We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in matheran- old is gold”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“best in matheran- old is gold”
Reviewed July 3, 2010

it's one of the oldest hotel in Matheran , best for foodies as Gujrati Thali is simply delicious , rooms are good enough to accommodate a family of four , indoor \ outdoor games , magician's tricks , swimmin pool , jacuzi are more than enough to entertain whole family . It's near railway station & market area of Matheran .You can get Horses here for sightseeing at reasonable rates . The staff is very co-operative , it's green hotel !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anubhuti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
108
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We had booked at Regal Hotel in July last year.

The location is wonderful and the hotel staff were very helpful with everything. Stayed overnight and most of the time was spent outside in Matheran exploring the wonderful locations and scenic points.

The rooms were alright, but I can really complain at the price I got them for! The food was bundled along with the room charges and being a Gujarati place it was Gujarati cuisine. I am not a big fan of the cuisine and chose to ate out most of the time! Wish they had room offers with an option where the food is not bundled.

Check Makemytrip and Cleartrip for good offers at this hotel! Matheran is lovely!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saushukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I have stayed at quite a few places in Matheran, but if you are a family with kids then Regal hotel is perfect.

Compared to some other 3-star hotels, the rooms and other facilities in Regal are not as good but the property itself is wonderful. My son had a great time out in the open. The pool was the best feature. My son spent about 6-8 hours in the pool for all the 3 days that we were there.

The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Although alcohol is not served in the hotel, we did not have a problem as we would just request any of the room service guys and they would get it directly from the market. In case of beer they even store it for you so you can get it whenever you want.
Although we are mostly non-vegetarians we were not at all disappointed with the food which was awesome, pure-veg mostly Gujarati food. There was a lot of choice in the dinner buffet with Mexican and Italian veg dishes thrown in for good measure. We did not eat out at all for all the 3 days that we were there.

The management could look into improving the rooms and the the facilities provided in the rooms. The pillows are too hard for comfort and the AC is a relic from pre-historic times. The water pressure is not good enough for taking a decent shower but it could be just the room that we stayed in (101).

All in all, it is a great place to chill out, relax and generally do nothing. I would recommend it to families with kids. For couples I would recommend something on the lines of Usha Ascot.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank finalmoksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonelylondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

it was cool place. rooms were much spacious. inbuilt restaurant served indian cuisine. poopet show organized at night was excellent. the room service was'nt so bad. if you are at matheran you can definately stay there....
hotel is located at centre of town. so it cuts other expenditure. leather market is near to hotel. so go and get there.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

worth a stay,staff is okay.
good crowd ,good food ,veg.
rooms are big and nice ,swimming pool is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veerpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumai
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2010

the stay and accomodation was very good with prompt room service and attention to detail by the staff.the staff were very considerate and were very ready to make adjustments to suit our timetable.the accomodation was very clean and well kept. the atmosphere was peaceful and quite. the pool was fun for adults and kids alike. we had a blast in the pool. one advice to all travellers booking A/c accomodation.. the A/c only works continuously at night and when there is electricity.. so you don't get the full worth of A/c accomodation due to Load shedding.the food at regal was quite bad. even though there was a lot of variety all the various foods which they claim to be from all over the world all tasted the same.it also made my stomach uncomfortable.booking regal hotel without food is good as you can easily get a meal if you step into the market which is 5 mins from the hotel.the spa and fitness centre wear a abandoned look and should not even be tried. overall the trip was good and stay was peaceful and relaxing. the magic show was worth watching but the puppet show was avoidable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We planned for a family trip to Matheran for 3 days. We had read good reviews about Regal and hence booked one of the best rooms AC suite, expecting an excellent holiday.

The check-in was hassle free. The hotel looked very impressive, spread out over a large area. The suite room was decent not very great though. Still first day was hassle free.

Next morning we went for a swim, an hour after the pool was opened to the guests. We were told that we cannot get in the pool asked to come back after an hour. The pool cleaning times were clashing with guest timings that too on peak season weekend. After a bit of argument we were allowed in the pool.

Then there was some big emergency at the hotel, a generator crashed down and all the inefficiencies of the hotel were exposed.
From the AC suite we were asked to shift to AC cottage, we double checked for AC room. After we shifted to the room, to our horror we found the AC, telephone and TV were not working and to add to that there was no water in the toilets and bathrooms.
After a trip to the reception he said that the problems will be rectified. We got the water and TV after a couple of attempts, but still no phone and AC. We had to stand in the corridor for half an hour to spot and shout to the people for the room service and basic housekeeping.
After some time we lost the water again, and we had to use the public toilet. We were travelling with a toddler and it was extremely difficult to cope up with these basic problems. We went to the reception for a confrontation. Now the manager took a turn saying, we were never allotted an AC room and he was not aware that the phone was not working. It was very evident that the AC in the room needed a repair and phone problem had nothing to do with the generator, since all other phones on the same floor were working. But still all the problems were attributed to emergency. Moreover he was extremely rude which is not at all expected for any hotel. We were allotted a new room the third time. There was no AC but Phone and TV were working but there were water problems, unclean toilets and at-times total blackout. Again all the problems were attributed to the emergency.

We expected it to be 3 star hotel, but it turned out to be worse than a roadside inn, still we ended paying for a super deluxe cottage.

Food was delicious though and the only saving grace.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meghnavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.5 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#223 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing