We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A beautiful and serene place to stay hidden in the midst of a forest and the singing and chirping of birds. The staff very friendly and helpful. The candle lit dinner not to be missed both for the atmosphere, service and the food preparation. The mulligatawny soup was excellent. This is the place to stay when in Matheran.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NaeemToorabally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we receive your positive feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

The Chef and the service team are pleased to know that you thoroughly relished the cuisine and the service.

Do venture out to any of the 28 Neemrana 'non-hotel' Hotels and continue to send us your feedback, so that we continue to serve you with the same Neemrana brand of simplicity and style with the renowned Indian humility. Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

This 19th century bungalow in Matheran, transports you into another era. Set in a serene grove a little away from the crowded main bazaar of Matheran, this bungalow is the place you come to rejuvenate.

The beautiful period set rooms, the absolutely gorgeous dining & living room with a large verandah to top it all is an excellent setting. There is no television in your living rooms or common areas and minimal signal in your cellphones so you leave the world behind. This is the place you visit with a close friend and a favorite book. The staff is courteous & helpful and never obtrusive

We stayed in the Pandey room on the ground floor for a night, which opens up to the garden. They do a sit down formal dinner in candlelight on the 18 seater dining table and the continental dinner they served was delectable and deserves a whole review dedicated to it. The bathroom have a period feel with the metal buckets and 'lota' but were completely suited to our current requirements with running hot water and a western style water closet.

A note to some travelers - This bungalow is good 1.5-2 kms away from the train station so unless you are prepared to walk a good 30 mins engage a horse to get you there. However, a walk through the woods sets up the mood for the property. Charlot lake, Lord point and echo point is a short walk away - but if you are coming to Matheran for a day or two and staying here, then don't head elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akshat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a dilapidated ruin.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality is a huge motivator for the team that strives hard to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible.

The Chef is delighted to receive your positive feedback about the dinner experience.

At Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. We are pleased to receive your compliments about the same.

Thank you for your patronage to The Verandah. We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Verandah for three nights and was one of the most wonderful experiences we have had. The hotel is surrounded with lush green outfields and is a great place for a perfect very peaceful holiday.

Rooms - Very spacious rooms with a very distinct old world charm. This is the best part. The rooms are very clean with equally spacious and clean bathrooms.

Service - Service at the hotel is excellent and we found that all our requests were immediately attended. The staff is very courteous and always ready to help.

Food - Variety of choices for breakfast (cereals, tea, coffee, breads, egg items, Indian snacks, fruits) were a high point. Lunch is Indian and continental is served for dinner. Evening tea is served with cookies, chiki and an Indian snack.

Surroundings - The property is kept very clean and the surroundings are a total bliss amidst the forest.

A highly recommend place for a quite, peaceful and a very relaxing holiday!! The best part is cell phone networks are weak at the property which spares you from the emails,whatsapp and messages on the holiday :-)

Room Tip: If you are going in a group, you can opt for the rooms on the ground floor (Panday, Jehangir, Jhejee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manav282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read about your experience at The Verandah in the Forest.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay. Your compliments about the maintenance have been conveyed to the housekeeping team. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the service to the team. Your kind words are a huge motivator for them.

The Chef is delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed his preparations and the variety offered.

Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a lovely property and well worth a visit.

The piece de resistance is, unsurprisingly, the massive verandah which looks out onto nothing but trees (and a distant mountain). You can lie here for hours on the easy chairs just listening to the rustling of the leaves- it is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. The rest of this old bungalow is also charming and beautiful. The dining room contains an impressive grand dining table and the candle lit dinner there was a real treat. All the bedrooms are enormous and have incredibly high ceilings. The rooms are not luxurious but are very comfortable and we slept very soundly indeed. The property is well maintained throughout.

The service we received was very good indeed. The staff were sweet, helpful and obliging and went out of their way for us. The food (breakfast lunch and dinner) was very tasty and we were particular impressed by the 4 course sit down dinner which we were served in the evening.

Would definitely recommend staying at the Verandah.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AB11174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is heartening to know that you had a comfortable stay. We have conveyed your appreciation about the maintenance to the Manager and the housekeeping team.

Your compliments about the dinner experience have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team !

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This property in Matheran is absolutely beautiful. Old style furniture, four poster beds, easy chairs, the long dining table is amazing. The Veranda which is the highlight of this place is perfect for a weekend of relaxing and looking over the hills while you have a cup of tea in their gorgeous white tea cups.
If you are looking for a place of peace and quiet, for a weekend of lazing around and good food after the hectic city life, this is it. Catch up on reading or with your family. Time slows down here.
The only thing is you won't be getting any mobile network in this place. Though for some even this could be a boon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAhmedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your appreciation about the décor has been conveyed to our Chairman.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Parsis at the turn of the century lived like kings! I know this because I recently stayed in one house, which was meant to recreate their lifestyle. Enter 'The Verandah in the Forest'. It's a 19th Century bungalow which is converted into a boutique hotel.

First of all the location: The location is amazing, if you want a quiet hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Matheran town. If connectivity is your chief criterion, then this is probably not the best place to stay. The Verandah in the Forest is about 30 minutes walking from Matheran station. It's a stone's throw away from Charlotte Lake. It's this distance that endeared it to us. There are no sounds of civilization out here. The only sounds you will hear are the monkeys calling and the birds chirping. The only sights you will see are the dense forests in all directions. Nothing else! If this isn't your cuppa, then you are most welcome to stay in any of the hotels that dot the marketplace next to Matheran Station!

Now the resort: The resort is one big bungalow with 12 rooms. Each room has been named after an eminent family. So you have rooms named Jeejeebhoy, Kapadia, Panday, or the one that we stayed in: Petit. Each room is done up in turn of the century decor. I'm talking heavy wooden furniture, four poster beds and so on. There's a lounge/ recreation area which has a carrom board and books for reading etc., which is similarly (beautifully) done up.

The highlight of the property is undoubtedly the dining hall. This is one luxurious affair, with a huge table seating about 20-30 guests, neatly arranged crockery - the whole nine yards - I'm taking 3 knives on one side, 3 forks on the other - ornate candelabras for a candle-lit dinner experience, white robed attendants who announce course after course of the four course meal; beautiful!

They also have a small wooden machan or tree-house in their yard just in front of the main bungalow. Perfect for sitting with a cuppa in the morning, reading your favorite book.

Areas of improvement? There are a few: I'd have liked my room to be more furnished. I'm not talking 21st century comforts, I'm talking stuff like chandeliers for example; better lighting etc., all stuff which would be congruent with the 19th century theme, but would make the room stand out. Petit was one of the more expensive (and larger) rooms. They have smaller rooms starting from Rs. 4500, going up to Petit @ approx. Rs. 7000. However it seemed to me that the higher price was solely based on the size. I'd have appreciated if they'd have provided some of the things that I've mentioned above, for this price. Secondly, I'd have appreciated some Indian options for dinner. The dinner that we had (exotic though it was, without a doubt), was all western. We'd have loved to have an Indian dinner in the same setting.

But these are all minor blemishes on an otherwise perfect experience.

Room Tip: Last choice would be: Kapadia and Shankarsett rooms. Second-to-last choice would be the ground-floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanmay_Joshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is rewarding to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate, away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed the dinner experience. The lunch at The Verandah is served as an Indian Buffet with an array of dishes prepared ‘home-style’. The dinners are served at the dining table in a grand candle-lit setting. The dinner is a four course Continental Table d’ Hote menu (set/fixed menu). Should you wish to be served Indian cuisine at dinner please let us know before you arrive.

As you are aware, an authentic restoration involves restoring the ruined building to its former glory. Every effort has been made to retain the old-world charm and simplicity of the Verandah. We believe that our discerning travellers leave home to taste the 'difference' and seek authenticity rather than faked luxury.

Thank you for your patronage !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We did not go to matheran and stayed at the verandah...we wanted to go to the verandah, hence went to matheran...and I am glad we stayed there...we savor every moment spent there..
The food is excellent considering you are at a small hill station and not a metro city..
The huge verandah, the bed room, the drawing room and the dining space would take you to a bygone era, literally ,as you will be completely cut off from the hassles of your city life with no TV and mobile network in your room ;)
If you are staying at verandah, take the first floor rooms ( Petit being the best).. The ground floor isn't that fun...and though they mention in their site that kapadia is "literally in the middle of the forest", the room is actually made up of two small rooms at the backside of the building and isn't half as good as the first floor rooms...

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 4camellia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are honoured to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable stay in the Petit room. Your generous words about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
106 reviews
10 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
144 reviews
16.4 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
10 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest

Address: Charlotte Lake Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing