We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a heavenly stay at the verandah ! Our only regret is that 1 night was way to short ...diner was superbe, the room spotless, great hot shower , stunning surroundings... A little heaven on earth.
If you considder a walk, ask for Imran at reception. We were 2 ladies, went out late afternoon and felt perfectly comfortable with him, even after sunset in the dark woods :-)
Out of my 3,5 week stay in India, my stay at the Verandagh was the highlight of my holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Anne-Marie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your kind feedback about The Verandah in the Forest.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@nemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    191
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
217
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Matheran is the most cleanest hill station I have ever been to! It is a drop of dew in the summer's heat & no other place around Mumbai to beat! I am in love with Matheran!! Everything about it is so charming be it the toy train or the small shoe shops or the horse ride & the simple people with much simpler attitude!

In order to explore this beauty of a place, one has to stay a minimum of one night. So my husband & I decided on our first trip that next time when we visit Matheran, we would stay a night. So this time in March on a weekend we decided to avail our one night in Matheran. I looked for the best property in Matheran & found The Verandah at the top of the list! We absolutely made the right choice as it is a gem in the forest.

The Verandah in the forest is run by Neemrana group of hospitality & like all their other properties this ones too a heritage. It is a 19th century property which was the second house to be built up on the isolated Western Ghats by Captain Barr. Hence, till today it is known as the Barr House! It is a little royal treat, nestled in the forests of Matheran. Surrounded by forests from all sides, it is a haven for bird watchers. Blessed by the purest serenity & calm it becomes unbelievable to imagine that something like this exists near Mumbai!

Some of the features that make this property work its charm on you are:

1. Its Location: It is both an advantage & a disadvantage for some. Matheran is a place where one has to walk a lot unless one decides to torture an animal's back or take a human for ride! After reaching Matheran, one has to walk 5-10 mins to the city centre. This property is another good 20-25mins walk from the centre. One can take help from a coolie or take a horse ride. We decided to walk the beautiful rustic pathway filled with the smell of the earth & surrounded by dense forest with monkeys to follow. When we finally arrived at the resort, it was quite a relief to enter a beautiful property like this one. It felt home, just more luxurious & more sophisticated.

2. The Rooms: The rooms transported me to an old world charm. The decor, every piece of furniture had a story to tell. The rooms were huge with a changing area & a bathroom with a mix of the old & the contemporary. I always wanted to stay in a portuguese style house in Goa but where ever I looked, it was way over my budget. All my desires were finally fulfilled at The Verandah! The long hall way, colossal corridors, enormous drawing room with tinted glass, had a touch of luxury, sophistication & lure. I felt like extending my stay by a week!

3. The Food: The food is buffet style with Indian for lunch & continental for dinner. INR 500/person for lunch & INR600/person for dinner. We had lunch at the resort which was good but could be better.

4. The Service: It is a hill station & people are bound to have a little laid back attitude. The service was a little slow but we didn't mind as we were there to relax & chill. What we appreciated was the way the staff handled our query. They were well informed, polite, simple people with a will & eagerness to help. Thats all that matters!

5. The Tariff: For the kind of property in such an awesome location, the price is perfect! It has 3 categories of room. All are excellent. I suggest the ones in the basement with a view of the garden & a swing, a ping pong table & a watch tower kind of thing overlooking the rooms.

6. The Shop: It has a tiny fancy shop with aesthetically selected items for sale. I love to shop in a forest!

The resort also provide facility of a porter for carrying luggage for a cost. In order to book a room one should book in advance as it is almost always full! I must say that we had an amazing time in the Verandah, with the two of us spending quality time, with no interference, not even a network in the mobile! With fond memories we came back only to pledge to return soon.

Thanks for reading. Be a responsible traveller.

Room Tip: Choose the forest room behind the laundry near the shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. Your appreciation about the décor has been conveyed to the Chairman.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm service to the team. We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the services and facilities offered.

With reference to your feedback about a Portuguese-style house in Goa, we would recommend considering Neemrana’s Cabana Dempo Noble Home which offers better value for money to our clients. This ancestral 19th century home of the Dempo family of Goa, is an intimate beach bungalow which almost owns its waters. It is a rare bungalow literally located on the secluded Siridao beach, 50 meters from the water. Its quiet, idyllic setting by a fishing village offers an insight into their lifestyle and is a great option for those looking for peaceful villas in Goa away from the commercial hustle and bustle of the city.

We thank you for your patronage to the Neemrana brand in India and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved our stay at the Verandah in the Forest - its in a beautiful location in the middle of the forest and is the perfect antidote to living in Mumbai. We were a 3 generation family with 2 children aged 9 and 7 and we loved the fact that there were no TV's in the rooms and that there was no signal for mobile phones! Bliss....it meant time spent playing table tennis with the kids, going for walks, playing games, watching the monkeys, feeding the dogs and just generally enjoying the our time - the days were longer and we slept well. We loved the old heritage property that has been brought back to life and the dinner by candlelight at a long dining table was a lovely toouch. The journey to and fom the car park by horseback was ultra special too, so relaxing and the horses we had were beatifully behaved and well kept.. Matheran is a perfect destination to get away from it all - and we will be back.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor rooms, which we thought were probably a little quieter as they don't l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honoured to read about your experience at The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and we are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the ‘non-hotel’ hotel experience.

It is only the initiated traveller that is able to appreciate true authenticity. Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel is placed in the heart of the forest and it is very quiet and the scenery is amazing. It is an very old place, but very well maintained. The room we stayed in was pretty big and clean. This is the best place to go if you want to get away from all the madness of a big city. They have a big garden with swings and hammocks where you can relax reading your paper or your book.
The staff is very friendly and their food is pretty good. They serve breakfast, Indian lunch and to our surprise very good continental dinner :).
The hotel is placed about 20 mins walking from the train station, which is not that good if you have luggage with you. There are options of hiring a pony or a horse and even a person to carry all the luggage for you, but if you are a foreigner you should be careful as they try to hike the price quite a bit.
Overall I will highly recommend this place to everyone. It is not easy to get rooms so one should book well in advance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cristinadhar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest.

We are pleased to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the location and the surrounding greenery of the property.

Your appreciation about the maintenance has been conveyed to the housekeeping team.

Your compliments about the food and the service are a huge motivator for the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing stays !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A beautiful and serene place to stay hidden in the midst of a forest and the singing and chirping of birds. The staff very friendly and helpful. The candle lit dinner not to be missed both for the atmosphere, service and the food preparation. The mulligatawny soup was excellent. This is the place to stay when in Matheran.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NaeemToorabally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we receive your positive feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

The Chef and the service team are pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the cuisine and the service.

Do venture out to any of the 28 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility. Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This 19th century bungalow in Matheran, transports you into another era. Set in a serene grove a little away from the crowded main bazaar of Matheran, this bungalow is the place you come to rejuvenate.

The beautiful period set rooms, the absolutely gorgeous dining & living room with a large verandah to top it all is an excellent setting. There is no television in your living rooms or common areas and minimal signal in your cellphones so you leave the world behind. This is the place you visit with a close friend and a favorite book. The staff is courteous & helpful and never obtrusive

We stayed in the Pandey room on the ground floor for a night, which opens up to the garden. They do a sit down formal dinner in candlelight on the 18 seater dining table and the continental dinner they served was delectable and deserves a whole review dedicated to it. The bathroom have a period feel with the metal buckets and 'lota' but were completely suited to our current requirements with running hot water and a western style water closet.

A note to some travelers - This bungalow is good 1.5-2 kms away from the train station so unless you are prepared to walk a good 30 mins engage a horse to get you there. However, a walk through the woods sets up the mood for the property. Charlot lake, Lord point and echo point is a short walk away - but if you are coming to Matheran for a day or two and staying here, then don't head elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a dilapidated ruin.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality is a huge motivator for the team that strives hard to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible.

The Chef is delighted to receive your positive feedback about the dinner experience.

At Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. We are pleased to receive your compliments about the same.

Thank you for your patronage to The Verandah. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Verandah for three nights and was one of the most wonderful experiences we have had. The hotel is surrounded with lush green outfields and is a great place for a perfect very peaceful holiday.

Rooms - Very spacious rooms with a very distinct old world charm. This is the best part. The rooms are very clean with equally spacious and clean bathrooms.

Service - Service at the hotel is excellent and we found that all our requests were immediately attended. The staff is very courteous and always ready to help.

Food - Variety of choices for breakfast (cereals, tea, coffee, breads, egg items, Indian snacks, fruits) were a high point. Lunch is Indian and continental is served for dinner. Evening tea is served with cookies, chiki and an Indian snack.

Surroundings - The property is kept very clean and the surroundings are a total bliss amidst the forest.

A highly recommend place for a quite, peaceful and a very relaxing holiday!! The best part is cell phone networks are weak at the property which spares you from the emails,whatsapp and messages on the holiday :-)

Room Tip: If you are going in a group, you can opt for the rooms on the ground floor (Panday, Jehangir, Jhejee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manav282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at The Verandah in the Forest.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay. Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the housekeeping team. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the service to the team. Your kind words are a huge motivator for them.

The Chef is delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed his preparations and the variety offered.

Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
23.6 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Property: Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing