We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was fantastic!!”
Review of Regal Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matheran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regal Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I visited Matheran along with 100 members of Recreation Club of Deptt. of Fertilizers from 15th of August to 17th of August, 2013. We stayed at the Regal hotel. The overall experience was fantastic. The quality of all amenities was excellent. The staff specifically Ms.Sunita & Ms. Harsha and Mr. Anil were so courteous & helpful that all the 100 members of club including ladies & children did not find any problems & feels that they were attended individually. They have given us the advise for various locations worth seeing in Matheran. As far as the food is concerned, we have taken two breakfast, two lunch & two dinner in their restaurant. Everytime, they served us different type of DELICIOUS food. Overall our stay at Regal was Great and its like Home Away from Home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerhladRai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was really a memorable trip. memorable forever. we stayed for 2 days(15.08.2013 and 16.08.2013). Variety of food was served. No repetition. Delicious food was served by heart with very fast service. The entire staff was well behaved and always replying with smiling faces with prompt solutions. The rooms/ swimming pool and the entire property was well maintained even in the rainy season. The big group of approx. 100 pax/31 families was handled properly. Enjoyed with sweat memories.

Room Tip: all rooms are value for the money spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We Had Been To Matheran 26-28 July & Experience Was Just So Bad.
Rooms In Worst Condition, Food Was Ok, No Variety In Breakfast (Only Tea/Coffee With Biscuits).

Worst Thing Was Behaviour Of Ladies Management. No Manners At All.

While We Check-Out On Sunday, Even Persons Who Bought Horses As Per Our Request As We Had To Go To Dasturi Were Treated Very Badly By These Ladies.

Rooms Were Also Not Cleaned Up Even Once A Day.

Worst Worst Worst ..

Room Tip: Rooms were very dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonamf1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hello,

I stayed in the hotel on 7th July 2013 and the rooms were like hell.
Food was not upto the mark. Good for nothing.
I dont underatand how people are making positive comments for this hotel. To me, it looks fake comments - A marketing strategy used by the hotel guys. I think trip advisor should validate the creditials before making it live..

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel even if its the last on planet. You would get the hell out of the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank princebhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was indeed a memorable stay with nice service , compact and adequately spaced and cleaned rooms and bathrooms.
Food was awesome & tasty.
An appropriately placed location of the hotel with a lovely ambiance and a neat and clean swimming pool.
The Staff was well behaved.
Overall an appropriate place for Weekend stay especially for special occasions... :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Priyanshu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

our stay at hotel regal was very good. the food was very delicious. the behaviour of all the staff was very good. they all were very humble.we njoyed our trip very much. it was monsoon so me and my wife and my kid njoyed it very much. only one thing was disappointing. there was so heavy rain so the we cant njoyed the ride of the toy train of matheran which is the main attraction of matheran

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pratik403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was our weekend travel to matheran & we had booked 5 rooms & this time decided for Regal Hotel & it was OUR BAD LUCK.
Instead of relaxing there, we were just busy asking the staff to keep clean our room every now and then. When we asked them why the rooms were dirty, they had just 1 reason- "Because of Rains", whereas we went to other hotels to check the availability but 5 rooms were not available & we had no other option to stay in Regal.
BUT WHEN WE CHECKED OTHER HOTEL'S ROOMS, THEY WERE SO CLEAN.

The day we reached, it was 3.pm & we were served with cold lunch & they didn't even serve buttermilk or papad because the lunch time was over. That was ridiculous.
As we entered the room, the room was so dirty, even the toilet was not clean & flush not working. Even after complaining, they sent the person after 15 min to clean who just cleaned the toilet. Also we told them the room was dirty & needed to clean, but he said that its not his job & they clean the room only in morning.

Later at night, around 11pm, water is washroom was not coming. So we asked the Reception to send someone. But we received the response as "NOBODY IS AVAILABLE AFTER 11PM AS ALL ARE SLEEPING".
SO THIS MEANS THAT WE SHOULD NOT USE WASHROOM AFTER 11PM.

Again arguing with them on phone, somebody started the tap from outside & water finally came after 30min.

THIS IS JUST 1 DAY EXPERIENCE.

2ND DAY WAS EVEN WORSE WHEN MS. HARSHA WAS SO RUDE AS IF SHE WAS THE OWNER OF THE HOTEL & HAD NO SENSE OF SPEAKING WITH THE CUSTOMERS.

SO GUYS IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO VISIT MATHERAN, PLEASE DON'T GO TO REGAL & F YOU DO, ITS AT YOUR OWN RISK.
I'VE ALSO ENCLOSED PHOTOS OF ROOM (REGAL SUITE), WHICH IS JUST WORST.

Room Tip: "No Room is Good"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AF711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matheran
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumar Plaza
Hotel Kumar Plaza
#1 of 22 in Matheran
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's - Verandah in the Forest
0.5 mi away
Rangoli Retreat
Rangoli Retreat
#15 of 22 in Matheran
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa Alibaug
5.4 mi away
Discover Resorts
Discover Resorts
#1 of 1 in Dhamote
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Byke Heritage - Matheran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Address: Via Neral Kasturba Road, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Matheran
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Matheran
Price Range: $47 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Matheran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing