would still rate their best as average), the rooms in the other categories vary from good to mediocre and the decor reeks of thoughtless, super-rapid, mass construction.

The service though, despite the cheerfulness of the staff, remains pathetic, you probably will never get anything unless you have called thrice and insisted in not so polite expressions and all room service seems like a terrible favour being done to you.

The good thing is however, the location. Located right in the main market of Matheran, it is within reasonable walking distance from most of attraction, half an hour away from Dasturi, the point where cars stop and Eco-friendly sensitivities take over.

On the whole, choose the hotel of the location and for the food, if you like the "meals included in the package" variety of hotels. It is fun for kids and the family though, with lots of little activities like magic shows and sports activities and a little dance floor too. Though of course, it is not very different from most other hotels that offer the same.

Average hotel !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pranavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

A weekend with family terribly wasted. damp rooms, rude and unfriendly staff, dirty and unclean bedsheets, fungus on the walls were the key highlights. to top it , the reception staff actually asked us to get out, in such plain words, because they wouldnt give us a refund of the difference to change rooms from horrible AC rooms to slightly better non ac rooms and apology was no where in their dictionary. the only saving grace was the buffet meals which were atleast eatable. a definite no no to this place

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hersheyhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is now owned by Ajmera group and is now renamed Adamo Village. It has adjoining Adamo Resort (ex Richie Richie Resort) where buffet lunch and dinner was served. Food (primarily Gujarati cuisine) seems to be the USP of the hotel. After long walks in the rain, this was something we used to look forward to.
tariff varies during weekdays & weekends.
The hotel primarily caters to family looking for weekend getaways. It has a swimming pool & plenty of play area.
Room have sit-out area to enjoy tea/coffee during downpour.
Staff is very courteous.
Be wary of monkeys around the hotel.

Room Tip: Options for couples, family & large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kilroy_Mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

staying at riviera was a very horrible experience. we had booked 2 AC rooms which were so dirty we could not have imagined. There were spider webs, cockroaches running on the bed sheets. Dirty bed sheets and pillow covers. Pillow covers were so bad with fungus on them. When i complained about this, the hotel staff explained saying its matheran sir "aisa to hoga hi" ... we had to shift to Non- AC rooms which were a little cleaner but still were stinking badly.

I requested the hotel staff to adjust some of our expenses as we decided to vacate the rooms prior to our schedule. It was just a request and the guy named "Ganesh" started using abusive language not permissible in daily communication, forget hospitality business. When one of the senior agreed to our request the angry fellow said " Agar aap nahi bolte to main isase saare paise le kar rehta" and in the end when we left the place shouted "Get out from here, bot dekhe hain tumhare jaise"

THE WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER

Room Tip: Pathetic !!! Horrible !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnkitVarshneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Riveria has mind blowing, mouth watering food, you will not wish to get up of the table, the all inclusive package is very economical and really worth it.

You b there once and you go there again and again.

Mind you, you will gain weight as you cant stop eating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler_198185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Amazing food with good stay at resonable price

Its a gr8 hotel renames as Adomo village,

Visit it and u will appreciate

gujarati food in morning and gr8 cocktail food in eveningin open.

do visit matheran and dont forget the name Rivera

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HIRENDOSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We went to Matheran in May 2011 for 3 days with extended family and kids. We had booked this hotel a couple of months in advance. Booking was easy. This place is a gem of a place in Matheran! Its location is awesome, right in the middle of the market place, yet so serene and calm.
The food is great too; Gujarati thali for lunch and chat, tandoor items, Punjabi buffet for dinner. And dont forget the nice breakfast and afternoon tea/coffee as well. Everything is vegetarian (though we are not) but overall, we were quite impressed. Did gain a few pounds:)
For 3 days, there was a Magic show, Juggler show and Puppet show and add to it there was a DJ for dancing as well! Kids enjoyed it a lot!
There is ample over space and there is cricket, pool table, carrom, table tennis, badminton and a clean swimming pool as well.
Overall, I would recommend this place to my friends and family and would definitely stay here is future as well!

Room Tip: Book an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
141 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
102 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamo The Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamo The Village

Address: Kasturba Road | Taluka-Karjat, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Hotel Riviera)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Matheran
Price Range: $45 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ajmera group institutes its courtesy arm Adamo, derived from a Latin word which means ‘to fall in love with’ in the realm of hospitality. Adamo hospitality announces with pride that since a decade we have fostered happiness of countless Guest’s under our brand “Adamo The Village” a Heritage Property with an only aim to provide impeccable services and unparallel facilities which has been achieved and is consistently being delivered.Adamo The Village itself speaks Atithi padharo mare ghaam….. to the countryside nestled in the lap of nature Matheran. Simplicity and royal touch of interiors has been intricately carved to suit our valuable guests in search of a rustic habitat and a rendezvous with Nature…. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing