We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT CHOICE TO SELECT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Reviewed December 15, 2011

An amazing place run by the previous owners of Brightlands 'Adi'. The rooms are spacious and comforatable with amenities. Breakfast is good - dinner excellent. Pool is good with water falls for both the young and not so young. A lot of indoor games and activities to keep yourself occupied. The 'disco' at nights is worth the time spent. Market is not too far - remember everything in Matheran is on horse back on on legs eleven!! Staff is very hospitable. The 'owners' are real great people to deal with. Overall worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Honey mooners book the rooms facing the woods - pool facing rooms could spoil your romantic settings...
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank apintolobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 328 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent food with variety, spacious rooms, loads of entertainment, overall a pleasant experience with family. Thought it was good value for money. If you are looking for 5-star experience and squeaky clean hotel, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms for good view, wood-facing rooms for those who want absolute calm.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ParthaLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotel provides breakfast and dinner and the food is good. The best part of the hotel was the crowd. There is a swiming pool along with table-tennis, badminton, carroms, cards for you to pass time in the hotel incase you choose to stay

In the evening they organized a site seeing around matheran followed by tambola and then disco in the night.

However be sure to check the rooms. Sometimes the AC/TV dont work. And also there are some monkeys which could getin if you leave the window open. The hotel is on a expensive side and you have to walk a little to get to the place. But Matheran is about walking.

Overall for our trip we accidentaly choosed the hotel and it was worth the risk.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shahimadhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Matheran is the most beautiful and nearest hill station from Mumbai; thus a perfect getaway. Hotel Horseland is perfectly nestled in this beauty of Matheran, with an easy access to the local market. The hospitality and service are good and the rooms are spacious with modern facilities and comfort. The place offers so many luxuries that we spent most of our time at the resort enjoying the ayurvedic massage, relaxing in the pool with waterfalls and must mention the mouth watering food offering a variety of different cuisines. We made the most of the entertainment offered like the theme nights, disco, walking tours and the play area. Overall a good place to spend the weeekend.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SunShil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Horseland Hotel in Matheran just happened to be chosen accidentally by me over Website. And I decided to give it a chance. To my good luck, the risk paid off and Hotel was really good and value for money. The best part was it's food which was just too good and delicious with a wide variety. But Strictly for Vegetarians, it was a Veg Paradise.

Location was good, near to the Market.

Overall the stay was comfortable.

Room Tip: pool side room location r best
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jigneshsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

When you arrive the hotel, first look can be disappointing, make sure to really check the rooms before you check-in. Room did have seepage but overall was not smelly or bad. decent size. If the TV or AC is not working please tell the staff, they normally switch it on only on request. The staff was helpful and courteous. Food is amazing, whether its chinese, north indian or south indian, everything tastes good. it was worth taking an all meals inclusive package. Market is only 5mins walking from the hotel.
Key points like charlotte lake, echo point are easily walkable from here.

They have a nice pool, kids playing area,carrom etc. in terms of activities at the resort. Be careful of the monkeys, Room no 103 which was ours seems to be favourite spot for monkeys, they wont let us sit outside in the daytime. please keep your room door and windows close at all times as the monkeys do get into the room to snatch away stuff.

Room Tip: Make sure to see all room types available, a deluxe room might just sting more than a standard room...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shiivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Amidst all the Greenery and Landscape lies this hotel whose Entrance is through a narrow road uphill... well not steep...It is worth visiting this place as it not only has good Rooms and a Waterfall Swimming pool but also the staff that will make you feel at home..

The Food is excellent and let me tell you if you are tired and do not want to go out to see points dont worry this Hotel arranges loads of Activities,Games to keep you occupied and well not to forget the Disco theque where you can shake a leg.

Overall let me tell you it was a fantastic visit and although i had visited Matheran Earlier but by visiting this place i got to see a different Matheran my word worth a visit....

Enjoy....

Room Tip: Go for pool Facing or Superior Deluxe at a Height
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Leorulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa

Address: Vitthalrao Kotwal Road | opp shabbirbhai birayani wala, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $30 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most scenic resorts in the Hills of Matheran, Horseland Hotel is a must visit for all travel goers and holidayers. Maintaining the perfect balance between Economy, activity and Luxury, Horseland Hotel and Mountain Spa is the vacation home for everyone. Child-Friendly? With activities like Horse Riding, Feeding the Bunnies, Hikes and Adventure Shows to keep your children occupied and enthralled, you'll barely worry about how they're going to be entertained. We have a list of activities that vary with every day and are sure to keep your kids involved. Or perhaps it's a trip for two or a group of friends? If you're an adventure buff, seek no more. We have hikes, treks and the scenic beauty of Matheran for people to get lost in (but always found!). The evenings are full of fun events like Karaoke, dancing, bonfires and a variety of exciting and fun activities. Whether you're a family, a group of friends or a couple looking for the perfect romantic getaway, the Horseland Hotel is your ideal destination spot for that relaxing holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing