We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time Machine for Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If after over dosing on Jane Austen you have ever fantasized about living the victorian life, this is your chance. A 19th century British bungalow built by Captain Barr made more eclectic by the parsi's and bohri muslims who inhabited it later. The Ceiling of each room if was in Mumbai would fit three floors inside. Snuggled smack right in the middle of Matheran Forest it calls for exploratory walks that take you nowhere. Service is all high tea, silver and fine china in a dining room where light from the stained glass plays jigsaw on your face. Or candle light flame flickering if that is your thing. A full course english meal. Every item was cooked to perfection including the caramel custard. It helps that they make most of their items inhouse, including the jam that comes from their holdings in uttarakhand.
Furniture is a blast from the past as well. Poster beds, solid wood almirahs and quirky chairs in the verandah with fold out leg supports. They thought of everything!
The verandah is well maintained and so are the rooms. Well furnished with luxury fittings.
Maintained by the Neemrana group of hotels, they revive private heritage properties and open them to the public.
Rooms are named and its interesting to read about them on the website. Shankershet is the highlight. A cutesy room with a wake up view of the forest, an extra poster bed in the adjoining room and cut off from the remaining rooms. A room you would retire to for 6 months and belt out a book from. They might name the room after you later. :)
To sum it up, we had high tea and went for a walk to the nearby lake, followed by sunset at echo point. Came back at dusk and heard the strains of an acoustic guitar played by Japanese as he sat in the verandah. Cliched but classic!
Bonus points if you strap on some riding gear and arrive on a horse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishalpipraiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is heartening to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Shankershet room.

Your generous compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef. We are pleased to learn that you savoured the natural Neemrana jams, which are made without preservatives – so that you preserve your health too !

We have also conveyed your compliments about the maintenance to the Manager and his team.

The 28 Neemrana 'non- hotel' Hotels across India are instrumental in and custodians of much of India's restored and revitalised architectural heritage. Seven hundred years of history, await humbly for you to extract all the joys of travelling and living out the essence of India in all its nobility and simplicity.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 487 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

After walking through the dust and noise of Matheran on a sunday, this beautiful old building was a very welcome and charming sight. The manager and staff were attentive and helpful; we particularly enjoyed the delicous afternoon teas and good range of reading matter provided. Our evening meal was also delicious, but of course we were enticed by the lovely old dining room, and long mahogany table. During the days, we enjoyed exploring the many tracks around Matheran. Unfortunately, modern maps supplied were inadequate - the nineteenth century one that we discovered was much more accurate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are delighted to read about your experience. This is exactly what we strive to achieve.

Your compliments about the dinner have been conveyed to the Chef.

We thank you for your patronage to The Verandah in the Forest and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

if ever you want to feel like a governor, albeit a british one, head straight to the Verandah in the forest. this used to be the summer residence of governor of mumbai and still retains a lot its old world charm. run excellently by the neemrana group, everything from the four post beds to the long wooden table add to the colonial appeal of the place. The staff is also courteous. so if you ever want to log-out and step back in time this is the place to go.

Room Tip: pick any room on the upper level which opens straight onto the verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the decor have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen. We have also conveyed your gracious compliments about the hospitality to the entire team at Matheran.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Verandah in the forest is a very nice resort. It's calm and peaceful. It's located deep in the matheran (at the end you can say) so you may have to walk a little more than other properties. If you are looking for a perfect calm and serene getaway, this is it. I loved the place. Price is a bit on expensive side but if you're looking at this review you may well afford it and probably worth it (I find resorts near mumbai a bit on the expensive side anyways). Staff is courteous and very hospitable.

Food: You may not find a lots of variety in the food though. I've had lunch and dinner there and I liked the food. Didn't expect much variety in Matheran so no disappointment there. My wife is veg though and doesn't like cheese a lot so had some trouble with the dinner 'coz of less varieties and almost all items with cheese but they had fruits so not a big issue here. Soup was delicious. Not to forget breakfast was good too and we both liked it.


Overall I enjoyed this trip thoroughly and loved the hospitality of the staff. Place is a bit overrated in my opinion but worthy of full rating nevertheless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeeprawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property.

Your compliments about the cuisine have been conveyed to the Chef. We would be happy to incorporate any special dishes whenever you choose to visit next.

We hope that as you continue to travel with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautiful property. Been to Matheran quite a few times but none of the places we stayed in were half as good. We had a great time. The only thing that was a bit of a dampener was the monkey menace there but the staff goes out of the way to help and keep them at bay.

The food was decent and the property is quiet and a little away from the market so peaceful. If you have plans of venturing out at nights do keep a flashlight with you for sure - we did not and once almost got lost in the forest while returning from the market a bit late. It was spooky ... but the hotel staff was very helpful and stayed with us on phone till they helped us with our way back.

I would surely recommend this property.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pm1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable getaways.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Were were looking for a weekend getaway in Matheran when a friend suggested of this place.Though initially the tariff looked little high but i must confess that the stay was worth a single penny spent.The look and feel of this place is so quaint and soothing that you would want to stay for some more time here.The best part is the location which is away from the hustle-bustle of the market place and very near to almost all the points.The food was ok. But above all the location is just perfect for this hotel.Its all surrounded by lush green forest and will totally absorb you in its Majestic beauty. A must stay in Matheran!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somalichakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and valuable feedback about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to Verandah on a 2-day getaway. It was truly love at first sight - even though I had read so much about this property, it managed to exceed expectations beyond that. Its beautiful (you're literally in the forest) and quite (so much, that you start whispering the moment you enter this place). We spent most of the time trekking around Matheran (early mornings and evenings) and rest of the time just relaxing with a book or guitar or a game of chess. The food was awesome and so was the dining room. The staff is always available around the corner to help you with the smallest of requests, but never intrusive. This was one of the best holidays - totally rejuvenated! Would love to come back again and again!

One feedback to the hotel management: You need to manage the large groups better to keep the experience for others intact. The lunch and dinner for 20-25 people group was arranged on the Verandah, and it was so loud till very late at night that it almost killed the entire experience. Though i would not like to change my impression of the property based on this, but we really felt that the management could have handled this better. Your USP is "a peaceful getaway", try and maintain that at any cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in Peerbhoy and it was a really nice one. High roof, wooden furniture, gave it an old worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruchika_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Verandah in the Forest heritage hotel in Matheran.

We are pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Peerbhoy room and were able to rejuvenate at the property.

Your compliments about the food and the service have been conveyed to the Chef and the service team.

This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding when someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
349 reviews
10 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.5 mi away
Radha Cottage
Radha Cottage
#6 of 22 in Matheran
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 22 in Matheran
143 reviews
10 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
16.4 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest

Address: Charlotte Lake Road, Matheran 410102, India (Formerly Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $115 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The paths once cleared by the British in the forests of Matheran, making it the last British hill station have acquired a new identity as the place where Bombay’s movers and shakers which include filmstars and businessmen come to spend a few quiet and peaceful days.Perched atop the Sahyadri ranges, Matheran is Asia’s only pedestrian hill resort. Chug up in a toy train, trot, or arrive in a palanquin, past gigantic mansions built by the British, the Parsis, and the Bohras. The Verandah in the Forest was the second house to be built on the isolated Western Ghats, by Captain Barr. Now, with every facility in place, it is reputed to be second to none! Indeed, the nobility of the proportions of The Verandah bring civilizational honour to the Sahyadri ranges. Lounge like never before in this verandah of your dreams. Read under the highest domestic ceiling you would have known in the salon – 12 metres/35 feet high. Stroll down to Charlotte Lake. Or take longer walks with a picnic basket. Relish the local cuisines. Heave your chest, muscle your calves, take all the oxygen back in your lungs. Link your planet with your own two feet.Find space for more space in your mind. Or lose yourself to find yourself anew.Long after you return, you will wonder who would have dared to sprawl out such a tree-home space in such spell-binding wilderness? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Dune Barr House - Verandah in the Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Verandah In The Forest Hotel Matheran
The Verandah In Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing