We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth 3200 INR at all..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth 3200 INR at all..”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Went with my wife and booked a AC deluxe room for a weekend vacation .. There are cracks in the ceilings and no toiletries in the restroom ....The AC was a waste as there were very frequent power cuts ......Liquor has to be called from outside ...The food was Ok ok ......typical buffet .....the room phone was making too much of noise .....u have to call for the house-keeping for cleaning the room ...Pathetic stay and no value for money .....cant call for something other than the scheduled Bf/Lunch and dinner ....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudiptac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    111
    60
    27
    36
See reviews for
177
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We celebratedour first anniversary here and we are so grateful that we chose this hotel...
It was a wonderful stay for us for 2 nights and it was well balanced with fun activities like Housie, DJ, CampFire, Magic Show.. and we could also make out great leisure time..
Food was good however the rooms could have been better..
The swimming pool was a pleasure and we also took the Royal massage..

All in all.. 4 STARS!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pravinEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

After the tiring walk from the Dasturi car park to the Horseland hotel, we were shown 2 rooms by the hotel attendants. The first room was a deluxe room which was near the swimming pool. The other room was a bamboo house which had all amenities( AC/TV etc) but somehow we liked the first room better.
The staff at the reception were very courteous and gave us a good deal for our 2 nights stay. The best part of this hotel is that all meals(veg/non veg) are provided by the hotel.
The quality of the food was very good and we enjoyed most of the meals there.

There are many inhouse activities arranged by the hotel like Karaoke singing, Housie, picnics,jugglery shows etc which keeps the guests occupied.

There are also different games like carrom, chess, Table tennis, badminton etc to keep the guests occupied.

Our main reason to choose this resort was because of the "Mountain Spa" wherein we thought that we could relax with some massages. However we were very dissapointed with the organisation of the spa. They had a very fancy menu with many massages being listed, but when we started enquiring about them, we found out that most of the services were not available. For Example.. Ayurvedic massage was not available as the concerned masseur was on leave...etc... We finally settled with whatever was available.
Finally after many follow ups and reminders, we did get our massage which was quite good.

There is a swimming pool with a mini waterfall but the water was not heated and too cold to enjoy.

There are many monkeys around the place and you need to be careful to keep your rooms closed at all times, be careful while carrying/eating eatables in the open.

There are many guides at the reception and at the entrance of the hotel who will ask you to book horses for sightseeing trips around Matheran. Need to negotiate properly with them and agree on a good price as they usually quote exorbitant prices.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

It was a wonderfull experience. Enjoyed good food in mid of the naughty monkeys, ducks & horses. It was a good learning for my daughter. most amazing thing about this place is the red mud all over the hill station. The hotel staff is pleasing with some excellent entertainment for kids and elders. Kids enjoyed the pool and the waterfall too.
The gym and the Kerala massage was also refreshing. although this is not a very big hotel but it has something for everyone. i got to try my hand back on table tennis after a long time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2010

It is a good place with lot of activities such as karaoke , carrom , TT . They also arrange activities eg during my stay a magical show was arranged .
Place is beautiful and surrounded by green wood.
It is located very close to Matheran Bazar .
We have taken two rooms on GF , one of the room was a bit smelly , i guess bcaz of rain . I paid Rs 10,000 all inclusive ( Tax and all food) for 2 rooms for 2 days / 3 night . I guess it was a rate offered for a off season , You may pad it up by 40% when you are travelling during the peak season .
Breakfast was basic
Lunch was very good
Dinner was good
Overall food quality is good.
Staff is really good and service is prompt .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

1) Excellent Food
2) Best Service
3) Beautiful Surrounding

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKT2979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Horseland Hotel in Matheran just happened to be chosen accidentally by me over Website. And I decided to give it a chance. To my good luck, the risk paid off and Hotel was really good and value for money. The best part was it's food which was just too good and delicious with a wide variety. But Strictly for Vegetarians, it was a Veg Paradise.

Location was good, near to the Market.

Overall the stay was comfortable. And the kids too enjoed at the Swimming Pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBBYGOEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
290 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#227 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Property: Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Address: Vitthalrao Kotwal Road | opp shabbirbhai birayani wala, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most scenic resorts in the Hills of Matheran, Horseland Hotel is a must visit for all travel goers and holidayers. Maintaining the perfect balance between Economy, activity and Luxury, Horseland Hotel and Mountain Spa is the vacation home for everyone. Child-Friendly? With activities like Horse Riding, Feeding the Bunnies, Hikes and Adventure Shows to keep your children occupied and enthralled, you'll barely worry about how they're going to be entertained. We have a list of activities that vary with every day and are sure to keep your kids involved. Or perhaps it's a trip for two or a group of friends? If you're an adventure buff, seek no more. We have hikes, treks and the scenic beauty of Matheran for people to get lost in (but always found!). The evenings are full of fun events like Karaoke, dancing, bonfires and a variety of exciting and fun activities. Whether you're a family, a group of friends or a couple looking for the perfect romantic getaway, the Horseland Hotel is your ideal destination spot for that relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing