We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience.....”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a group booking for around 30 people. We got the best location to stay (near Swimming Pool). The service was excellent along with the hospitality of the staff. We never felt we aere staying in a hotel, we had a second home experience. The elders were very happy with the spacious green surroundings. Food was very very excellent. Mr.Anil(Manager) was very warm & friendly. The playing area is very very big along with the huge swimming pool supported by Sauna & steam bath. Magic show & Puppet show for kids reminded us of our childhood days.
I would definitely recommend this Hotel to everyone who wants to be near to nature & enjoy the environment.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near the swimming pool to get the fresh feel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajeshGosar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Regal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 205 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel in 1/12/2013 to 3/12/2013.place in nice,peoples are nice,supportive.hotel is wonderfull.atmosphere is very nice but i suggest the hotel should incress thr food quality.food is good but not woowww.hotel should see the quality.all in all it is good place to stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sohel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 30th nov 13 to 02 dec 13. As soon as we reached at hotel we got warm welcome from hotel staff, check in procedure was also very fast. The hotel is spread out property with big lawn & children play area..my daughters were happy with that. The swimming pool was also good and clean.. The buffet was as per expectation of gujarati people, variety of food option with fantastic taste.. just like home food (Ghar ka khana ).Chef & Hotel staff were very polite and also open for suggestions if any from guests. Over all value for money experience.

Thanks for making our holiday memorable
Bhavesh shah & family
kandivali -(Mumbai)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devang1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is close to the main street having all the shops and makes it very convenient. The food was good, the sheets in the room were clean, the surroundings are also beautiful. They also have indoor games like pool, carom board , table tennis. They had arranged for a live singing performance for dinner which happens every weekend apparently..the singer had a great voice and nailed the songs of the yester years. Within no time he had the entire restaurant singing along with him and requests poring in.

We stayed in a duplex and we just could not find the switch to turn on the air conditioner for circulation of air because the room had the smell of moisture a LOT. We had to adjust with the pedestal fan for the first half of the day and it started working at night by itself. The other thing is that the bedroom in on the first floor where as you have to go all the way down to the underground if you have to use the bathroom or the toilet which is very frustrating after some time. They don't provide hot water at night. The bathroom is not very clean but can be managed. They seem to be understaffed when it comes to housekeeping. It took an entire day to have someone come over to clean up our room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishwarya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel locality is good and spacious insite but rooms are old. Room quality certainly needs improvement. Food is average, although lot of variety but doesn't have that great taste. They may need to also improve some inhouse events and games to attract more people, especially children.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tushar261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel from 6th Dec 2013 - 9th Dec 2013. We had booked AC suites
This was not my first time at this property. Since childhood we have been visiting matheran and only once stayed at a different property. The good thing about Regal is nothing has changed in last 15- 20 yrs ; that also is the flip side.
Pros:
Rooms are decent!
Food is great!
Huge property
Lots of privacy

Cons:
1. Hotel management has changed in past few years and the new team was unable to handle the crowd at peak hours such as lunch , dinner etc. They ran out of food and service was very slow. Since bookings are done prehand; i was surprised that the management did not estimate the food quantity for large groups. Thankfully; since the food spread was big ; there were alternatives available
2. Rooms and Bathrooms need over hauling big time!! Though everything was clean; the buckets ; tumblers etc were old. The tiles in the bathroom were broken. Wooden cupboards looked dirty. The lock on main door was broken.This was state of the an expensive room and hence I was little disappointed!
3. Due to power failure and lack of connectivity ; they refuse to swipe credit cards (whereas the hotel website states that they accept credit cards) and insisted that we withdraw cash and pay. This is a big problem in Matheran ; as there is only one ATM (Union Bank) and that also doesn't work during day time and if its working there is a long queue. The management is aware of the problem so they do offer that their person will come along with you to Neral ; where you can withdraw cash and hand over.
4. Lots of mosquitoes in the verandah outside the room ; Due to this we would end up sitting in the room
Having said the above; I think the place is Value for money and I will always stay here!

Room Tip: Take suites on ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krina_R_Mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Me and myhusband stayed in Regal Hotel for a night in November this year. The hotel has nice big lawns and a cute varandah in fron of each room where you can sip your morning tea with your beloved :) The smimming pool is lovely too. The buffet was awesome with variety of food options (most of them Indian though). The room was spacious. Location was central too, close to many tourist attractions. Would love to come back again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horseland Hotel And Mountain Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#14 of 21 in Matheran
141 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
0.1 mi away
Adamo The Resort
Adamo The Resort
#4 of 21 in Matheran
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $66 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing