We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the place and food, dont bother for cleanliness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Thane, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy the place and food, dont bother for cleanliness”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Matheran was way beyond my expectation. The most pristine and unspoilt of hillstations and probably because there is no motorized vehicles allowed. the Fog is to be seen to be believed and you may feel as if you are floating amongst clouds but the problem of no public transport is you have to be at mercy of horse riders who will charge a bomb unless you negotiate well or be prepared to walk all along. it is a 2.5 km walk up hill and following the rail track is a sensible safe route if you choose to walk instead of a pulled rickshaw or horse
The hotel is right in the market near the station, so if you choose to drive down till the base camp point , you can park the vehice and then take the train. Do not go too late in the night as then you may miss the train and be at the mercy of horse riders , coolies or rickshaw pullers who will charge as they please. an average charge is in the range of 300 per horse and 150 per coolie but negotiable.
there are many points to visit as any hill station and can be covered in 1 day itself. A relatively safe place to explore around on your own. be sure to experinece their version of the raincoat made of plastic sheet and a funny hat all of which gives desired protection from rain
the hotel serves excellent food but can do with attention to cleaner brighter rooms. Service is good and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohanmhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    111
    57
    25
    36
See reviews for
175
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Location: Good. Very close to market yet secluded. While entering Matheran, pass railway station on your left. Then on your right you will see the only ATM in Matheran- Union bank. Then on your right hand side you will see a Masjid. Climb the stairs leading to Masjid. These stairs go straight to the resort.

Food: Average. The taste was not great but spread was good. This means it is easy to find something that you will like.

Rooms: I know how difficult it must be to maintain rooms in such humid climate. Having said that, the rooms are in desperate need of renovation. All typical age related problems are there. Non functioning lights, patchy walls, broken furniture, non-working TV etc. Then there is stink- Lack of sunlight makes the “superior” rooms on ground floor, very stinky. The sheets/ blanket/ pillows could easily induce vomiting (rat urine maybe).I spent an entire can of room freshener to no avail. Final straw was rodents having fun time in my room. This meant disturbed sleep and constant worry of my expensive gadgets falling prey to their sharp teeth. Hence, next day I switched to another “deluxe” room in the first floor. This room was small and had been furnished sparingly. However, there was no smell and we somehow managed there.

Management: To their credit, manager was very helpful and always smiling and immediately agreed to change first the sheets and then the room (though always remember that we were requesting downgrade, without any refund)

Ambience: There is no “view” from rooms. While you are in resort, you will not get any “feel” of matheran. Don’t stay in resort. Walk out.

Noise: This is my personal opinion. I found the discotheque rather irritating. I would prefer to enjoy peace while in Matheran (discos in Mumbai are much better). From 830 to 10 in evening they have very loud music playing in open air.

Spa: One word about Spa. They advertise it extensively (its part of their name). However, the spa there is nothing more that two massage rooms- one each for ladies and gents. The place is managed unprofessionally. I took leg massage on day one and found it to be very average. Next day, it was closed full day because the guy didn't turn up for work or something.

Pricing: Overall, rack rates are too high and resort is certainly not worth the price. I got almost 60% discount on rack rates from a travel portal and still felt somewhat unsatisfied with my stay.

Verdict: This resort is past its prime and living on past glory. Avoid.

Room Tip: Don't fall for "Superior" pool facing rooms bait. They are dirty, smelly and have rode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajaymeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matheran hotels

Pune, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was there for a relaxing trip....to begin with i liked the location of the hotel...in the centre of the market...but as we entered the rooms, i could sense the trip would be annoying, to start with the a/c was not working, and there was some problem with the fridge also which was continously making some noises...when contacted the hotel staff., they were not at all helpful or humble enough to acccept the faults. Pathetic room service. Food was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleshraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location: Excellent location, and close to main market (5-7 mins walking)
Room: The room was clean but not that great overall, but I think one shouldn't expect more in Matheran (not sure). Lighting inside room (including bathroom) is dull though.
Food: They offer wide variety during buffets, good taste, and hygenic.
Service: The staff was quick to help whenever approached

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickyg1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalyan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Best time we had in Matheran we stayed in Horseland Resort, one of the best place for accomodation in Matheran, supported with all Facilities and food was Awsome..this is the 6th time i have visiting matheran and out of this 4 times i have been to Horseland..Value for Money..Good Dj ..Fire Show was Awsome...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ujwal_guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Actually We traveled first in January 2009. (quoted below September 2012 as the system is not allowing to put our travel dates.) Since, then never looked back and started visiting this Resort with family and friends 3 to 4 times a year.
Excellent hotel - Always courteous Staff ready to help/attend to the needs of the Customer's. Needless to add from Senior level to the house cleaning worker. Good food - Family & friends excitingly waiting for sumptuous unlimited breakfast/lunch/dinner. Activities for All age all throughout the day with the rest in afternoon and of course night.
Indeed it is a Home away from Home for us !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but our preference is opposite the swimming pool on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minoo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Visited in august for 2 days and i was overwhelmed with the dedication and focus of their staff to make your stay so comfortable and just pleasant. Excellent location, amazing service, delicious food and over all excellent range of activities for the whole family. I miss that morning breakfast and evening tea above water fall... SIMPLY AWESOME!!!
.

Room Tip: try their duplex and pool facing rooms... be careful of monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nayabshaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
28.8 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
29.2 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
29.2 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#51 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Property: Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Address: Vitthalrao Kotwal Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most scenic resorts in the Hills of Matheran, Horseland Hotel is a must visit for all travel goers and holidayers. Maintaining the perfect balance between Economy, activity and Luxury, Horseland Hotel and Mountain Spa is the vacation home for everyone. Child-Friendly? With activities like Horse Riding, Feeding the Bunnies, Hikes and Adventure Shows to keep your children occupied and enthralled, you'll barely worry about how they're going to be entertained. We have a list of activities that vary with every day and are sure to keep your kids involved. Or perhaps it's a trip for two or a group of friends? If you're an adventure buff, seek no more. We have hikes, treks and the scenic beauty of Matheran for people to get lost in (but always found!). The evenings are full of fun events like Karaoke, dancing, bonfires and a variety of exciting and fun activities. Whether you're a family, a group of friends or a couple looking for the perfect romantic getaway, the Horseland Hotel is your ideal destination spot for that relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing