We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel - Good Food”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel - Good Food”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Nice clean rooms. Great location just next to market. Good food for Gujarati & specially Jains. And almost all facilities you need for your holidays in place like Matheran.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
108
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Me, My wife and a couple of our friends had gone to matheran on 15th feb 2010 for 3 days and 2 nights. We had booked 2 Regal Cottages (non a/c) well in advance in Regal Hotel. We had choosed Regal Hotel because of its good reviews but we just found it to be about average. Our friends who had stayed here before told that the service has definetly become poor. The quality of food has also become poor compared to what it was earlier. We checked in at 11.00 am and were alloted the rooms. The rooms were huge but they definetly required urgent maintainence. The walls were stained the furniture was also in a bad shape. The toilets & bathrooms were clean but again they require some upgradation. The location and the property is good, the lawn, the swiming pool area are also good and well maintained. Its pretty relaxing to spend time sitting there in the evenings. Earlier they used to give evening tea or coffee which they have stopped (given in every hotel in Matheran). I had herd that the food of Regal is mouth watering and scrumptious but i just found it to be above average i didnt find anything so special. Though a couple of items we well made. But overall i would rate this hotel above average.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirendraPethad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Room service & the atmosphere is fantastic incl swimming pool etc but the food was typical gujarati & jain style which maharashtrian wont like it. We stayed there for 2 nights paying Rs. 14000. If compared with money food was not worth. During those 2 days we didnt even enjoyed a single day of food. All vegetables, dals was sweet which only gujarati people will like. Leaving food aside everything was good. Will definetly book the Regal hotel when will visit next time but without food package.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art_8482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandivali
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

A lifetime memorable holiday. Hotel nearby market. Excellent food. Good staff services. Kids really love this place. At night there was a magic show worth watching.

  • Liked — Food, Location of Hotel
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CGandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Hotel rooms were specially good specially the suite rooms.The food is very good and the service also. The hotel is nearby to the main market and is centrally located. Hotel has swimming pool that is good and also few indoor games.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mihirmehta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

It was nice holiday - first time in matheran in rain - great food and lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Nice food
  • Disliked — Rooms little old fashioned
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UllasMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Regal Hotel is one of the finest hotels to stay in Matheran. It is located very near to the market area. But as it slightly off the road, it offers a peaceful accomodation.

The rooms are cottage style and the one we stayed in had a small verandah overlooking the pool.

The food is amazing though it has a typical Gujarati taste to it. The hotel offers excellent packages for 2N/3D or 3N/4D and includes stay, breakfast, lunch, evening snacks and dinner. Overall it is a great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mayur_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
281 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#224 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
778 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing