We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“A refreshing experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was an impromptu decision to make a trip to Matheran. But the stay in the lovely hotel made all the efforst worthwhile, especially as we encountered all sorts of adventure- started with a flat tire from Mumbai, reached Dasturi short of 5 mins and missed the toy train, encountered monkey attack as we walked up the way to Barr house. After 1 hr of uphill walk, as we set out foot in the varendah of the lovely resort, all our tiredness was swept away. The ambiance is calm, serene. The place well maintained. The architecture has a old world charm, with all the basic amenities available. Food that gives you the taste of home kitchen. And very courteous staff. Though we stayed there just for a day, it felt as if I had been there for more than that. We came back refreshed, charged. Was glad to be part of the experiance and look forward to more such experiances with Neemrana resorts

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorvi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience at the property. Your appreciation about the maintenance has been conveyed to the team at Matheran.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine and the service to the Chef and the service team.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana properties and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    189
    35
    5
    3
See reviews for
154
213
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The place is beautiful, in the middle of the forest and very peaceful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the staff is courteous and helpful. We stayed there for 2 nights.. over a weekend and had an awesome time. It takes you to a time gone past, no TVs .. no ACs.. no room service.. no bells.. no noise.. nothing.. its all very homely.. you can spend your time reading on the lounge chairs on the verandah or playing table tennis and carrom or board games.. all of which are provided by the Verandah..

Turn off - monkeys jumping on the roof in the morning. but i doubt the staff can do anything about them :) Also mosquitoes at night.. :(

Since there is no room service, everyone, all the people staying there.. kind of sit together to enjoy the meals. The dinner is a special candle light affair with 4 course meals which is delicious. Although i did find this place to be a little over priced.. the meals were 500 rupees per person per meal. If you roam around in matheran market, two people can eat in that much money. But its so secluded, that you don't feel like going to the busy market. :)

We had a restful weekend there, away from Mumbai's hustle bustle. Just what we needed. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Petit on the first floor. It was big and beautiful, a little too big for a couple if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyataGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of the property. Your compliments about the service and the hospitality have been conveyed to the team at Matheran. We have also conveyed your appreciation about the dinner to the Chef.

It is heartening to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate and thoroughly enjoyed the activities offered.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Picture entering the 19th century for the duration of your stay. The Verandah really is as beautiful as it looks in the photos, but with the added view of the mountains, and the view changes every hour or even minute with the rains or clouds. The room was ENORMOUS, high ceiling, 4 poster beds for either single or double plus a chaise lounge for reading. How does one decide where to read? Outside with chairs with leg rests overlooking the forest and monkeys? Or in the comfort of your room? There is a double sink , enough closet space for your entire wardrobe, and a shower which actually works, buckets in my case were just for decoration.
The big surprise of the place is world class chef Mahesh Sain!!!!!!! He is a world class chef, anything you could want for a buffet breakfast on the Verandah, Indian mouth watering lunch, and ... a candelabra lit dinner on a long table indoors, Western menu for dinner. It starts with soup, we had lemon grass soup, tomato soup, corn soup, then followed by a quiche and salad, followed by a generous and healthy gourmet main course with lots of fresh steamed veggies. There are veg or non-veg options as in all of India. We actually became friends with Mahesh and benefited from a cooking lesson and he made a birthday cake for my traveling companion to surprise her.
The staff couldn't do enough for us. We did yoga and meditation in the tree house. Other guests were a delight to meet.
Charlotte Lake is hidden from view but is just below this property.
Woke up early in the mornings and sat at the cliff, waterfall and watched the waterfall, mountains and lake.
If you are not a rigorous walker or are afraid of horses, forget it. This is a nature holiday, a long walk from the center. We took horses and a porter to get there, and walked back with a porter. Every day we walked for 3 hours and happened upon Ganesha celebrations, lovely animals. I loved the monkeys, but be careful when feeding them! Same with dogs and horses.
Can't recommend this place enough for nature lovers who need to get away from technology and modern life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Your generous compliments about the cuisine and the dining experience have been conveyed to the Chef. We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm hospitality to the service team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The husband and I spent a couple of days in the Verandah. Its a bit out of the way, but well worth the trek. My favourite part was sitting in the verandah as the mist rolled in. There are a number of pretty little viewpoints nearby, but you'd need sturdy shoes to get to these.
More on the hotel: There was decent fare for breakfast, and there is old-fashioned continental menu for dinner (which I, for one, enjoyed). The candlelit dinner and the thoughtful service was lovely.
Our room was nicely put-together, and I liked the little touches that are so much a part of the Neemrana brand. Service was usually nice, but I'd say that some of the younger staff members need to be better-trained. There was an occasional smirk or two if we were a bit late in opening the door when they knocked. This kind of behavior is unacceptable.
Such lapses aside, the rest of the staff, especially the manager, were competent and very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nyctanthes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the property. Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef.

We have noted your observations and assure you that the team has been given the necessary support and instructions to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the trouble faced.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I read about it in 'The Explorer' this year, and was tempted by the description. I must say that the place met its reputation and my expectations. It is away from the main market in Matheran and hence less crowded.

The reception was lukewarm and I think they could have made it much warmer. We were received by not so pleasant staff who offered us drinks without any smile and immediately started hastening us to have lunch. Owing to the fact that vehicles are not allowed in Matheran, we had walked all the way from Dastoori Naka (for about 3.5 km) in rain, they could have made it better by offering hot water to wash the mud off and give us some time to relax and settle down. Their behavior was dry and no hospitality. They kept hastening us to have lunch as the lunch time was about to finish, even before we put our luggage in the room and change clothes. We hardly convinced them to keep our luggage in the room before having lunch. I was most certainly not looking forward to such a welcome in a well reputed hotel which had recently received an award for service.

The building itself is at a distance from the street leading to Charlotte lake. Though it is at some distance from Charlotte lake, noise coming from the lake and nearby waterfall was audible in the hotel itself during weekend. Weekdays were quite and peaceful.

The place has a rustic feeling. The property is the second built house in Matheran. It gives you feeling of old houses with large verandah, dining room with large dining table, candle holders and large cutlery cupboards. Old style decor, large easy chairs with leg rest, spacious rooms, it takes you back in time. The ground surrounding the building is covered with trees, giving it a feel of forest. They arrange breakfast and lunch in the large verandah and its lovely to sit and look at the picturesque view of mountains covered with clouds. The ground offers enough space to relax and enjoy some time in nature. Being Monsoon season, the ground was covered in dense fog many times, and we enjoyed the scenic view with rain, fog, greenery and serenity. The tree house in the ground was a good place to hang out, with sound of rain & birds in the background.

We had opted for room – Pandey which is below the main building in a corner. Being monsoon, they had covered the front verandah with waterproof curtains and hence the room was very dark. We had to have lights on even during daytime, but I am sure in sunny days, the room must be having enough light. Room was large with a four poster bed, and a day bed.

Service was most disappointing part of the stay, it was as good as non existent. With time we concluded that the staff was good by nature but untrained. We didnt see the manager even once during our 3 days stay in the hotel or common areas, we saw him only once when we visited the shop in premises. In general we felt that with a better (and more involved manager) staff and service can improve. Common room had some games, books and music system with some really rare music collection. When I tried to put the music on, I had to struggle for almost half an hour to get it working (and during that time nobody from the staff came to help me). Ultimately after hard work of half an hour I realised that it was not playing properly. On checking with one of the rarely found staff member, he reluctantly answered that 'maybe it was out of service, and that he had no idea about it'. I was keen on understanding the history of the building but I was disappointed there too, as all they could offer was pictures hanging around the room, and large boring books. I would have much preferred to have a conversation with someone who understood the building, locality and the history of the building itself. I think being a heritage hotel, the management needs to look at it from different angle than just 'money making business'.

Our plan included only breakfast and we had to pay for the food. They offer continental breakfast with one Indian dish (such as pohe, paratha etc.). We had to pay for lunch and dinner separately and the costs were very high. The lunch was Indian food, and not at all for the price we paid for it. It would be a better idea to have lunch outside (but one has to walk to find nearby restaurant as there is none nearby). Dinner was continental and it was absolutely worth it. The food was amazingly yummy and authentic; and the experience itself of dining on the large 19th century dining table with dim candle lights was all worth the price. I would strongly recommend you the dinner at least one night of your stay, but stay away from the lunch there.

Still the place itself compensated for all the drawbacks in the service and other factors. Even after mix experience, I still want to go back and stay there. I would also recommend place to everyone who dont mind not so great service for 'ohh so great' place. Its difficult to find such a place in the jungle of resorts, simple, peaceful, serene and close to the nature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepDreamingMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the ambience of the property.

However, we are disappointed to receive your feedback about the service, as this is usually a highlight at The Verandah. As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and then try to empower them to run their local heritage with pride. Although the service staff is not fluent in English, they strive hard to deliver warm and efficient service. Please be assured that your observations have been conveyed to the Manager and the team has been given the requisite support and instructions to ensure a warmer welcome whenever you choose to visit next.

Your compliments about the Continental dinner experience have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quite a walk away from the centre point in Matheran, but this place is well worth it.
Old style, colonial bungalow, with comfortable rooms, beds and bathrooms. The staff was more than willing to help.
Have to be very careful with your food, especially while dining in the balcony. The monkeys will rush and grab whatever food is in sight! Quite scary for me at least!
A good selection of books was kept in the corridor for the avid reader.
The local vendors even came to our rooms with their leather footwear at reasonable prices.
This is an ideal place to relax for the weekend with no agenda except relaxation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nixtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay at the property. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more relaxing getaways !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasco da Gama, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

An old British villa, built by Capt. Barr, the founder of Matheran, about 150 years ago, and converted into a "non-hotel" hotel by the Nimrana Group since 2002, The Verandah is a piece of history with all modern amenities (except television and mobile connection !) and a great place to detox. We spent 2 nights/days there and found the attendants very helpful (no room service though) and the food quite lovely (due to its rather isolated location, going to the market for a meal - especially dinner - is not an option, hence one has to eat at the hotel only).
The Charlotte Lake and Echo Point are quite close and several other places of visit can be covered in a day trip. All-in-all, The Verandah has our full recommendations.

Room Tip: Can recommend the "PETIT" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhaskar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Petit room and were able to unwind at the property.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local staff, who are often not educated. We put them through a local program, and try to empower them to run our local heritage with pride. Your generous compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to them.

We have also conveyed your compliments about the cuisine to the Chef.

Do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 28 properties across India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
290 reviews
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
23.6 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.5 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.5 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest

Property: Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
Address: Barr House | Matheran, District Raigarh, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing