We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience at Regal”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good experience at Regal”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hotel regal is a nice place to stay with perfect central location near bazar peth. Food is also good. The staff are very nice and co-operative. Excellent and quick room service. Perfect place a short trip to matheran.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Himanshu1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    78
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
108
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Rooms are great & properly maintained esp with veranda where we can enjoy with our friends. Staff is Supportive available at a ring.
Bathrooms were not clean
Big Swimming pool but not clean / properly maintained.
Food Taste is great & you can have unlimited but can't have more as from my experience all my friends including me suffered from stomach pain for 3-4 days

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kalpesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hi,

Nice place to stay,Awesome food & beautiful location.

It was a sudden plan with family i choosed regal to stay as it was my first stay with regal but i am honestly satisfied there services.

Very polite staff,good room service and awesome vegetarian food only single drawback is no network coverage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swativn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

They are known for their food, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner...it is awesome. It is a heaven for veg. food lovers.

Rooms are good not exceptional. The property is well maintained and so is the swimming pool.

It you want to relax from your daily Mumbai routine, this is the place. Go for it...

Room Tip: The ones in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a last minute plan. I basically called up the cheapest place with best reviews on Tripadvisor to check if they have any vacancy. We were in luck and got a Deluxe Cottage which is their cheapest accommodation. The website is also nice and was advertising special for 2 night stay. With meals it was 6450/- and no additional taxes which is a big plus.

We arrived right on check in time at 11 AM. They gave us an option of 2 rooms and we chose the one that was farther away from the entrance thinking it would be quieter. That was a big mistake since the room was right next to the dining hall/kitchen area and we were to hear the constant banter going on in the kitchen. Not complaining but there is no saying which rooms will actually be quieter and we were going with the express intention of sleeping till late so it did spoil our plans a bit. The room surprisingly was not as clean as I would expect going by the reviews. The bedsheets had a good number of stains and bathroom tiles did look dirty. Frankly I was not able to get myself to take a bath there.

Now the pluses. The property is huge, clean and well-kept. The premises are right next to the market but once inside it gives you the impression that it is far far away from the maddening crowd. The place boasts of the largest swimming pool anywhere on the hill station and we were not disappointed. It is pretty decent in size and nicely maintained. The food is scrumptious. The lunch is a big gujarati thali spread of 9-10 different items including 2 sweets. That was my paisa vasool. Dinner was a buffet of lesser items. Breakfast had a good selection as well of sandwiches, dosa, sabudana wada, corn flakes, tea/coffee/juice. What more can one ask for. They also have a rudimentary gym but I would not bet on the machines working there. They do have a game room with TT table (with bats and ball), carom board, foosball table. snooker table and almira of books.

We had to leave early on Monday morning so had requested to have just sandwiches and corn flakes available at 7AM. Though we did not mention it but they delivered the food to our room at 6:50AM at no additional cost. Mind readers. We sure did not have the time to run to the dining hall and wait for the breakfast. No check out formalities were needed since we had paid in full before arrival. Nice staff at the reception. There is no cell phone range in the premises so we were not able to inform home about our safe arrival.The reception received a call from my mother and assured her that we had reached safe and sound without bothering us since we were sleeping at the time.

Overall I would recommend.

Room Tip: Take rooms away from dining hall. Pool facing rooms are best but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

1. The room was not ready when we reached at 11 am. Had to wait for 45 minutes.
2. The airconditioner did not work at all. Reason given was no electricity, but all other room lights, fans were working on generator. So why should I pay more charge for AC room?
3. No water in toilet. Reason given was that some maintenance work is going on in the hotel. When water ultimately did come it was muddy.
4. The breakfast was included in the room charges. Funny part was that the breakfast timings started at 8.30 am and the check out time was also 8.30 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Nikhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I can surely say that Regal hotel offers the best service in entire Matheran. I have never experienced such a kind and warm service by any other hotel at any place in my life. Cheers & Thumbs up to Regal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PratikMunot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 21 in Matheran
290 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Panvel Palace
Hotel Panvel Palace
#226 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Panchratna
Hotel Panchratna
#4 of 4 in Panvel
8 reviews
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Karjat
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing