We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We visited matheran in sep this year and stayed in Regal hotel. The place is quite old and shows all the signs also. The rooms are not great. The service was ok. But the meals included in the tarriff was good. One negative thing is that they have water heaters working only from 7-10 in mornings and not al all in the evenings when you deperately need a hot bath after walking/roaming all day.
Not a bad place to stay. But definitely can do better with a little renovation and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2010new_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Regal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 205 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

Firstly let me say that Regal is one of the oldest resorts in Matheran and the meals it serves is so far unparalleled in Matheran which more than makes up for the poor room quality. However, having said that, we did notice some new duplex (kinda...) rooms being constructed which might be the icing on the cake once completed.

The resort is big in size with ample space for a family to stroll, chill, play etc. The resort serves three meals a day, mainly gujarati fare, however, dinners usually include chinese, mexican ect as well. The resort is well located close to the market as well as to the forest which is great for an early morn or eve walk.

overal i would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayJogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

There is no argument that this is an old property. However, this is what I think is so charming about the hotel ! The ambiance of an era by gone..., a down to earth modesty... taking a bath (if past 11 am) with hot water brought to me in buckets, was a part of this rustic living exeprience... enjoyable! The hotel rooms can be upgraded, and there are plans for them, I understand. I hope though that the Hotel renovation preserves its current ambiance.. not become like the high-end hotel Usha Ascot. This will spoil the charm of the place for me. The stone-laden pathways, open lawns and gardens to enjoy the morning and afternoon tea.., . all add to the rustic charm of this hotel. As they modernize, I would like them to provide Internet access; not that I miss working while in Matheran.. but more to look up train times or on ward joureny matters, etc. Above all, I liked the service provided by the staff, both the folks attached to your Roms, and those at the Kitchen/Dining. The guys went an extra mile to meet our dietary needs.. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and look forward to doing this again, at Regal !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunilShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Hetel Regal is one of the my favouriet .It includes a swimming pool, decently maintained lawns, a play area for kids.The staff is good & very helpful,good and tasty foods,Neat & clean rooms.servicesof the Hotel was remarkable.I wish to thank the entire staff & management of hotel Regal .

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Great place to stay in. Spacious rooms. Affordable rates. Good Food. Good facilities. Near to the station. Great place to spend time with family and friends. Friendly atmosphere. Good play area for children. And other outdoor game options.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakshmanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

This Hotel is not worth the money they are charging for.
The rooms were not cleaned up properly, even the cellings were broken at some places.
And the worst thing was, At a place like Matheran which is a cold atmosphere, they don't have Geyeser in the rooms. You will get hot water only between 7.00am to 11.00am only through Solar water heater. Good to have solar usage but what about at evening? Every time I had to ask people there to release the Hot water.
If you are going with little kids I suggest you look out for any other different hotel.
And regarding Matheran, I didn't find anything amazinf abt this place at all.
Even the mahabaleshwar, lonawala and Khnadala points are far better that Matheran Points.
The moment you enter Matheran local Ghodawal, coolie, Riksha people jumps on you for business.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank ajimvantmuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were two couples which went for a week-end trip.

Hotel is located at a very good place with a quiet peaceful surroundings and at the same time 2 minutes from the main market. The hotel is quite big and built in a open space. Architectural pattern resembles the old heritage.

We booked the super-deluxe rooms. Rooms are quite spacious and not at all conjusted. Food was very good.

Staff were very much co-operative and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1983Amit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $66 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing